We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast

Hotel website
369 Nene St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Dearborn Hts, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

The Big Island was the second portion of a two island vacation. This was our first trip to Hawaii, celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. We spent our first five days in Oahu, a truly beautiful, vacation spot, but we are the nature lovers. Once we arrived in Hilo we knew we found our paradise. Not only is the Big Island... More 

Helpful?
Thank flydrive&fun
Kilauea, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

I travel quite a bit in the islands for business. I go to Hilo at least 6 or 7 times a year. Over the past couple of years, I have sampled the various choices in Hilo, including the few hotels, and a couple of the B&B's. After a number of not so pleasant experiences, I happened upon Claudia's B&B. And... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kauaivisitor56
Bellvue, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

We arrived in the midst of a "100 year" rain storm and truly took refuge for a brief stay. The house and grounds were absolutely lovely and the host made an extra effort to find restaurants and entertainment for us. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank WillBellvue_Colorado
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this great B&B for 4 days early February. This was the second half of our stay on the Big Island, having spent the first half in Kona at a B&B there. We found our B&B experience here to be much better than what we encountered on the first half of our trip. We were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_RN
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

This B&B has questionable business practices. I don't ever plan to stay here. I canceled my reservation and followed the B&B's cancellation policy in their contract. According to the contract I had a year to use my B&B credit because I had cancelled at the last minute. When I tried to use the credit the B&B wouldn't return my phone... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank bennytillie
An_Innkeeper_in_Hilo, owner at At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I disagree. After a review of the dispute, the credit card company upheld our credit policy and reversed the unearned credit Feb. 7, ending this dispute in our favor. We are a small operation and every guest acknowledges our policies in writing before they are extended a reservation. The intent of the policy is to provide a reasonable amount of... More 

Nor Cal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

It’s a little like staying “at the beach with friends” as in the name. But while on vacation, I’d rather stay with a host. Friends may or may not make my bed, change towels or do a load of laundry they promised. If they do any of these, it’s at their convenience, not yours and not on a schedule. But... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank clynnd
An_Innkeeper_in_Hilo, owners at At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We run a friendly three bedroom, moderately priced, bed and breakfast in a portion of our large custom designed home on a unique property on Hilo Bay. We give equal consideration to all our guests and do not allow one guest to demand the lion's share of our attention or disrupt our general routines and other guests. Most people thrive... More 

Gilroy, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

Aft'er reading disappointing reviews for hotels on the Hilo side of the Big Island, I began to look at B & B's. My husband would be working so I would be alone part of the time and needed to feel safe and comfortable. At The Beach with Friends is just the place. The grounds are green and spectacular. We had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mickip13
San Diego, Calif.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

We arrived on a Sunday at 5:30pm and were looking forward to relaxing in our quiet room. Our B&B host Claudia looked surprised to see us and bit confused as to what day it was. It's not like we arrived to early. She said our room was not ready for us to use and asked if we could come back... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank gen52
An_Innkeeper_in_Hilo, owner at At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Mistakes happen, and we try to make the best of it. This guest booked on-line then changed the date of their arrival by email and I forgot to correct it on my webervations program. So I was caught by surprised when they appeared to me to arrive a day early. I suggested that they go grab dinner while I got... More 

Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

This was our first B & B experience. Being our first experience we didn't know what to expect. We have stayed all across the board at simple hotels to 5 star resorts; have had great accomodations to the OMGosh I can't stay here and now our first B & B with Claudia & Scott at their At the Beach with... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank cablemn
pisgah forest,nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

Having paid in full for two nights, we checked out hurridly on our second day.This was the worst experience.No coffee or cups. Breakfast was to be at 8:00 am..still not there at 8:30.Other guests concurred with our displeasure.The insult was a little baskets of 25 cent cheese crackers/ granola bars.If there was any fresh fruit..we never saw it.The most painful... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank PiperPisgahForest_nc
An_Innkeeper_in_Hilo, owner at At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I don't recall these guests and events as described here. Hopefully this review will be taken with a grain of salt. owner, At the Beach with Friends B&B More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kama'aina Inn
Kama'aina Inn
#7 of 18 in Hilo
5.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities