We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilo Tropical Gardens

1477 Kalanianaole Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Hilo Tropical Gardens
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
7
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Really nice setting and location near beaches and away from town. The customer service was horrific though. We checked in at night and the person working the desk (a little girl who said her name was saloona) was obviously highly intoxicated. We had to wait and wait to be checked in because she was chatting with her friends and didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This place is absolutely perfect for the budget concious traveler. Surrounded by forest and close to incredible beaches where there are lots of sea turtles. The folks here definately have the Aloha. Nice friendly people from all over the world. They also have a mini mart for those last minute items and and ice cream shop with delicious ice cream... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I spent 7 days here and truly enjoyed my stay! The staff are friendly and very helpful in their suggestions of places to go and things to do! I was here April 15th-21st and enjoyed my semi-private room in the guest house women's dorm. I miss the sound of the coqui frogs at night! The kitchen could use some new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a good place - friendly, nice. We both camped (and got poured on) and stayed in a room. Everybody was friendly and there was a nice camaraderie about the place. It's not a high finish-level kind of place, but perfectly adequate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was an unusual and a really great stay in Hawaii! I cannot say anything about the rooms, but setting up a tent in this place was amazing. The surroundings feel like a tropical jungle, with monumental palm leaves, giant lianas, flowers, etc. Bird and frog noises all around, but it wasn't bothersome at all. A lot of cats roaming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pepeekeo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Beautiful just like what all of us imagine a tropical hawaii garden to be. Camping spots are cozy and secure there is high speed Internet, charging stations , clean showers and kitchen and no shortage of interesting guests. I can't say enough about so e of the staff, a woman originally from Hilo who just came back from Alaska to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place! Gorgeous garden with nice camping spots, extremely helpful, lovely and uncomplicated staff, nice and clean rooms, fully equiped kitchen - the perfect place to stay just outside of Hilo (about 2.5 miles).

Was this review helpful? Yes
pamhawaii, Front Office Manager at Hilo Tropical Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments! We are very happy you enjoyed the tranquility of our secluded garden campsites and that we exceeded your expectations. May the spirit of Aloha bring you back some time! Mahalo More 

Maui, Hawaii
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After reading such great reviews I was really looking forward to my stay at Hilo Tropical Gardens. What a disappointment. Basically dirty and understaffed. First I couldn't find anyone when I came to sign in because the only lady working was in the ice cream shop..when I finally did get signed in I asked about the gardens/beach access and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pamhawaii, Manager at Hilo Tropical Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Disappointed, At the time of your stay, unfortunately, we were short staffed. Our sincerest apologies to you that we did not provide you with the quality of service you expected and deserved. Many changes have been implemented and ample staffing is our priority. With our increased staff, we provide our guests with tours of the rooms, dorms and camp... More 

San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

we loved it! quiet, cool, clean, and cheap. access to a (clean!) kitchen and laundry was a plus. the staff is great and the other guests were respectful. the garden is a tranquil. we walked it several times and found something new to admire each time. oh, and the ICE CREAM is awesome! we definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
pamhawaii, Manager at Hilo Tropical Gardens, responded to this review

We appreciate your review! I am glad you found the garden as enchanting as much as we do. On the path around the largest lava tube, at different times of the day, the light through the trees offers a great chance to capture sun rays filtered through the hanging vines. The light sometimes is reflected off the ponds' surface and... More 

Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

If you don't mind sharing CLEAN (!!) shower and bathroom with other guests, because that is how the place is set up you will be rewarded by excellent friendly service, a laid-back atmosphere, a wonderful tropical garden (in contrast to other places this facility does not only carry the word, IT HAS a tropical garden !!) which makes the stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pamhawaii, Front Office Manager at Hilo Tropical Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know how much you like our hidden patch of jungle! Although we are a few miles away from downtown, we are far enough removed to give you the tranquility you were looking for and are happy you got 'a glimpse' of our little paradise--and true tropical garden! BTW, this garden was opened after WWII in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (31)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question