We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   81-2026 Haku Nui Rd., Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Halemalu to your Saves list
Halemalu
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
76%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
KackaS Dee Why, New South Wales, Australia
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dee Why, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Halemalu is generous- size house with very spacey rooms and apartments in it. There is a big open space kitchen, table tennis room and wi-fi. It is very clean and well equiped, located in quiet area in the hills above Captain Cook, surrounded by macadamia trees and other native flora and fauna. The owner Eric - a nice, friendly guy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

A wonderful beginning of our Big Island trip! The host is just great, the house is spacious, clean and full of all little things you may need after a long day of exploring, including a range of quality shampoos :) You can even pick some tropical fruit in the garden for your breakfast. Great value for money!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It is 1 mile from the famous Manago hotel. The owner - Eric - is a great guys always available to help with information and tips. The cleanness of the place was impeccable and some of the rooms have a ocean view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A great place with a laid-back atmosphere. A diversity of guests made our stay enjoyable. The large common areas invite guest interaction. The facilities have all the amenities one could want for food preparation (if desired). However, there are several restaurants nearby. Follow directions to the facility carefully as it is off the main roadway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
England
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
130 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at Halemalu for 3 nights in February, the retreat is secluded and very very peaceful. Upon arrival and seeing the outside of the building we weren't expecting too much but seeing the facilities on the inside completely changed our initial impression. The rooms are basic but have everything you need, we stayed on the ground floor and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
US
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a family gathering here, and it worked well to rent the whole place. Eric is very generous with his stuff, especially in the kitchen. And the rooms are large. But we agree with another reviewer who said it needs basic cleaning and upkeep. It's a stretch to call it a Botanical Garden Estate. We couldn't use the screened... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Banwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Location is great - away from the hustle and bustle. Very clean and comfortable. Loved the space. Had the place to myself as a large party had just left. Eric is a very genial host and I'm sure would have been able to answer any questions, but I was only there 2 nights. Appreciated being able to use the computer.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed in 10 places on our 5-week trip in Hawaii, and this was the only disappointment. Yes, the apartments are very spacious, much more so than a couple needs. However, basic cleaning and upkeep are substandard. The owner no longer is permitted to serve breakfast but guests can use the big kitchen. Eric is a good guy (he didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HalemaluRetreat, Owner at Halemalu, responded to this review

So sorry to hear that you were not satisfied. We have been in operation for 3 years now and you are the first guests to have left us early because we didn't meet your standards. You stated that" Eric is a good guy (he didn't blink about canceling 4 of the 5 days of our reservation after we'd stayed one... More

west virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This is a great place to stay, but it may not be for everyone. We stayed two nights while touring the Big Island. It is high above the coast, on a non paved driveway. The "neighborhood" is somewhat rustic, beautiful and quiet (although there were distant roosters crowing in the morning). The temperature was cool at night and nice in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Morris County, NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Each suite has one big bedroom, one small bedroom, living room, and lanai; it's more room than we (married couple) knew what to do with, all for a price we liked. Breakfast featured lots of tasty and interesting fruit, variety of teas and juices, bread and cereal. Eric and Susette take good care of you. High-speed internet is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Halemalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halemalu

Also Known As:
Halemalu Hawaii/Captain Cook
Address: 81-2026 Haku Nui Rd., Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Halemalu 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Big Island of Hawaii on the beautiful Kona coast, Halemalu has become a world premier individual, family, or group vacation rental property. The Halemalu Estate Villa is situated on a private five acre Botanical Garden Estate in Captain Cook and is ready to welcome you or your group. Our two bedroom suites offer a better value and are far more spacious compared to any hotel, lodge, inn or bed & breakfast. Plus our facilities are designed to accommodate all of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Halemalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halemalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.