We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Halemalu

3.0 of 5 81-2026 Haku Nui Rd., Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Halemalu
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Halemalu
Halemalu
Halemalu
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Weil am Rhein, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

The huge 2-bedroom suites are in a separate building with a fully equipped shared kitchen and lounge. There are a lot of different fruit trees on the property and you are free to pick whatever is ready for harvest. The location is perfectly suited for access to the Captain Cook/Keleakekua area, but Kailua is also within in 20min drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here at the end of July 2014. My husband woke up with such severe marks all over his arms that we thought he was having an allergic reaction. It turned out to be bed bugs and it was clearly a severe infestation. The worst part is that I called before making our reservation and asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HalemaluRetreat, Owner at Halemalu, responded to this review

We have never had a bug problem before this guest arrived. The guest did not mention the problem to us until a few weeks after they departed. We would have given the guest another room had they notified us while they were here. Of course we did find the problem after they left and called in the exterminators to eliminate... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 via mobile

You couldn't possibly do any better than this for the price. Two bedroom suite with kitchen and living room for $100. What a great deal. Suites are spacious, comfortable and clean. Owner was very nice and accommodating. When we told him our plans he actually let us know how we could have an even better time by tweaking our original... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This place is not a fancy resort right on the beach, so if that is what you have in mind, it is not for you. It is a simple 2BR/1BA suite with a living room that will sleep up to 6. Super reasonable for a small group and a great location if you are trying to snorkel at Honaunau. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed at Halemalu with a friend back in October 2013. Got 2 bedroom unit with a huge living room and a balcony. Premises are enormous but only a very few people (up to 20) stay at any one time even though they could easily accommodate over 100. Table tennis, 2 separate outdoor areas, huge common living room and kitchen are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caprarola, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Such a nice place to spend some nights, very quiet and indipendent. Owner very kind, let us pick fruit from trees in his garden and lent us some tools to enjoy the waves and snorkeling. Our room was pretty like an apartment, big and with a small fridge. Really cleaned and peaceful, we enjoyed so much that we come back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Apple Valley, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed at Halemalu in Dec. 2011. What made me write this review is that I am looking at going back again! The cost was extremely reasonable for what you get. The 2 bedroom suites are spacious and nice. We felt completely at home using the big kitchen to make food, thereby saving a ton of money compared to "eating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dee Why, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Halemalu is generous- size house with very spacey rooms and apartments in it. There is a big open space kitchen, table tennis room and wi-fi. It is very clean and well equiped, located in quiet area in the hills above Captain Cook, surrounded by macadamia trees and other native flora and fauna. The owner Eric - a nice, friendly guy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

A wonderful beginning of our Big Island trip! The host is just great, the house is spacious, clean and full of all little things you may need after a long day of exploring, including a range of quality shampoos :) You can even pick some tropical fruit in the garden for your breakfast. Great value for money!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It is 1 mile from the famous Manago hotel. The owner - Eric - is a great guys always available to help with information and tips. The cleanness of the place was impeccable and some of the rooms have a ocean view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Halemalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halemalu

Address: 81-2026 Haku Nui Rd., Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Halemalu 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Halemalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halemalu Hawaii/Captain Cook

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay