We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Halemalu

Hotel website
81-2026 Haku Nui Rd., Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Halemalu
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Halemalu
Halemalu
Halemalu
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I think this was the first time that after booking, I immediately received an email from the owner effectively writing ‘Are you really sure you want to stay here?. I’d thoroughly researched Halemalu before I’d booked so after finding no surprises in the email I confirmed our booking. When reading this review, have in your mind an upscale hostel rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Soldotna, Alaska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I stayed five nights at Halemalu and it was not worth the $110 a night. The apt. was large two bedroom but hadn't been vacuumed in a while. The beds and pillows where very old and very uncomfortable. When my head hit the pillow for the first time I could smell that funky smell when you haven't changed the sheets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HalemaluRetreat, Owner at Halemalu, responded to this review

As the owner of Halemalu it always concerns me when I see a review like this especially considering the fact that I am also the one who cleans the rooms after each check out. The linens are laundered after EVERY check out. We NEVER leave unlaundered linens on the beds for the next guest. Again I know this as a... More 

Weil am Rhein, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

The huge 2-bedroom suites are in a separate building with a fully equipped shared kitchen and lounge. There are a lot of different fruit trees on the property and you are free to pick whatever is ready for harvest. The location is perfectly suited for access to the Captain Cook/Keleakekua area, but Kailua is also within in 20min drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the end of July 2014. My husband woke up with such severe marks all over his arms that we thought he was having an allergic reaction. It turned out to be bed bugs and it was clearly a severe infestation. The worst part is that I called before making our reservation and asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
HalemaluRetreat, Owner at Halemalu, responded to this review

We have never had a bug problem before this guest arrived. The guest did not mention the problem to us until a few weeks after they departed. We would have given the guest another room had they notified us while they were here. Of course we did find the problem after they left and called in the exterminators to eliminate... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

You couldn't possibly do any better than this for the price. Two bedroom suite with kitchen and living room for $100. What a great deal. Suites are spacious, comfortable and clean. Owner was very nice and accommodating. When we told him our plans he actually let us know how we could have an even better time by tweaking our original... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This place is not a fancy resort right on the beach, so if that is what you have in mind, it is not for you. It is a simple 2BR/1BA suite with a living room that will sleep up to 6. Super reasonable for a small group and a great location if you are trying to snorkel at Honaunau. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed at Halemalu with a friend back in October 2013. Got 2 bedroom unit with a huge living room and a balcony. Premises are enormous but only a very few people (up to 20) stay at any one time even though they could easily accommodate over 100. Table tennis, 2 separate outdoor areas, huge common living room and kitchen are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caprarola, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Such a nice place to spend some nights, very quiet and indipendent. Owner very kind, let us pick fruit from trees in his garden and lent us some tools to enjoy the waves and snorkeling. Our room was pretty like an apartment, big and with a small fridge. Really cleaned and peaceful, we enjoyed so much that we come back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Apple Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed at Halemalu in Dec. 2011. What made me write this review is that I am looking at going back again! The cost was extremely reasonable for what you get. The 2 bedroom suites are spacious and nice. We felt completely at home using the big kitchen to make food, thereby saving a ton of money compared to "eating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dee Why, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Halemalu is generous- size house with very spacey rooms and apartments in it. There is a big open space kitchen, table tennis room and wi-fi. It is very clean and well equiped, located in quiet area in the hills above Captain Cook, surrounded by macadamia trees and other native flora and fauna. The owner Eric - a nice, friendly guy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
11.2 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#11 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
11.5 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
10.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,094 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay