We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Saratoga hotels

Sage and Sand Motel

311 South First Street, Saratoga, WY 82331
Hotel amenities
Sage and Sand Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sage and Sand Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Saratoga
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014
Kdancer5
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    3
    3
    9
See reviews for
4
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First I picked the Sage and Sand because of its pet-friendly policy. That is a plus here. Then we decided to travel without our dogs and having committed to the motel we spent a few nights there. Don't expect much other than a good bed (with old sheets and blankets) and a warm room. If you're planning to impress then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Kind of a small room, and bed was uncomfortable to sleep on. However Dusty the manager was very friendly and had lots of good recommendations of things to see and places to eat in town. Also tried to use the wifi but could not log in without a password and by the time we went to the check-in desk to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saratoga, Wyoming
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The best rates in town. The motel is centrally located to just about everything you would want to see in town. The manager made us feel like family . The room was both clean and comfortable. Will always stay there. Thanks Dusty for a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Beulah, Wyoming
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Though they advertise wireless service, it was not available in the room or even in the parking lot! (That's where the manager told me I might have to go to get the wireless connection.) Windows wouldn't close because of bad fit and paint. Mattresses, sheets and blankets were thin, thin, thin!! The housekeeping did a good job, but the owners/managers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent a night at the Sage and Sand in August 2013. The decor is dated but the staff is helpfull and nice. We stayed in a unit that had 2 bedrooms which was nice. You can't beat the location--2 blocks to the hot springs and 2 blocks in a different direction to downtown shops and cafes. There aren't a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louisiana
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
16 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It is located just a block from the hot spring, but no information was posted, and we went all the way down town and back to the pools by the road a block behind the hotel. The rooms were not fancy, and not exactly as advertised (the "kitchenette" is a microwave and refrigerator on the dresser or desk.) but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Clean room, comfy bed, clean bathroom, plenty of big fluffy towels, very kitchy decor had fridge and microwave and BIG tub to soak in, which was great. Location access to downtown is great! Do not expect any frills though. This hotel is a great price and simple and rustic. It is being re-modeled,and re-vamped, so it can only get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
44 hotel reviews
540 helpful votes 540 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

OK, I admit many of the TA reports I read were accurate but here's our experience. The Sage & Sand Motel is a "motel" not the Holiday Inn Express. The staff was friendly, outgoing and "yes" not in any rush. The motel is kept looking fresh in the '60s from the inside and out. Our room ($75) had two bedrooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Steamboat Springs, CO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in the two room, one bath suite in corner. Wifi seems to work outside in the parking lot, but not in the rooms. We were cycling through, and staying in the center of town is a plus when that is your main transportation. Clean sheets, air did not work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I had read several reviews on TripAdvisor, prior to leaving for a trip that would take us thru northern Colorado and Central WY. We settled on staying in Saratoga. The reviews for this place seemed to be highly variable. One said it was great, some other said to avoid. We should have listened to the negative reports. We got Room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chaya33, Owner at Sage and Sand Motel, responded to this review

The reviews on this page are quite variable because not everyone can be pleased all the time. Some rooms at the Sage and Sand are small and the price per night reflects this fact. If one wants a large room, you need to get a suite or kitchenette. These rooms go fast in the summer, as we only have 17... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sage and Sand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage and Sand Motel

Address: 311 South First Street, Saratoga, WY 82331
Location: United States > Wyoming > Saratoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Sage and Sand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sage And Sand Hotel

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
3:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay