We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Saratoga hotels

Sage and Sand Motel

311 South First Street, Saratoga, WY 82331
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sage and Sand Motel to your Saves list
Sage and Sand Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
45%
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Saratoga
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013
MLC1965 Denver, Colorado
  • Overview
  • Reviews (24)
  • Photos (10)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    2
    9
See reviews for
3
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beulah, Wyoming
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Though they advertise wireless service, it was not available in the room or even in the parking lot! (That's where the manager told me I might have to go to get the wireless connection.) Windows wouldn't close because of bad fit and paint. Mattresses, sheets and blankets were thin, thin, thin!! The housekeeping did a good job, but the owners/managers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent a night at the Sage and Sand in August 2013. The decor is dated but the staff is helpfull and nice. We stayed in a unit that had 2 bedrooms which was nice. You can't beat the location--2 blocks to the hot springs and 2 blocks in a different direction to downtown shops and cafes. There aren't a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louisiana
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It is located just a block from the hot spring, but no information was posted, and we went all the way down town and back to the pools by the road a block behind the hotel. The rooms were not fancy, and not exactly as advertised (the "kitchenette" is a microwave and refrigerator on the dresser or desk.) but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Clean room, comfy bed, clean bathroom, plenty of big fluffy towels, very kitchy decor had fridge and microwave and BIG tub to soak in, which was great. Location access to downtown is great! Do not expect any frills though. This hotel is a great price and simple and rustic. It is being re-modeled,and re-vamped, so it can only get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
41 hotel reviews
517 helpful votes 517 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

OK, I admit many of the TA reports I read were accurate but here's our experience. The Sage & Sand Motel is a "motel" not the Holiday Inn Express. The staff was friendly, outgoing and "yes" not in any rush. The motel is kept looking fresh in the '60s from the inside and out. Our room ($75) had two bedrooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Steamboat Springs, CO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in the two room, one bath suite in corner. Wifi seems to work outside in the parking lot, but not in the rooms. We were cycling through, and staying in the center of town is a plus when that is your main transportation. Clean sheets, air did not work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I had read several reviews on TripAdvisor, prior to leaving for a trip that would take us thru northern Colorado and Central WY. We settled on staying in Saratoga. The reviews for this place seemed to be highly variable. One said it was great, some other said to avoid. We should have listened to the negative reports. We got Room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chaya33, Owner at Sage and Sand Motel, responded to this review

The reviews on this page are quite variable because not everyone can be pleased all the time. Some rooms at the Sage and Sand are small and the price per night reflects this fact. If one wants a large room, you need to get a suite or kitchenette. These rooms go fast in the summer, as we only have 17... More

Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Visiting Saratoga is like going back in time. The town is very simple, no franchise restaurants or hotels just a fantastic community. The staff at the Sage & Sand Motel were a library of information sharing all the activities to enjoy within walking distance of the Motel. You will not be bored trying to find something to do which we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We booked our room ahead of time for our 2009 Wyoming big game hunt. Quite frankly I was appalled by both the room and the service. I've experienced better conditions in a GP-Medium tent while serving in the Army. The room smelled like a litter box and we had to request toilet paper and towels each day. The room didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Limon, CO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

This motel is the last of the town's original motels. Totally upgraded with modern heat, television, cable and Wi-Fi. Large parking areas for your snow mobiles and ATV's. Friendly service and very clean rooms. Walking distance to natural hot springs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sage and Sand Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sage and Sand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage and Sand Motel

Address: 311 South First Street, Saratoga, WY 82331
Location: United States > Wyoming > Saratoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sage and Sand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sage And Sand Hotel

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
3:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Suites, kitchenettes, and economy rooms with fridge and microwaves in all rooms. Free wireless Internet, walking distance to everything, including free hot springs pool. Dog friendly, video security, infrared radiant heat. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer