We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Saratoga hotels

Sage and Sand Motel

311 South First Street, Saratoga, WY 82331
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sage and Sand Motel to your Saves list
Sage and Sand Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
48%
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Saratoga
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014
Josh A Saratoga, Wyoming
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    2
    9
See reviews for
4
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, Wyoming
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The best rates in town. The motel is centrally located to just about everything you would want to see in town. The manager made us feel like family . The room was both clean and comfortable. Will always stay there. Thanks Dusty for a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Beulah, Wyoming
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Though they advertise wireless service, it was not available in the room or even in the parking lot! (That's where the manager told me I might have to go to get the wireless connection.) Windows wouldn't close because of bad fit and paint. Mattresses, sheets and blankets were thin, thin, thin!! The housekeeping did a good job, but the owners/managers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent a night at the Sage and Sand in August 2013. The decor is dated but the staff is helpfull and nice. We stayed in a unit that had 2 bedrooms which was nice. You can't beat the location--2 blocks to the hot springs and 2 blocks in a different direction to downtown shops and cafes. There aren't a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louisiana
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
16 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It is located just a block from the hot spring, but no information was posted, and we went all the way down town and back to the pools by the road a block behind the hotel. The rooms were not fancy, and not exactly as advertised (the "kitchenette" is a microwave and refrigerator on the dresser or desk.) but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Clean room, comfy bed, clean bathroom, plenty of big fluffy towels, very kitchy decor had fridge and microwave and BIG tub to soak in, which was great. Location access to downtown is great! Do not expect any frills though. This hotel is a great price and simple and rustic. It is being re-modeled,and re-vamped, so it can only get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
45 hotel reviews
532 helpful votes 532 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

OK, I admit many of the TA reports I read were accurate but here's our experience. The Sage & Sand Motel is a "motel" not the Holiday Inn Express. The staff was friendly, outgoing and "yes" not in any rush. The motel is kept looking fresh in the '60s from the inside and out. Our room ($75) had two bedrooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Steamboat Springs, CO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in the two room, one bath suite in corner. Wifi seems to work outside in the parking lot, but not in the rooms. We were cycling through, and staying in the center of town is a plus when that is your main transportation. Clean sheets, air did not work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I had read several reviews on TripAdvisor, prior to leaving for a trip that would take us thru northern Colorado and Central WY. We settled on staying in Saratoga. The reviews for this place seemed to be highly variable. One said it was great, some other said to avoid. We should have listened to the negative reports. We got Room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chaya33, Owner at Sage and Sand Motel, responded to this review

The reviews on this page are quite variable because not everyone can be pleased all the time. Some rooms at the Sage and Sand are small and the price per night reflects this fact. If one wants a large room, you need to get a suite or kitchenette. These rooms go fast in the summer, as we only have 17... More

Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Visiting Saratoga is like going back in time. The town is very simple, no franchise restaurants or hotels just a fantastic community. The staff at the Sage & Sand Motel were a library of information sharing all the activities to enjoy within walking distance of the Motel. You will not be bored trying to find something to do which we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We booked our room ahead of time for our 2009 Wyoming big game hunt. Quite frankly I was appalled by both the room and the service. I've experienced better conditions in a GP-Medium tent while serving in the Army. The room smelled like a litter box and we had to request toilet paper and towels each day. The room didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sage and Sand Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sage and Sand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage and Sand Motel

Address: 311 South First Street, Saratoga, WY 82331
Location: United States > Wyoming > Saratoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sage and Sand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sage And Sand Hotel

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
3:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Saratoga with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Suites, kitchenettes, and economy rooms with fridge and microwaves in all rooms. Free wireless Internet, walking distance to everything, including free hot springs pool. Dog friendly, video security, infrared radiant heat. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sage and Sand Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer