We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1st Choice Inn of Rawlins

1904 East Cedar, Rawlins, WY 92301
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1st Choice Inn of Rawlins
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
1st Choice Inn of Rawlins
Rate this Hotel

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    12
    11
    8
See reviews for
13
10
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just stayed here last night. We are on our way to Saltlake City Utah. Stayed here for the night. The place looks little bit shabby from outside and the same is true about the interiors. The facilities are great. I have stayed in much better looking hotels but had a crappy wifi. Here the wifi actually works. The breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at 1st Choice Inn of Rawlins, responded to this review

Dear Abhirup D, Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the amenities we offer our guests fit your needs. We appreciate your business very much and look forward to your future business. Thank you again. R. Howell - Regional Manager More 

Wyoming
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The key wouldn't open my door. I ws stuck out in the hall for over 45 minutes. from about 2:05 am to almost 2:50 am the night clerk heard me only two of the times I was saying hello down the 2nd floor hall. but did not look.... apparently the device that connects the bell on the desk was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at 1st Choice Inn of Rawlins, responded to this review

Dear kattazzing, We would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We apologize for your room key not working and being woken up this morning so you didn't get a good nights rest. We will talk this over with our staff to resolve these issues for the future. Again, we apologize and hope that we can... More 

Queen Anne, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible... Really did not enjoy our stay and thank goodness only here a night. Creepy front desk lady who hit on my dad in front of me.. Only in Wyoming. Rooms smelled of nasty stuff, no breakfast and wifi was not working. I guess for 80 bucks it was alright, but then again it wasn't my money

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at 1st Choice Inn of Rawlins, responded to this review

Dear Benjamin P, Thank you letting us know about your stay with us. We apologize for your unsatisfactory stay and that our staff was unprofessional. We have talked with our staff to make sure that this doesn't happen again. We also apologize that you didn't know we served a continental breakfast for our guests. It includes fresh hot waffles, pastries,... More 

Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

stayed in this motel I will never stay there again. Rooms were not clean hair in the shower, no towels. and the price was not worth it. we were charged for an extra night and they wont give a refund. Doors slamming all night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
National9inns, Manager at 1st Choice Inn of Rawlins, responded to this review

Dear Zondo1957, We would like to thank you for your review. We apologize that you received an unsatisfactory stay with us and found your room to not be very clean. We have talked with our staff to make sure that this is not an issue again. We apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the extra night that was charged and we... More 

Camdenton, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Badly needed a room after driving 1200 miles and not one room was available from Denver, CO to Rawlins, WY. The 1st choice is a ran down dump with rail road tracks in back of it and the train blows it's horn all night long. Concrete walls have a nice prison ambiance feeling to it. The bathroom sink and tub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
National9inns, Manager at 1st Choice Inn of Rawlins, responded to this review

Dear None N, Thank you for your review. We apologize for an unsatisfactory stay. We have talked this over with our staff so we can resolve these issues properly. Again, we apologize and we hope we can earn your business in the future. Thank you again. R. Howell - Regional Manager More 

San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a no frills, apparently independent, property that is showing some wear & tear, tho it appears to be clean. The vanity sink is worn, scratched & stained. Lack of a back splash panel next to the vanity (presumably the same in all rooms) has caused wall deterioration. The WiFi access is very limited in range - if your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at 1st Choice Inn of Rawlins, responded to this review

Dear Fudgemaker, Thank you for your review on your stay with us. We apologize for the internet not working very well in your room. We are working on getting better internet for our guests so this will not be a problem in the future. We appreciate your business very much and hope you will stay with us again. Thank you... More 

Greeley, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

First Choice is clean, comfortable and convenient. It met all my travel needs, and I would stay here again. As others have noted, the exterior is as plain as can be, but it’s fine inside. Access to rooms is from interior hallways. My single queen room measured a spacious 12x18 feet, not including the bath and a large entryway. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at 1st Choice Inn of Rawlins, responded to this review

Dear Glenmere7, We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the amenities we provide our guests fit your needs during your stay. We appreciate your business very much and look forward to your future business. Thank... More 

Middleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

To start, we were given a room that was so musty and smelly that it was difficult to stomach. To be fair, there was a heavy rain that morning, but....that shouldn't explain the stench. The rooms are very large. We slept well with our dryer sheets in front of the A/C to cover the smell. The breakfast was very basic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
National9inns, Manager at 1st Choice Inn of Rawlins, responded to this review

Dear Musedone, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We apologize for your unsatisfactory stay from the smell in your room and the fruit you had. We will make sure that the issue with the fruit is resolved and again we apologize for the musty smell in your room from the rain... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The walls in our room were made of concrete, which insulated us from outside noise. My wife and I slept very well after a 10 hour drive. From the outside the motel doesn't look very appealing, but don't let that throw you off. The rooms are clean and quiet. My friend stayed in a separate room in the motel and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at 1st Choice Inn of Rawlins, responded to this review

Dear CletusMaximus, Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was clean and quiet so you got a good night sleep. We appreciate your business very much and we hope you will stay with us again in the near future. Thank you again. R.... More 

Ingalls, Kansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It seemed like there were not your average price motels to be found. But for the money our room was clean and comfortable. Nice location...easy on and off from I-80. The receptionist was helpful. We'll probably stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
National9inns, Manager at 1st Choice Inn of Rawlins, responded to this review

Dear Ralrh122161, Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us at the 1st Choice Inn. We are please to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and that you found our location nice and easy to find and that you found your room clean and comfortable. We appreciate and look forward to your future business. Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question