We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 40 Jackson hotels

Painted Buffalo Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Painted Buffalo Inn to your Saves list
Painted Buffalo Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
51%
Ranked #30 of 40 hotels in Jackson
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ksneed2 Fairmount, Indiana
  • Reviews (329)
  • Photos (40)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (65)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    80
    94
    38
    35
See reviews for
99
116
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's a great location and our room was clean however it had a horrible chemical smell inside the room and the air conditioner didn't work properly nor did the blinds close completely. It's very very run down. We were on the second floor and the hallway felt as if it were about to sink and collapse in certain places. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fairmount, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice clean big rooms with mini-fridge and micro-wave. Just blocks away from downtown - so great location. My boys enjoyed the indoor pool. I would have rated this hotel higher but the furniture and shower was a bit dated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your candor! We are glad that the location and pool were bright spots. Thank you for helping us improve with your room upgrade suggestions. We hope to have you back soon to provide you with another fun experience and a sparkling room! More

Jackson
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Filthy, over-prized, sheets aren't clean, smelly, to bad in this beautiful area. The room is old, the sheets and towels aren't clean, let's find out what the facilities will bring. I would advice you to stay somewhere else and enjoy grand teton and Yellowstone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. While it's not fun to hear that we didn't live up to your (or our) expectations, it will make us better to know it. We will share this with our housekeeping staff. As you can see by most of our reviews, your experience was not typical. However, we need to be mindful that even if... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was a bit run down and staff seemed to be overwhelmed with the amount of business in the hotel. We had booked and paid in advance for two days at this hotel. It was close to the city center and we could walked to downtown. Unfortunately, after enjoying the town the first day we came back to a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that your stay was not what you expected. We are a very popular destination, and it can be quite busy in the summer months and sometimes everything seems to happen at once. We apologize if the staff gave you the impression that they were overwhelmed but we appreciate the feedback so... More

Peosta, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The reviews were good so we thought it would be nice, this place was a dump, the only motel I was disappointed in our entire trip bc it had the best reviews, No hot tub, supposedly a heated pool but it wasn't even warm, sauna didn't work for half the day & when it did it was barley warm. no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear about this. We absolutely NEVER want a guest experiencing such unpleasantness during their stay. You should get to enjoy a restful night in a very clean room. We are also so sorry that these issues were not handled to your expectations during your stay. We DO care and we can assure you the issues... More

Orland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here as our base for travel to Yellowstone. Older hotel but nice. Staff was friendly and helpful if we needed directions. Lots of families here so a bit noisy. Proximity to downtown was great - about a 3 block walk. Don't miss the rodeo in town - that was about a 5 block walk. Nice town but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are glad you had a great stay and found our property to be convenient and the staff friendly. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon! More

Buna, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here one night (two rooms) last month on a motorcycle trip. Rolled into town with no reservations and finally found a vacancy here after stopping a 3 other motels. It is pricey, but the cost was in line with the other places we stopped at first. We didn't really have any complaints about the place, it was clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your candor! We are glad that the location and the rooms were bright spots. You are right in that we are competitively priced within the market of Jackson. Though it sounds like you visited us in our busy season, we do have many off season specials. We hope to have you back soon to provide... More

Honolulu
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I started doing research for hotels in this area, I came across The Painted Buffalo. I thought, really? I looked up some reviews and thought they seemed to be mostly positive, so why not? The reviews are right. The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful. When we got to our room, the front desk even called us to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate the positive feedback, and we are also grateful to hear the not-so-great about the noise as well. We do try to do frequent property walks to minimize noise in the walkways, but as summer continues we will rededicate ourselves to this. We appreciate the comments about breakfast and will... More

Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was wonderful: front desk staff gave us a great restaurant recommendation, housekeeping did a wonderful job keeping the place clean, staff at free continental breakfast was prompt and attentive. The two star rating is accurate: the facility is older and run down, the rooms are not updated, not much hot water. The kids really enjoyed the indoor heated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your candor! I am glad that the housekeeping service and front desk staff were bright spots. However, it sounds as if the room you were in could use a little maintenance attention. We will have them address it right away. Thank you for helping us improve. We hope to have you back soon to provide... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was spacious and clean, staff was also helpful. Wi fi was fast and reliable. Room came with lot of amenities like fridge and microwave. Location is fantastic as it's just 2 minutes from Jackson town centre. We did enjoy our stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! While we are aiming for five stars, we are pleased that you could give us four. We will continually use customer feedback to improve and go for five! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Painted Buffalo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Painted Buffalo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Buffalo Inn

Address: 400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Painted Buffalo Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Painted Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Buffalo Hotel Jackson
Painted Buffalo Motel
Painted Buffalo Inn Jackson Hole, WY

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#7 Spa Hotel in Jackson
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
137 room hotel only three short blocks from the historic town square. Indoor pool, continental breakfast, pets welcome and kids stay free. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
137

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer