We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Higgins Hotel

416 West Birch Street, PO Box 2230, Glenrock, WY 82637
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Higgins Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Higgins Hotel
The Higgins Hotel
The Higgins Hotel
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well, the Higgins Hotel is a great Lodging place and Restaurant-the Paisley Shawl. In Glenrock, Wy outside Casper, just 22 miles, it's perfect place to stay. You will go back in History and at the same time have one of today's wonderful dining experiences. I had Grouper two nights--just fantastic--fresh...in Wyoming and the soup---you could have made a meal of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHigginsHotel, Manager at The Higgins Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our food and our 99 year old hotel. We look forward to having you again in the future! More 

Bullard, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've loved the Higgins and Paisley Shawl since a visit in 1983, when the Paisley Shawl was at it's absolute height. That was a long time ago, and the Higgins has seen some bad times. We're excited to see what the new owners can do with it. The current status is a little rough. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHigginsHotel, General Manager at The Higgins Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying the night and dining with us! We have a lot of plans for our hotel and are working diligently to get things done - Slowly but surely! More 

seattle washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

a disaster of an "historic" hotel with amateurish service. room furniture was scratched and shabby. The whole interior was dismal. Even the toilet seat was chipped. Compared to the many historic hotels I've frequented, the only commonality is that the Higgins is housed in an old building. At $110 a night, it surely was not cheap. The front desk staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHigginsHotel, Front Office Manager at The Higgins Hotel, responded to this review

I guess we can't win them all over! More 

Oakley, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

One night stay in clean room, hot water, and comfy bed. Was in town for business. The restaurant and bar had a superb fresh salad and cold drinks. The proprietors couldn't be more friendly. It's perfect or the type of hotel that it is. The quaintitude (is that a word) of the pace was off the charts. Would recommend a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHigginsHotel, General Manager at The Higgins Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review! We truly appreciate it and hope to have you stay and dine with us again. Thank you! More 

Saint George
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I read all the reviews before booking a room here - but my dad and grandparents were born and raised in Glenrock and I really wanted to stay in town. So I actually loved the place and will definitely stay again. It is old and the air conditioner was noisy, but our bed was very comfortable and the room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHigginsHotel, General Manager at The Higgins Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are constantly working on a list of items to make our 99 year old Historic Hotel even better. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Walking into the hotel on a cross country trip with our children we were pleasantly surprised at the historic and unique lobby. It really is like stepping back in time. We were pleasantly greeted by the staff and enjoyed a cocktail on the back deck which will be a popular gathering spot I am sure once it is cleaned up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHigginsHotel, General Manager at The Higgins Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we appreciate you feedback as we are constantly working on items to make our 99 year old Historic Hotel even better. More 

Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Lovely hotel that is going through some updates. From the minute you check in you are made to feel really welcome. The room was lovely, clean and spacious with a big comfortable bed. Yes the bathroom could do with some improvements but the atmosphere of the hotel more than makes up for that. The food was delicious and the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHigginsHotel, General Manager at The Higgins Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review! We truly appreciate it and we hope to have you join us again. We are constantly working on a list of items to make our 99 year old building better! Thank you! More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Beds were old, rooms were not historic furnished,hard sell, unfair to keep our money after we canceled! Just Nasty!This is just ridiculous! Unsympathetic owners/operators. Creepy little place, creepy rooms! We made reservations on the Internet, and it is a poor excuse for lodging! The furniture was totally not antique, just plain junk! It is very disappointing that people can portend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheHigginsHotel, Owner at The Higgins Hotel, responded to this review

We are at a loss to explain this review - it's the only review that this reviewer ever wrote. We are a unique old hotel on the National Register of Historic Places, and cannot explain why anyone which say such harsh things. Because we are sold-out most nights, Our cancellation policy (48 hours) seems to cause a real reaction for... More 

Chelsea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This would have been a great experience if the hotel was as wonderful as the lobby. The food was good, the bartender very helpful and the hotel owner very accommodating. But then we got to our room. All updating stopped at the door. We felt like we were back in college where the furniture was got by dumpster diving. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHigginsHotel, Owner at The Higgins Hotel, responded to this review

We work hard to maintain the antique furniture in the hotel, and try to keep things serviceable and nice. The only old (non-flatscreen) TV's in the hotel are on our Centennial (3rd) Floor, which is still configured as the hotel was originally designed - 6 rooms with one set of bathroom facilities (divided in three separate areas), with one of... More 

Glenrock,
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is absolutely the only place I will eat in Glenrock! The food in the Antelope Bar & Restaurant is excellent, the owner's and staff are very welcoming and friendly! I love this place and I highle recommend it to anyone passing through or staying in Glenrock.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHigginsHotel, General Manager at The Higgins Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review - we truly appreciate it! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay