We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Gillette hotels

National 9 Inn Gillette

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1020 East Highway 14-16, Gillette, WY 82716
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added National 9 Inn Gillette to your Saves list
National 9 Inn Gillette
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
48%
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Gillette
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
7
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My daughter's and I stopped here on our way to North Dakota. Check in was easy, the room was surprisingly real clean. We area not used to inside smoking so the restaurant wasn't up to standards. It reeked of cigarette smoke even in the 'non-smoking' section. We will stay again if we are passing through but we'll skip the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Springsbound, We would like to thank you for letting us know about your stay with us at the National 9 Inn Gillette. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your room and had good customer service. We apologize for the restaurant being smoky in the Non-Smoking section and we will work to improve that. We look... More

York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

First of all, let's look at Gillette. It is, from my standpoint, largely a commercial city, with a lot of activity in the as/oil/coal industries, and a big hunting area in the fall for a few weeks. Yes, there may be some other aspect of the area, but this seems to me to be it. The 9 serves this market... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Ronnyvous1, Thank you for staying with us at the National 9 INN Gillette and letting us know about your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We have talked with Management to make sure that each room is always properly stocked with Linens and Coffee. We apologize for the room above... More

Mosinee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The room was spacious, bed very comfortable. Stayed for 9 nights for hunting trip. Could see outside between the door and the frame--lots of cold air coming in and I would imagine a lot of heat going out. Phone did not work. Did leave a note for housekeeping staff regarding phone and regarding smoke alarm beeping during the night, smoke... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Beverly N, We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was with us. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with the staff and how they made sure your room was very clean and fixed the smoke alarm. We apologize for any inconvenience that gave... More

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

was coming back from cali with my son and my puppy..checked in lady was rude like I was interrupting what she was doing , went to my room the counters all looked dirty with water /bleach stains and the fridge still had food in it from the last person and the inside of the microwave had soup remains all over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Paula G, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your stay. We sincerely apologize that your room was not clean. We hope you will give us a second chance to earn your business in future. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay so we can make sure... More

Comer, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed at the National 9 Inn Gillette for five nights. This is an older motel but it is well maintained. The desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The housekeeping staff was very competent and the rooms were very clean. I was traveling along and always felt safe during my stay. I feel like it was an excellent value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casper99, Owner at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Patricia S, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us. It is always good to hear when your staff is doing well and is being friendly and helpful. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you again.... More

Seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I usually like budget hotels for their charm and character, but this place has neither. If you are a chain smoker who recently quit, you will love this place. All you have to do is get on the ground and sniff the carpet, bedding or stick your face near the air conditioner and you will soon be back on your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Casper99, Owner at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Mattkingston, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. If you are every back in town, we would like another opportunity to earn your business. We take comments and reviews very seriously and know that we will take action to resolve this issue.... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

In today's economy this is price for value. Older building so don't expect perfect but clean well furnished and quite. Front desk friendly and heipful. Was worried because of price but very happy. One time you get more than you pay for. Will defenitly stay again and recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casper99, Owner at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Chief00001, Thank you for your review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thought our amenities and hotel was of good value. We are glad to know we will see you again in the future to stay with us again. Thank you again. K. Howell More

Greeley, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL especially if you have children......this hotel looks decent on the website and the lobby looks nice enough, its a trick once you go into the halls and further to your room you will see wallpaper peeling off the walls. Nails sticking out of stairs and the base of the wall. The whole hotel smells... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Casper99, Owner at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Christine H. I am sorry that our services did not please you. As was mentioned in your review we 100% refunded your money. You mentioned in your review that it had to come from corporate, the fact is we will refund anyone who is unhappy with their room withing the first hour, after that time period all refunds have... More

Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed midweek off - season so the price is lower I guess. I don't like staying in Gillette, mostly because the cheap hotels charge $70-100 a night. But I had too this trip and totally lucked out with this National 9 inn. Wow a comfortable King Sized bed and fridge/micro? Plus a large recently (last 15 years) updated room for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casper99, Owner at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Ft. Collins Traveler, I want to thank you for your nice comments about our property. We do try to keep things reasonably priced while providing great service. If your travels lead you back to Gillette we hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thanks again - K. Howell - Owner More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Traveling across country can be exhausting, especially when you have to search for a hotel through an unfamiliar city. This hotel can be seen right off the I-90, and it's huge! Plenty of room for my rig. Decently priced, has an old style feel to it... Felt like a hunting cabin, between the mounted old style furniture and decor in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casper99, Owner at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property and we are glad that our service has pleased you. In relation to your comments about the internet, we just recently upgraded our internet speeds to be 3 times faster so hopefully in the future the internet will not be a problem. Thanks again for staying with... More

Been to National 9 Inn Gillette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Inn Gillette

Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Gillette
Address: 1020 East Highway 14-16, Gillette, WY 82716
Location: United States > Wyoming > Gillette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Gillette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — National 9 Inn Gillette 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National 9 of Gillette is a full service property. We feature In room movies, outdoor pool, wireless internet, business center, restaurant, lounge not to mention outstanding customer service. Our property has recently been renovated including new bedding as well as flat screen TV's. We look forward to you being our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your National 9 Inn Gillette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National 9 Inn Gillette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.