We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

National 9 Inn Gillette

1020 East Highway 14-16, Gillette, WY 82716
Hotel amenities
National 9 Inn Gillette
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Gillette
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Robb L
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    16
    17
    11
    10
See reviews for
11
17
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Lonsdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had my reservation wrong and the hotel was full so I had to take a smoking room with no discount offered or given. Staff was friendly and apologetic. The room was smelly and very dated..."70's." The beds were not comfortable and the noise level of the hotel was horrible. The cafe was having electrical issues while we were there preventing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight while traveling between Ohio and Washington. Its about what you would expect from a $50.00 a night room. Unfortunately they charged me $80.00. There is a odor that permeates the entire building. Once you get past that....built in the 70's based on the avocado green fixtures in my room. It seems that its popular with the bikers. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently we took a trip to WY and stayed at the National 9. Each day we rode our bikes to the surrounding areas and each day we returned to be treated like royalty. I learned that this business was acquired about a year ago and has been going through the updating process. The owner personally addressed our every need and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Jeremiah F, We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and received great customer service. We are always trying to help out our guests in any way that we can and we are glad to hear that you were taken care of. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your future business.... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall reasonable stay for one night. The rooms are a little outdated, but the front desk was very helpful and accommodating to our requests. Breakfast was included (since we booked online) from the small restaurant connected to the motel, they give you 3 or 4 options to choose from. It's a nice change from the usual continental breakfast (hot food!),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Emily S, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the free breakfast at the Lariat Cafe and that our staff was helpful and accommodating. We strive to make all of our guest's experiences with us to be a good one and we are glad that yours was. We appreciate your business very much and hope you will stay... More 

Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A cheaply made hotel with loud slamming doors and an equally loud staff. Hotel abuts a dive tavern frequented by drunken bikers doing burnouts with their unmuffled Harleys starting around midnight, sometimes ten or fifteen times in a row, doing their best to awaken as many guests as possible. I called the desk and asked for a police response. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't expect too much, this is like your typical Motel. Perfect for an overnight stay, not so nice for your longer romantic Holliday. Bu you don't do this in Gillette I guess. Hotel has a very nice lobby and the breakfast is in the nearby restaurant and is made to order and therefore much better then the usual "continental breakfast".... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Cmon83, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast at the restaurant next door. We appreciate your business very much and thank you for your feedback so we can continually improve our guest's experience. R. Howell - Regional Manager More 

Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I were in Gillette for a week on business and spent 7 nights at this hotel. The motel met our needs for business. It was clean and the staff was very pleasant. It would have been better if there had been some light breakfast items offered. There was a restaurant next door which served breakfast, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Celebratinganniv47, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was very pleasant and that we met all of your needs. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. R- Howell - Regional Manager More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

We booked this place with a group, so we didn't really have any say in deciding to stay here. I didn't have terribly high expectations to start. The room (two queens) was a little larger than I expected. We had some good space to store our things, which is good, since we were there a week. The open closet area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Cranke1, We apologize you did not sleep very well due to the noise in the hallway. We have talked with our staff to help eliminate this problem and keep any noise down so everyone sleeps well. However, we are pleased to hear that your room was large enough for your family and that you liked our comforters. We appreciate... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

We stayed here overnight on part of our road trip. I'm only glad it was for one night ! Although the room was clean, the whole place smelt of stale smoke, the shower fluctuated between being scalding hot and freezing cold so I spent most of the time jumping in and out like an idiot ! We chose this hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Gymsusie3, We apologize that you were not informed before you arrived that we were working on the pool and that the water temperature fluctuated during your shower. We will talk with our staff to resolve these issues. Thank you for letting us know about your stay. R. Howell - Regional Manager More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

If you can afford it stay at a better hotel. Middle of the night all hotels full makes for a bad nights stay at this outdated sad little hotel. They still have smoking rooms...and we got stuck in one. Everything needs to be updated - good thing I travel with my own pillow. If you can avoid it don't stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Nancy V, We apologize that we only had smoking rooms available during your stay. We try to remove the smoke smell from the rooms the best we can. If your room was unsatisfactory after checking in, you could've come to the front desk and we would have gladly refunded your money. Again, we apologize and hope we can earn... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gillette hotels
2.2 mi away
Budget Inn Express of Gillette
1.9 mi away
Arbuckle Lodge Gillette
Arbuckle Lodge Gillette
#2 of 21 in Gillette
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Gillette
Days Inn Gillette
#11 of 21 in Gillette
3.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Gillette
1.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gillette
Ramada Plaza Gillette
#10 of 21 in Gillette
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Gillette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay