We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Gillette hotels

National 9 Inn Gillette

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1020 East Highway 14-16, Gillette, WY 82716
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added National 9 Inn Gillette to your Saves list
National 9 Inn Gillette
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
43%
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Gillette
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
happyforevergreentea Madison, Wisconsin
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (22)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
8
13
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rate of the room is ok, but with a very stale smell that almost equals to smoke, of which I couldn't really tell. The bed looks clean, but hair on the pillow. Hallway thru restaurant/back swimming pool looked old and not well maintained , very greasy. The pool is well heated and clean, compared to most budget hotels/motels. You can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Happyforevergreentea, We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our swimming pool and that you found our staff to be very friendly. We apologize for the hair on your pillow and the stale smell in your room. Thank you for bringing this... More

Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

if you want definite non-smoking do not stay here. Gillette Wyoming is back in the 80's. We walked into the lobby which reeked of smoke. We went up to our room which smelt fine until........we turned on the a/c. And then we went to dinner to find a non-smoking section!!!! it was awful!!! both at dinner and breakfast. So I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Cuddlefi5h, Thank you for your review. We apologize for the smell of smoke in your room and the restaurant. We will talk this over with our staff to see how we can improve on this. We appreciate our guest's comments very much so we can continually improve. We are glad to hear that you received great customer service and... More

Appleton, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

After traveling through the Yellowstone and Jackson area, we were thrilled with the rate at this hotel. We weren't expecting much, but were pleased with our stay. The hotel is dated, but was clean and comfortable. We were a little concerned with noise as the parking lot was filled with mostly work trucks, but our night stay was very quiet.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Chipostle, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our restaurant. We appreciate your business very much and look forward to your future business. Thank you again. R. Howell - Regional Manager More

Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Very run down and overpriced for what you get. We arrived in town late at night so didn't want to run around looking for a nicer place, but i wouldn't bother staying again. The breakfast room stained yellow with, and smelt strongly of smoke. I thought that smoking inside was banned everywhere years ago. Either i'm wrong or this place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Philsurfbum, We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the smoke smell in our Lobby. We are working on resolving this issue and appreciate your feedback. We hope that we can earn your business in the future. Thank you again for your review. R.... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My daughter's and I stopped here on our way to North Dakota. Check in was easy, the room was surprisingly real clean. We area not used to inside smoking so the restaurant wasn't up to standards. It reeked of cigarette smoke even in the 'non-smoking' section. We will stay again if we are passing through but we'll skip the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Springsbound, We would like to thank you for letting us know about your stay with us at the National 9 Inn Gillette. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your room and had good customer service. We apologize for the restaurant being smoky in the Non-Smoking section and we will work to improve that. We look... More

York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

First of all, let's look at Gillette. It is, from my standpoint, largely a commercial city, with a lot of activity in the as/oil/coal industries, and a big hunting area in the fall for a few weeks. Yes, there may be some other aspect of the area, but this seems to me to be it. The 9 serves this market... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Ronnyvous1, Thank you for staying with us at the National 9 INN Gillette and letting us know about your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We have talked with Management to make sure that each room is always properly stocked with Linens and Coffee. We apologize for the room above... More

Mosinee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The room was spacious, bed very comfortable. Stayed for 9 nights for hunting trip. Could see outside between the door and the frame--lots of cold air coming in and I would imagine a lot of heat going out. Phone did not work. Did leave a note for housekeeping staff regarding phone and regarding smoke alarm beeping during the night, smoke... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Beverly N, We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was with us. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with the staff and how they made sure your room was very clean and fixed the smoke alarm. We apologize for any inconvenience that gave... More

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

was coming back from cali with my son and my puppy..checked in lady was rude like I was interrupting what she was doing , went to my room the counters all looked dirty with water /bleach stains and the fridge still had food in it from the last person and the inside of the microwave had soup remains all over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
National9inns, Manager at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Paula G, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your stay. We sincerely apologize that your room was not clean. We hope you will give us a second chance to earn your business in future. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay so we can make sure... More

Comer, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed at the National 9 Inn Gillette for five nights. This is an older motel but it is well maintained. The desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The housekeeping staff was very competent and the rooms were very clean. I was traveling along and always felt safe during my stay. I feel like it was an excellent value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casper99, Owner at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Patricia S, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us. It is always good to hear when your staff is doing well and is being friendly and helpful. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you again.... More

Seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I usually like budget hotels for their charm and character, but this place has neither. If you are a chain smoker who recently quit, you will love this place. All you have to do is get on the ground and sniff the carpet, bedding or stick your face near the air conditioner and you will soon be back on your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Casper99, Owner at National 9 Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Dear Mattkingston, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. If you are every back in town, we would like another opportunity to earn your business. We take comments and reviews very seriously and know that we will take action to resolve this issue.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage National 9 Inn Gillette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to National 9 Inn Gillette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Inn Gillette

Address: 1020 East Highway 14-16, Gillette, WY 82716
Location: United States > Wyoming > Gillette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — National 9 Inn Gillette 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your National 9 Inn Gillette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Gillette

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Gillette with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The National 9 of Gillette is a full service property. We feature In room movies, outdoor pool, wireless internet, business center, restaurant, lounge not to mention outstanding customer service. Our property has recently been renovated including new bedding as well as flat screen TV's. We look forward to you being our guest. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
79

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from National 9 Inn Gillette staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer