We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn Gillette

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
608 East 2nd Street, Gillette, WY 82716
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Gillette
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn Gillette
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
1
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Berthoud, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is located near railroad tracks, but they didn't affect our rest. The room was clean and the management was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good but you do have to walk from your room to the dining area. It's an old hotel but renovations are being made to improve the appearance both inside and out. For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very reasonable rates offsets other costs in Gillette.Opened in 1963 as The Sands being renovated by present owners such as repairs,new bedding,nice pool.Centrally located on Hgwy 14/16 only 1 block off Douglas Hgwy 59.Variety of eating establishments of various $$ levels nearby.Some smoking rooms also nightly or weekly rates available.I stayed 2 weeks comfortably for $297.00 a wk.Staff are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at this motel a few times. It was always for business and always because it was cheap. The most recent visit will probably be my last. Its under new management. That doesn't mean they improved anything. It just means they raised the rates. This motel has always been on the edge of dumpy. Now its gone over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Gillette hotels

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

This motel had a good breakfast, large room, and good towels. I can't say anything good about the rest of it. The room was old and needed a lot work to make it appealing. Stains on the carpet. We couldn't sit on the chair because it was coming apart. Something was coming apart by the air conditioner. For the price,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This is a one star place. Clean but old and cheap. WiFi terrible.not updated since 1980. Booked through Priceline, (NEVER again) they rated it 2&1/2 stars. Priceline also charged me $20 more than if I had booked direct with the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Big Horn, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I will start by saying that I did not have an unpleasant experience at this hotel. The customer service was quick and friendly. My complaint is the location, the appearance, and the cleanliness of this hotel. Walking into my room felt like stepping back in time 20-years....and that's not a compliment. The outside looked run down and sleazy and this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zubair K, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Gillette, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thanknow you for your review. Reviews like yours help us improve and keep our bring our property right up to the customers satisfaction. You mentioned in your review that you didn't like the location and the appearance of the property, on our defense this is where the original motel was built as it... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Nice place to stay while passing through Gillette. The location is ok (right next to train tracks) but no horn from the train which is nice. Clean and oversized rooms with all the essentials. Price was a little high for October but it's Gillette and the place was packed. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

This hotel is next to the railway tracks. No noise from the trains while there but a lot of noise from 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm from motor cycles and cars equipped with Thrush mufflers. Room was well equipped with fridge, microwave and hair dryer. Old CRT TV. Bathroom has sink, shower, toilet with a separate area with another sink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

i stayed there fora few nights. the building needs work on the outside but ok. although, i dont like staying in a place that has no window to open.the staff were very nice and the breakfast was very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zubair K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. What can I say, your comments tell it all. Thank you. We have recently completed the renovations on the outside and our next step is to do the inside. We work very hard to provide good guest service, a clean, comfortable hotel inside and out, and a breakfast with something for everyone. Thank you again.... More 

Greybull, Wyoming
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I had a great night's sleep at this hotel. Although it is located on the street that parallels the railroad tracks, it is close to good restaurants and easy on/off freeway access. It looks old and a little shabby on the outside, however the rooms are nicely decorated, clean, and plenty of space. Two sinks, one in the small bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zubair K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Gillette, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. What can I say, your comments tell it all. Thank you. We have recently completed the renovations on the outside and our next steps are to renovate and update the rooms and amenities. We work very hard to provide good guest service, a clean, comfortable hotel inside and out, and a breakfast with something for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay