We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Gillette hotels

Clarion Inn & Convention Center

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2009 S. Douglas Hwy., Gillette, WY 82718
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn & Convention Center to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Convention Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
37%
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Gillette
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Hilda Z Ellensburg, Washington
  • Overview
  • Reviews (29)
  • Photos (4)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    5
    8
    5
See reviews for
10
5
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Walking into this hotel was cool. There is a big courtyard with a pool, jacuzzi, play area, tables and large breakfast area. This area had obviously been renovated. The rooms were just average, but large. I would suggest if they are going to make things look newer and nicer to also get new sheets, comforters and dust ruffles. This would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Battle Creek Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After being on the motorcycles all day and extremely tired we were not about to look for another place as we had reservations. It is obvious they are working on the place, but the first room we were given had no lamps - they were still sitting in the hallway...the air did not work. We were given a 2nd room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert E, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Convention Center, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the situation you encountered at our property. The remodel has been a long time coming but will be complete in approximately three weeks. Hopefully you will visit us during Sturgis and we will do a better job. More

Manchester, NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We should not have stayed here when we found out they were under construction/remodeling. We were traveling cross country with 2 cats, they are a pet friendly hotel. When I checked in there were tools on the counter from some work being done, an unfriendly desk associate who told me the pet charge is a "per pet" policy. I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert E, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thanks for your review as we use all comments as a training tool to improve our service. We regret your experience concerning pet charges, however, we do welcome all pet owners to our property. Should you ever pass through Gillette again we hope you'll stop again and give us another chance to make it right. More

Phillisburg, Nj
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As soon as we checked in to this Clarion Inn, we suspected that this must be one of the old Holiday Inn "HoliDome". The indoor pool, dining, fitness center and a playground is loacted in a inddor courtyard around the hotel rooms. We have stayed at multiple "converted HoliDome" around the country owned by various hotel chains (e.g. Ramada Inn,)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert E, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and your recent stay at our property. Our renovation will be complete within a month and all rooms will have microwaves and refrigerators as well as modernistic furnishings. I hope you will stay with us again on your next trip. More

Minot, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is in the middle of doing major renovations and upgrading, so they can't really be berated at this time. However, CRT TV. Really!? Come on, this is the 21st century. And the wi-fi is a nightmare. I had good strong signal, but it just wouldn't keep me signed in. Every time you get logged out, it's a major... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pella, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I didn't like my stay at the Clarion Inn because I found the staff not really nice. Our tour guide has been confirmed that we would have in our room a fridge and a microwave and when me noticed that it wasn't the case we didn't get any of those, the staff member didn't do anything (even showing sympathy). Swimming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robert E, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Convention Center, responded to this review

We apologize for your experience at our hotel. Most rooms do have microfridges and in a few weeks all of the rooms will be equipped with them. We are undergoing an extensive renovation which will be complete in July and during your stay we had to temporarily close the pool because the ceiling above was being painted. If you should... More

Long Beach, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed in room 301 for one night on May 29 with tour group. The decoration and Tv of the room is out dated from 70s. The lobby was dark and renovated everywhere. You felt like you stayed in the middle of construction site. The breakfast is adequate but the coffee dispenser was broken. The coffee run off to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert E, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Convention Center, responded to this review

We regret the inconveniences you encountered during your recent stay at our property. We are presently undergoing a major renovation which will be completed the first week in August 2014. I hope you will give us another try if you ever return to Gillette. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were very impressed with them on our stay! We met some very close friends of ours and stayed one night and we were blown away! Not only were they just plain nice they also made sure we had rooms right next to each other! They went that extra mile from the get go! The rooms were clean, quite, also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillette, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We recently stayed and it was wonderful. The front desk lady Michele was beyond friendly. She made sure we had everything we needed. The pool was amazing. Water was always warm and perfect for kids. Our bed was very comfortable. Rooms were very clean. I am very satisfied with the hotel. We will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a suite for 1 night in late March and it was great! We had "neighbors" and couldn't hear them at all and vending right down the hall was great. I thoroughly check all hotel rooms immediately for hair and other imperfections and I found NONE which was a great surprise since the Hilton we stayed at 3 days... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Clarion Inn & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Convention Center

Address: 2009 S. Douglas Hwy., Gillette, WY 82718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Gillette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn & Convention Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Clarion Inn & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Convention Center
Clarion Hotel Gillette
Clarion Gillette
Gillette Clarion

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The beautiful Clarion Inn & Convention Center in the heart of Gillette, WY is clean, comfortable and cozy for your overnight stay or your extended stay. We are a full-service hotel with on-site Italian/American restaurant called Bootlegger's Grill & Speakeasy with a Roaring 20's theme. The restaurant also includes a full bar. The hotel also includes amenities such as newly remodeled free indoor pool, hot tub, steam room, children's play area, business center, fitness center, guest laundry and room service. Free WIFI is available throughout the hotel. The Clarion offers 6 flexible meeting rooms, accommodating up to 350 guests for banquets, receptions, training seminars and special events. A perfect location, just off I-90, exit 126, and close to many shops, restaurants, banking and other services. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
159

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer