We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

1601 Eighth Street, P.O. Box 1720, Cody, WY 82414
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    160
    79
    41
    14
See reviews for
153
171
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (413)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (248)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Older motor lodge...so you drive up to your own front door. Room was tiny & awkward. Very cumbersome for 2 adults. TV is to the extreme side of bed, so you literally have to lay sideways to watch it. Bathroom was RV sized. Clean enough. Friendly staff. Right on busy main drag, so lots of traffic noise. Walking distance to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It is very unfortunate to hear that you did not have as great of a stay as we would have liked you to have. Our property is a motel so you do park right outside of your room. Most of our guests really enjoy this feature as it makes unloading/loading their vehicle very easy.... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This is our 2nd stay at this hotel, very clean, quiet, good value, has been a base of operations for doing tourist things in the area. Close to Yelowstone, The Cody Museum. Nice restaurant attached, and the breakfast in the coman room is also a good value. Hotel very quiet.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the very nice review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you chose to stay with us again. We appreciate you coming back very much. The location of our motel is very nicely located and we receive this comment often. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you... More 

Aurora, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Just returned from a 14 day driving trip through 8 states, during which my wife and I stayed at Best Western Motels most of the time. Although the walk from Room 242 to the breakfast room was lengthy, our stay at the Sunset Motor Inn was fine except for the poor attitude and service of the woman in charge of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your vacation. We are happy to hear that you chose BEST WESTERN during your travels. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not have a great experience during your breakfast. We hear from most of our guests how great and very attentive our breakfast attendant is. She always makes sure that our... More 

gloucester virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We had reservations for another hotel, but stopped in to the Best western to check it out. I got a much better rate and great room here. The place is at the west side of town and a short drive to Cody in one direction and Walmart in the other. Nice clean and very large rooms in an older building.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It is great to hear that you would recommend our motel to others. We are very happy that you decided to come check our motel out as you were driving through and decided to switch hotels and stay with us. We want all our guests to have a positive experience and we are glad... More 

Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We decided to stop in Cody one night in order to visit the Buffalo Bill Wildwest Museum again, and this Best Western was just two blocks away. The staff was outstanding. Nothing fancy, but clean and bed was comfortable. Adequate breakfast to start the day, and would consider staying there again when in the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you decided to stay with us while in Cody to visit the museum. Our staff try very hard to make sure everyone feels welcomed and answer any questions as well as give recommendations. It is great that we were able to do this for you. We hope to... More 

melbourne
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

stayed for a night in September after a long day on the road. friendly staff. comfortable, clean, reasonably spacious room and comfortable beds. Not five star but excellent value for the price. Would stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you would stay with us again if you are ever in the area. We want all our guests to feel welcomed and have a positive experience while staying with us. We are very glad that we were able to provide this to you.... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
41 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Chose Best Western in Cody just down the street from Buffalo Bill Museum and next to a DQ. This is a motor court with drive up to outside door entry. Great room, clean, good night's rest. No issues and friendly staff. Breakfast in the main building but no big deal to walk over for meal. Enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you recommend us to others who are traveling through Cody. We have a great location as you noticed and our guests really like the outside entrance. Thank you for the nice review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Yakima, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

not the best "best western" we have stayed in and we only stay in BW. needed alot of TLC only friendly and helpfull person was the housekeeper.. Room was clean but very small and smelled bad. and LOADS of bugs... sorry we stayed now.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It is very unfortunate to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We normally receive good comments regarding how helpful and friendly our entire staff is. Our bathrooms were remodeled over the winter and we also upgraded our amenities, TV, coffee makers, lighting, and painted. If you have any comments on... More 

Madera, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

As we drove up we were disheartened to see Motel was on a VERY busy main drag. Lots of constant noise and vehicles, TOO MUCH for our comfort. Older property, but maintained well. You can park right next to your room which was nice. But we had the misfortune of the room that sat closest to the freeway/busy street. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We normally receive great comments regarding how quiet our rooms are. It is a shame that you felt your room was not. Our breakfast area can become quite busy at times, but our breakfast attendant works extremely hard and always makes sure... More 

Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We started our travels across the country and one of our stops was in Cody, Wyoming and this Motel was the cleanest we have stayed in so far! I will highly recommend the Motel. The restaurant next door was also delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the very nice review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our housekeeping staff work very hard to make sure our rooms are extremely clean. We are glad you noticed. I will be sure to pass this compliment on to them and let them know to keep up all the hard work. Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Address: 1601 Eighth Street, P.O. Box 1720, Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Motor Hotel Cody
Best Western Sunset Hotel
Best Western Cody
Cody Best Western
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cody

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay