We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1601 Eighth Street, P.O. Box 1720, Cody, WY 82414
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    160
    81
    41
    14
See reviews for
154
173
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (416)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (248)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this motel for one night on the way to Yellowstone. The best word to describe it was adequate. In fact, there was very little remarkable about this place. The pool was fine. The room was OK... clean but not exciting. The breakfast was decent but not exceptional. Frankly, there was very little memorable about this place - positive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North West, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very happy with our hotel selection and accommodations. The staff very friendly and management even up graded us to the single family home on the grounds . Great location. Clean, friendly and welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile

Older motor lodge...so you drive up to your own front door. Room was tiny & awkward. Very cumbersome for 2 adults. TV is to the extreme side of bed, so you literally have to lay sideways to watch it. Bathroom was RV sized. Clean enough. Friendly staff. Right on busy main drag, so lots of traffic noise. Walking distance to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It is very unfortunate to hear that you did not have as great of a stay as we would have liked you to have. Our property is a motel so you do park right outside of your room. Most of our guests really enjoy this feature as it makes unloading/loading their vehicle very easy.... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This is our 2nd stay at this hotel, very clean, quiet, good value, has been a base of operations for doing tourist things in the area. Close to Yelowstone, The Cody Museum. Nice restaurant attached, and the breakfast in the coman room is also a good value. Hotel very quiet.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the very nice review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you chose to stay with us again. We appreciate you coming back very much. The location of our motel is very nicely located and we receive this comment often. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you... More 

Aurora, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Just returned from a 14 day driving trip through 8 states, during which my wife and I stayed at Best Western Motels most of the time. Although the walk from Room 242 to the breakfast room was lengthy, our stay at the Sunset Motor Inn was fine except for the poor attitude and service of the woman in charge of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your vacation. We are happy to hear that you chose BEST WESTERN during your travels. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not have a great experience during your breakfast. We hear from most of our guests how great and very attentive our breakfast attendant is. She always makes sure that our... More 

gloucester virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We had reservations for another hotel, but stopped in to the Best western to check it out. I got a much better rate and great room here. The place is at the west side of town and a short drive to Cody in one direction and Walmart in the other. Nice clean and very large rooms in an older building.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It is great to hear that you would recommend our motel to others. We are very happy that you decided to come check our motel out as you were driving through and decided to switch hotels and stay with us. We want all our guests to have a positive experience and we are glad... More 

Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We decided to stop in Cody one night in order to visit the Buffalo Bill Wildwest Museum again, and this Best Western was just two blocks away. The staff was outstanding. Nothing fancy, but clean and bed was comfortable. Adequate breakfast to start the day, and would consider staying there again when in the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you decided to stay with us while in Cody to visit the museum. Our staff try very hard to make sure everyone feels welcomed and answer any questions as well as give recommendations. It is great that we were able to do this for you. We hope to... More 

melbourne
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

stayed for a night in September after a long day on the road. friendly staff. comfortable, clean, reasonably spacious room and comfortable beds. Not five star but excellent value for the price. Would stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you would stay with us again if you are ever in the area. We want all our guests to feel welcomed and have a positive experience while staying with us. We are very glad that we were able to provide this to you.... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
40 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Chose Best Western in Cody just down the street from Buffalo Bill Museum and next to a DQ. This is a motor court with drive up to outside door entry. Great room, clean, good night's rest. No issues and friendly staff. Breakfast in the main building but no big deal to walk over for meal. Enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you recommend us to others who are traveling through Cody. We have a great location as you noticed and our guests really like the outside entrance. Thank you for the nice review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Yakima, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

not the best "best western" we have stayed in and we only stay in BW. needed alot of TLC only friendly and helpfull person was the housekeeper.. Room was clean but very small and smelled bad. and LOADS of bugs... sorry we stayed now.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sunset Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It is very unfortunate to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We normally receive good comments regarding how helpful and friendly our entire staff is. Our bathrooms were remodeled over the winter and we also upgraded our amenities, TV, coffee makers, lighting, and painted. If you have any comments on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question