We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Cody hotels

Big Bear Motel

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   139 West Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414
Hotel amenities
Big Bear Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Big Bear Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Cody
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014
Iamgretch
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    128
    76
    25
    22
See reviews for
112
121
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (364)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (207)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (115)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
There are newer reviews for Big Bear Motel
See the most recent reviews
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and comfortable, there were extra pillows on the bed and plenty of towels in the bathroom. The office staff was very kind and helpful. There was a corral out back, pool and play equipment. It isn't fancy at all, but I would absolutely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review

Great to have ya hope you enjoyed a free pony/horse ride and rodeo is always a must Bill More 

McKinney, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Big Bear is a convenient stop on the way to Yellowstone. The motel was clean and the beds were firm. Some of the rooms have covered parking for bikes right by your room. Make sure you bring shampoo, we only had soap in our room. The rooms are big with a rustic look. You can also bring your swim suit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review

We sure do get our fair share of the motorcyclist come to our area have you ever heard of the Beartooth pass WOW look it up we have hundreds come just to ride this road top ten of USA Bill More 

Garnett, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Big Bear added a new 2 story building 3 years ago. We were on the top floor, room had vaulted ceiling, was very spacious and clean. Pool says "heated" although I would not say the water was warm, but about typical temperature. Located close to rodeo arena. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying glad you had a great vacation pool is @ 81 degrees all summer until the weather gives us curve ball Thanks for the nice words Bill More 

Boise
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at the Big Bear Motel while on a 3,000 mile road trip visiting National Parks the third week of June. We did not make reservations in advance as we did not know where we would be from day to day. That said, when checking the internet most all motels were booked in Cody on the day in question... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review

To say all of our guests are the friendliest persons you may have ever met could be a fib, Although we go into every day with the same approach to be equal and fare to all of our guests and treat everyone the same way I would want to be treated. Makes me sleep pretty good wouldn't you Bill More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stopped for the night in Cody before entering Yellowstone, we pulled into this motel as it has a large outdoor pool and was very near the rodeo. The rate was very good and we found that our room was clean and comfortable for the 1 night stop. There was also laundry facilities which we made use of. Check out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review

This review states it all stop on by say hello Bill Big Heated pool Bill More 

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed at this property for two days while visiting Cody, Yellowstone, Red Lodge (Beartooth Highway), Chief Joseph Highway, etc. As you might have imagined by now, we were on motorcycles. What a great part of the USA.....to visit. The Big Bear was a neat "privately owned" property with a very clean swimming pool (pools are one of the indicators... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review

I am shore glad you enjoyed our area as much as you did the riding in this area is world class I have been doing my homework and I can say that is a fact. Do the Beartooth pass tour Yellowstone Nat Park or the Big Horn Mountain range you will be in aw Bill More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We made a reservation for one night at this little motel, based on Trip Advisor recommendations. Maybe it would have been a nice place but we'll never know. Despite the fact that I told them we would be arriving late, and confirmed the reservation with my credit card, at 8:00pm while we were still driving, I received a call from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bigbearmotel2, Manager at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review

Please accept a late apology. We would like to say that these things never happen, but that would not be true. This was our mistake, and we would love to some day get the chance to make it up to you. Please, if you are ever coming back to Cody, let us know, we will make it up to you! More 

Big Horn, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

No motel rooms for lodging, however was offered a motor home on the back side of the property and elected to stay in it overnight as it was within walking distance to the rodeo up the street. BAD decision. Was not clean, NO HOT WATER, and a leak on the floor. Will certainly by pass this motel during future trips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bigbearmotel2, Manager at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review

Hey, We are very sorry the motor home had a pipe leak while you were there. We would like to make it up to you in the future if possible. And with some notice, we would make sure you have a room. Thanks Again for staying with us., More 

Pequot Lakes, MN, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Note to self: Never stay in a motel that has a gravel parking lot. If you are only looking for a place to stay out of the elements this may work for you. One tiny bar of soap,..sink propped up by the refrigerator, sheets made out of "paper",.....you can hear other guests walking above you,...the only good thing is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review

Well, Joe Camper should have went camping he stayed in a 2 year old room that wasn't designed with our refrig holding up the sink I guess he is just used to seeing that in his house. All rooms have 4 bars of soap except the family suites they have more. We are very appreciative of all of our travelers... More 

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My parents stayed at this motel years ago, but it's under new management, and it's still a very nice place to stay. We checked in early so we could go to the Buffalo Bill Museum, and the management was very accommodating. When we got back and opened the door, it was a wow! The room was clean, newly updated, clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying we have been here along time owner operator up dating every day so stop on by and take a look Bill and Jody More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 West Yellowstone Avenue, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay