We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A Western Rose Motel

#9 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
1807 Sheridan Avenue, Cody, WY 82414 (Formerly Budget Host Inn Cody)
Hotel amenities
A Western Rose Motel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Craig C Reese, Michigan
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    93
    71
    37
    9
    9
See reviews for
49
94
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (219)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (133)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Reese, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were plesantly surprised by A Western Rose, it was very clean and affordable. The room with 3 queen beds was perfect for our family of 5. The owners Mark and Brenda along with the staff were all very nice and friendly, it felt like we had been friends for years even tho we were there only 3 nights. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is just like they were when I grew up. No big super lobby with all kinds of extra junk around. The room was clean and well kept. The owners are fantastic, they care about the guests and their property. If I had the time, I would like to spend a few weeks in Cody and get to know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillette, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had both been to Cody 35 years plus ago. I got the motel reservation on line and when we drove up and saw how old it was wonder what we had done but it has been updated and was clean and friendly and we would certainly come back and will recommend it to our friends coming to Cody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this motel in late Fall 2014 for a stay in June 2015 (formerly Budget Host Inn) partly based on location, price and good reviews. I corresponded directly with the manager and was sent a lengthy email confirmation detailing the many extra charges if rules were not followed (cancellation, pets, etc.). To be fair, she also included information about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review

Although I completely agree that misplacing your reservation was my fault. I disagree that I was unapologetic. The property was sold out. Your card had not been charged at all. I relocated you to my fellow business owner instead of simply sending you out to the open road. Something other properties may not have done. I'm happy to hear you... More 

Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights. The manager made sure we could check in late. The room was clean and the king bed was comfortable. Although it was an older style motel, our room (23) was updated and well-appointed. It was next to the road, but we were not bothered by road noise. Parking for our car was just outside our door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review

Being located in the business district of Cody, once the people leave work for the day, our end of Sheridan is very quiet. Our location is the best of both worlds in the sense that downtown location and quiet usually aren't used in the same phrase. We're updating our vintage motel yet trying not to take all of it's character.... More 

Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was a great location in downtown Cody. Wished we had longer time to stay as there was so much to see in Cody. Friendly office, clean room. and moderately priced. It was worth every penny of it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and recognizing all of the hard work that goes into making your stay and enjoyable one. More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a cozy and well kept motel to stay in. The owners are friendly and helpful. They even helped made reservations for us at a restaurant downtown, after recommending where we can dine. The room, although a bit small is clean and welcoming. My only complain is that the walls are quite thin and therefore, when the next room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments and for staying with us. Booking direct will bring you the lowest rates around! More 

Ventura, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The manager was very generous making sure we were able to check into late. The room and bedding were very clean, however the blackout curtains have small holes in them and the lavatory did not have a plug. We were fearful something would be lost. There is a single iron shared by all guests. Make sure you have earplugs, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your suggestions! More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Older style roadside motel. Lots of parking lot and road noise. The road noise can be excessive before 9 pm and after 6 am. Room was clean, bathroom was moderately updated and functional. Bed was a bit old and uncomfortable. (Room 104) Motel is near the east end of main downtown road. Within walking distance of downtown but some people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review

All the parking is FREE in Cody, whether it be on the main or side streets. Cody is very safe to walk, even at night. It's all straight and flat, easy to navigate. More 

Pismo Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our two stays found that the staff was caring, did an excellent job in maintaining the rooms. Comfortable beds and updated rooms and décor. The owners/managers made great recommendations for dining, places to visit. We will stay here again on our next vacation! Couldn't ask for better accommodations!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review

Giddy UP!! Book direct for the lowest rates. Thank you for your compliment we appreciate your acknowledgement of our hard work just for you! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay