We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Cheyenne hotels

The Historic Plains Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
The Historic Plains Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Plains Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Cheyenne
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Acollie9
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    94
    73
    45
    58
See reviews for
71
104
27
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (346)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (151)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I knew Cheyenne was above 6000ft. What I didn't know was how close it brought me to heaven. The location of the white plains hotel offered stunning views of the city. The Native American decor was unforgettable. Although there was no fitness center, the stairs provided a unique form of exercise. The fully opening windows in our room provided a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Sales Administrator at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about the Historic Plains Hotel. Your feedback is important to us as it enables us to continue providing our guests with excellent customer service and great accommodations. We enjoyed reading your comments as we enjoy working in a national historic landmark that is so rich in history and stories of yesteryear. The hotel... More

Henderson, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was booked at this property on business by my employer, so I did not have my choice of where I was staying. That being said, it was a mixed experience, some bad, some good, so it balanced out to average. I had a 3rd floor room, near the back of the hotel. There was no view to speak of,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to work with our staff at improving our customer service and accommodations. We're glad that you had an overall positive experience with us, but we apologize for any expectations that were not met such as how your room was presented... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The building is historic and 103 years old. The lobby is awesome and both the restaurant and bar were awesome with great friendly service. The hotel service was equally as good. The room was a bit small but was very clean. Linens and towels were spotless. I would rather stay here than a holiday inn anyday. There is also quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and we'll be sure to share your positive comments with our staff. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to continue offering our guests the best accommodations and superior customer service. It is great to be a part of Cheyenne's... More

Minden, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we walked into the Lobby we could feel the historic ambiance of long ago. So much history and art surrounding this property. If you like being taken back in time this is a spot to visit. The room was spacious, bed was comfortable. The Capital Grille was a nice experience. Terrance, the manager, was very knowledgeable and gave great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate the positive feedback you shared with us, as this helps us to maintain, and even improve, upon our customer service and guest accommodations. We're so pleased that you enjoyed eating at the Capitol Grille. And the positive feedback you shared about Terrence and our staff in... More

Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The room was small and dirty, the bed harder than the floor, the bathroom bad and the only thing historic was the non parking (except for 4 blocs away) and the customer service. Took 55 minutes to get breakfast and it was non-edible........we would up at McDonalds and got better food. Stay Away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with us and that we didn't meet your expectations. I will address your issues with our staff, particularly the front desk and housekeeping. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to ensure better customer service and accommodations for our guests, and to address any and all... More

White Oak, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Plains 10/18/14. It's a neat place, with tons of character. Real wood floors, big windows, the old Wild West coming back to life. Allegedly, it's haunted. Some street noise until late, floors squeaked a little, but definitely a place we'd stay again!! Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was awesome, in old downtown... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We always appreciate receiving positive feedback from our guests! By sharing your comments and feedback it allows us to address any issues and to encourage our staff for their hard work. If the noise disrupted your sleep, you can request to get an interior room next time. The interior rooms are... More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The lobby is old west. It has stained glass, western decor and maybe original tile work. I like staying here for Cheyenne Frontier Days because it is near the shuttle line to the grounds but right on the parade path (which we watched from our window) and near the downtown activities. The bathroom is very 50's. They've made some updates... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel! Your feedback is very important to us as it provides us with necessary information to share with our staff. It allows us to address any issues and to recognize our staff for their efforts and hard work. The Historic Plains Hotel is a recognized national landmark with its original... More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I am not one to stay in sanitized, standard hotels, so I seek the quirky, different places to stay. This hotel fit the bill. The lobby is wonderful with the original tile and great stained glass in the foyer. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially since we did not have a reservation. The bar was a great find, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. The Historic Plains Hotel is considered... More

Tweed Heads, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

this review is a long time coming..we stayed at The Plains in October 2010..the reason I am writing this now is that we will be in Cheyenne again in December. My husband and I are from Australia..we were so looking forward to staying in Cheyenne and staying in an historic western hotel....we grew up on American Western television. We walked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in October of 2010. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Your feedback is key to ensuring our guests... More

Rochester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a one night stopover. It was nice not to be staying in another 'chain' hotel. Our rooms were old, smelt a little musty. The bed was comfy, a good size and clean. We had a walk in wardrobe, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, tv, coffee making facilities. The bathroom was 50's style with a pink bath and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Historic Plains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Plains Hotel

Address: 1600 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Plains Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Plains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Plains Hotel
Historic Plains Cheyenne

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay