We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Cheyenne hotels

The Historic Plains Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
The Historic Plains Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Historic Plains Hotel to your Saves list
50%
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Cheyenne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
JanineAmy_12 White Oak, Georgia
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    94
    71
    45
    58
See reviews for
71
103
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (342)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (151)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was small and dirty, the bed harder than the floor, the bathroom bad and the only thing historic was the non parking (except for 4 blocs away) and the customer service. Took 55 minutes to get breakfast and it was non-edible........we would up at McDonalds and got better food. Stay Away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with us and that we didn't meet your expectations. I will address your issues with our staff, particularly the front desk and housekeeping. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to ensure better customer service and accommodations for our guests, and to address any and all... More

White Oak, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at The Plains 10/18/14. It's a neat place, with tons of character. Real wood floors, big windows, the old Wild West coming back to life. Allegedly, it's haunted. Some street noise until late, floors squeaked a little, but definitely a place we'd stay again!! Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was awesome, in old downtown... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We always appreciate receiving positive feedback from our guests! By sharing your comments and feedback it allows us to address any issues and to encourage our staff for their hard work. If the noise disrupted your sleep, you can request to get an interior room next time. The interior rooms are... More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The lobby is old west. It has stained glass, western decor and maybe original tile work. I like staying here for Cheyenne Frontier Days because it is near the shuttle line to the grounds but right on the parade path (which we watched from our window) and near the downtown activities. The bathroom is very 50's. They've made some updates... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel! Your feedback is very important to us as it provides us with necessary information to share with our staff. It allows us to address any issues and to recognize our staff for their efforts and hard work. The Historic Plains Hotel is a recognized national landmark with its original... More

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not one to stay in sanitized, standard hotels, so I seek the quirky, different places to stay. This hotel fit the bill. The lobby is wonderful with the original tile and great stained glass in the foyer. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially since we did not have a reservation. The bar was a great find, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. The Historic Plains Hotel is considered... More

Tweed Heads, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this review is a long time coming..we stayed at The Plains in October 2010..the reason I am writing this now is that we will be in Cheyenne again in December. My husband and I are from Australia..we were so looking forward to staying in Cheyenne and staying in an historic western hotel....we grew up on American Western television. We walked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in October of 2010. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Your feedback is key to ensuring our guests... More

Rochester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a one night stopover. It was nice not to be staying in another 'chain' hotel. Our rooms were old, smelt a little musty. The bed was comfy, a good size and clean. We had a walk in wardrobe, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, tv, coffee making facilities. The bathroom was 50's style with a pink bath and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from a get together with an old friend. I reserved a room at The Plains by phone (i intensely dislike booking through a website) with the assistance of a young man named Jordan who was working the Plains front desk. He was so helpful and friendly and assured me I would be pleased with the room. Well,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your comments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests.... More

Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

...which I need to say first, because this place definitely has some shortcomings. It's good example of how difficult it is to truly renovate and modernize a historic property. Slow, phone-booth-sized elevator; dingy, tattered hallways; antiquated plumbing in the room; poor wi-fi coverage. Parking is problematic. That being said, the beds and bedding were very comfortable, the rooms themselves were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with staying at the Historic Plains Hotel. It is wonderful to work in a landmark historical property, but it has its challenges, which we are continually improving upon to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for all your comments. They truly make a difference! Your... More

Albuquerque, New Mexico, Usa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose the Plains Hotel for a two-day stay, because it is located right downtown and is an historic property, which we have found can be good values and fun places to stay (as opposed to the cookie-cutter modern facilities) if they have been properly renovated. Making the reservation was no problem, the staff was helpful, and the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it ensures us to continue striving for excellence in our customer service, our accommodations and guest relations. I will be sure to share all your input and comments with our staff so they can do their part to make your visit with us... More

San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'd give them a score of zero if that was an option. First time I stayed here, the rooms and common areas were not clean and the staff was surly. I thought I'd give them a pass based on what the front desk clerk said (was told "we're having illness issues with housekeeping"). Second time I tried to stay here,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We will address your reservation issue with our staff to ensure that... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Historic Plains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Plains Hotel

Address: 1600 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cheyenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Plains Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Plains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Plains Hotel
Historic Plains Cheyenne

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay