We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Historic Plains Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1600 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Historic Plains Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Historic Plains Hotel
The Historic Plains Hotel
The Historic Plains Hotel
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    103
    80
    48
    59
See reviews for
76
113
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (377)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (151)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The parking here is a challenge since there is no on site parking. Street or municipal parking lot (three blocks away) are available. The hotel parking lot is also three blocks away by the railroad yard. It is unpaved and unlit. The biggest problem here is the staff. I read wonderful reviews here about one clerk. I found her cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve and continue to offer our guests the best accommodations and service. We are terribly sorry about the parking situation, but we do offer our guests a free shuttle service to and from their cars. I apologize that our... More 

surf pines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An overnight stop which was delightful! The 1911 gem has beautiful period time furniture, stained glass ceilings and windows, tiled floors and western ambiance! The best part was the accommodating, friendly staff in all areas of the hotel. When greeted we were immediately taken care of and when in the restaurant the staff was fantastic! Our dinner huge and delicious!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel! We greatly appreciate the positive feedback and comments you shared. We will be sure to share it with our staff! Your feedback is important to us. We hope you'll stay with us again soon! More 

Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I love to sample historic hotels, so when we made an unplanned stop in Cheyenne, we decided to try The Historic Plains Hotel. I was a bit concerned when I called for reservations and was told that the room rate was $89--I wondered what condition the property would be in. We were pleasantly surprised with our King... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our staff, particularly Terrence! In order to provide our guests with the best service and accommodations, we rely on their feedback and comments. Thank you again for sharing... More 

Chanute, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We haven't stayed here yet , but when we do I'll review that as well. Went to check out the motel today to see how the rooms were and the staff was just amazing! Super friendly, informative, and very patient with all our questions. Took us up to see a few rooms, suites are spacious. The hotel , being as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments about the Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we will be sure to share it with our staff. It's unusual for us to receive a review before someone has stayed here, but we are so pleased that your tour of the hotel was so enjoyable and that our staff was so... More 

Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't believe why this hotel is even still open, it is the worse place ever. The Front desk person was getting talked down by some other lady I think called Jacquelyn, and made them look stupid.. and going into the rooms the mattress are the worse they tried putting toppers on them but did not work, I mattress are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. On behalf of the whole staff, we are deeply sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as it enables us to continually work on our service and accommodations. Please note that the hotel will be undergoing improvements in... More 

Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We live in Cheyenne and have always enjoyed going to the Plains . My husband is disabled and cannot go to restaurants anymore so we order out a lot. Terrance, food and beverage manager, was very helpful when I called to order some meals for take-out. The online menu was out dated and he read the menu to me over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about Terrence and the Capitol Grille! We greatly appreciate it and we'll be sure to share it with Terrance and our restaurant staff. We look forward to serving you again! More 

Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay, resturant has a great chef and food is great! The historic area and character of the hotel makes it a fun place to stay and I really enjoyed time spent there. Room I had was updated and clean so would recommend to anyone coming to Cheyenne.

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and we'll be sure to share your comments with our staff. Your feedback is important to us as it enables us to continue to provide our guests with the best service and accommodations! We hope you'll stay with us again soon! More 

Casper, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Great ambiance. Breakfast at the Grille was great. Service from Ashley H. & everyone else was great. We were there for a wedding and the staff did a great job. The food is good; elevator is a bit small so use the stairs; nice new Wigwam Bar! It is old but charming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your positive feedback! We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we appreciate your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with our staff, particularly Ashley H., as this enables them to continue to provide our guests with the best service and accommodations. Thank you for sharing your experience at... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My experience was not great. There is no parking at the hotel. Municipal parking is available two blocks away. The lobby, elevator and halls of the hotel are outdated. My room looked pretty outdated and the bathroom, although was clean, looked like it was built in the 70s. Out of three machines in the "health club", the treadmill was broken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
plainshotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. Your feedback and comments are very important to us as they enable us to continue to provide excellent customer service and accommodations for our guests. We are terribly sorry that we did not meet or exceed your expectations during your stay. We are in the process of improving upon... More 

Boulder, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A snow storm stranded me in Cheyenne and I chose the Plains because it had character. Desk clerk Luke was extremely helpful with my last minute reservation and had great customer service. The Wigwam bar was unexpectedly fun with friendly bartender and entertaining Karaoke the evening I was there. I would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
plainshotel, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Plains Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Historic Plains Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and helpful comments. Your feedback is what helps us to continue to offer our guests the best service and accommodations. We'll be sure to share your comments with our staff, particuarly Luke. We look forward to your staying with us again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (128)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question