We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Wisconsin Rapids hotels

Hotel Mead & Conference Center

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   451 East Grand Ave., Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mead & Conference Center to your Saves list
Hotel Mead & Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Stacy C Stevens Point, Wisconsin
  • Reviews (80)
  • Photos (46)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
28
20
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Mead Hotel for the July 4th holiday. I made my reservations on line and specifically request the East Tower - Queen Room. My reservation confirmation number was 208386182. Upon check-in I was told my room was in the West Tower which I questioned but was told that it was a queen. When My husband and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our Dinner was Fantastic! The Servers were absolutely wonderful; coming to ask when you'd like to start salads and entrees. When you plan a large dinner like this; they treat you like royalty. Doing everything to your liking and when you want it done. We had Prime Rib and Chicken Florentine for our 2 choices. Everyone loved the food. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks Stacy for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel and our team. The new items we are now implementing are really starting to shine. The chair covers with accents look beautiful and the new carpet in that part of the hotel truly does have a "wow" factor. I will definitely relay the kind words... More

Stuart, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Hotel Mead last night. We were delayed getting into our room as the Hotel was full with out enough housekeeping staff. The room itself was clean but a little dusty. We were here for an anniversary party. Everything else was excellent. The food, amenities, and staff worked hard to make sure our stay was enjoyable. We will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Jon - thank you so much for reviewing the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the anniversary party, I heard everyone had a great time. The staff was really hustling to make it enjoyable. I sincerely apologize for the situation with the rooms, we were extremely busy but recovered later in the day. We will certainly address the dust issue.... More

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in town with my 13 year old son for a baseball tournament. This hotel was almost right in the middle of both fields we played at so the location was perfect for our needs. Also had one of the other players on our team stay with us. Beds are double beds and my son is 6' tall and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Jason - thank you so much for the kind review. We loved having all the baseball teams stay here for the tournament. I will relay the praises to the staff, we were extremely busy and they were on the go the entire weekend. Hope to see you again soon! More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Recently my wife and I ate at there Cafe Mulino and boy has that changed but not for the better. They changed their menus with over priced dinner meals. The thing I laughed about the most is with being charged over $20.00 dollars for a small steak you have to serve yourself a salad, what a joke. Also the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Randy - I appreciate the feedback. As one of the owners, I am truly sorry that your dining experience was less than favorable. After purchasing the hotel in 2012, it has been our goal to restore the hotel to its previous stature as a first class establishment in the community. We will continue to strive to that end but again... More

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Rapids hotels

Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I'll be very generous in this review - its a terrible spot, would not recommend unless you can completely devalue the dollar, then lower your expectations. Got in the room, I reserved two queen beds with a sleeper sofa. There was one king bed with a sleeper sofa. Myself, my wife and two small children (both kids that roll around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I apologize we did not meet your expectations and fell short in our mission as a hotel of hospitality first. We will correct the errors you have listed and work to make sure that type of situation does not ever occur in the future. More

Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The property is clean and it is very spread out. It is in a great location and is a good spot for a conference (I assume). The rooms are clean but need to be updated. The beds are very low to the ground which is kind of different in today's world of hotels (I am a Platinum traveler with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is a big place hopefully with the right amenities for the golfers in your group. The beds being replaced is a work in progress as we are making our way from the West Wing to the Atrium Tower. I apologize for not being at 100% with that transition but... More

Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The tower rooms in the Mead Hotel are very nice and views of the city. They usually offer a golf package in conjunction with The Ridges, which is a lovely course. Dining room and bar also above average....huge indoor pool, whirlpool and workout room add to the fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words especially regarding the Atrium Tower rooms, that part of the hotel is such a signature piece of the entire building it is nice to hear our guests still love it the way we do. We also have a great relationship with the local golf courses, glad you enjoy the packages. More

Viroqua, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

There are new owners at this hotel and the food is terrible. We have been having our Easter Sunday Brunch here for 10 years. Everything was wonderful. Went this year and my daughter did not even eat. The food looked to be brought in from a fast food place. Will never return

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

We have enhanced our menu options in the Café Mulino and were showcasing a few of those during the recent holiday buffets. I sincerely apologize we did not meet your expected standard. We certainly take your comments serious and will address accordingly during future large events. More

Merrimac
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed for the 1st time for a weekend politically related conference. Rates were not cheap but not awful either relative to other conference suited hotels. One evening meals was part of the conference, and was relatively small but adequate if consuming enough beer. Room was large, nice and clean. Nothing marred the room experience. Stayed in the north tower area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about the hotel. Our breakfast buffet has changed somewhat and we are fine tuning some of the favorite items, look for more on it as we develop it in the near future. I apologize for the coffee, that should be one of the first questions our servers ask. We are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Mead & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Mead & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mead & Conference Center

Address: 451 East Grand Ave., Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mead & Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mead & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mead Hotel Wisconsin Rapids

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the heart of Central Wisconsin, Hotel Mead offers distinctive, luxury accommodations at affordable prices.Whether you are planning a meeting, romantic getaway or wedding reception, our attentive and seasoned staff pledge to insure a pleasantly memorable experience. Plan your next stay, vacation, business meeting, group event, banquet, conference, convention, wedding or reception at Central Wisconsin’s premier lodging and conference destination - the Hotel Mead. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
154

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer