We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Wisconsin Rapids hotels

Hotel Mead & Conference Center

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   451 East Grand Ave., Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mead & Conference Center to your Saves list
Hotel Mead & Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Cheryl S Weyauwega, Wisconsin
  • Overview
  • Reviews (83)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (46)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
29
21
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weyauwega, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My stay was very relaxing. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. I ate in the dining area and the food was very good, The service was excellent. Meet with friends and had a very enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks Cheryl for the excellent review from your recent "excellent stay". Sounds like you had a great time while at the hotel and that our staff took care of your every need. Happy to hear that you dined in the restaurant and that the food was good. The enhanced menu is receiving some pretty terrific reviews, glad you enjoyed it. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently held my wedding reception in the Grand Ballroom at the Hotel Mead. My wedding reception was everything that I had ever dreamed of. The staff at the Hotel Mead were wonderful to work with. One staff member who stands out above all is Joan Mours. Joan is the Event Coordinator and was absolutely delightful to work with to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks so much Pam for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel from your wedding. I will certainly relay the kind words to Joan. Her meticulous nature for detail really comes through in her position as Special Events Coordinator. Also, very happy to hear we were able to meet all accommodation needs for your family... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently held our daughter's wedding reception in the Riverside Ballroom. We were delighted with the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff. Every staff member went out of their way to introduce themselves and explain what they would be responsible for for the evening. From the waitstaff and bartenders to the event planner and owner, everyone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you Joni for the terrific review, I am so glad that Joan was able to take care of every need you, your daughter and your family had for the wedding reception. That was a busy weekend so it is great to hear we pulled it off with perfect attention to detail from everyone involved. More

Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Mead Hotel for the July 4th holiday. I made my reservations on line and specifically request the East Tower - Queen Room. My reservation confirmation number was 208386182. Upon check-in I was told my room was in the West Tower which I questioned but was told that it was a queen. When My husband and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, I apologize for the error on the room. I assure you our highest priority is to ensure guests receive the proper room they had booked whether online or through the hotel directly, I am sorry we failed in this case. We also take seriously the other items you have noted and will follow-up accordingly to... More

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Rapids hotels

Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our Dinner was Fantastic! The Servers were absolutely wonderful; coming to ask when you'd like to start salads and entrees. When you plan a large dinner like this; they treat you like royalty. Doing everything to your liking and when you want it done. We had Prime Rib and Chicken Florentine for our 2 choices. Everyone loved the food. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks Stacy for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel and our team. The new items we are now implementing are really starting to shine. The chair covers with accents look beautiful and the new carpet in that part of the hotel truly does have a "wow" factor. I will definitely relay the kind words... More

Stuart, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Mead last night. We were delayed getting into our room as the Hotel was full with out enough housekeeping staff. The room itself was clean but a little dusty. We were here for an anniversary party. Everything else was excellent. The food, amenities, and staff worked hard to make sure our stay was enjoyable. We will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Jon - thank you so much for reviewing the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the anniversary party, I heard everyone had a great time. The staff was really hustling to make it enjoyable. I sincerely apologize for the situation with the rooms, we were extremely busy but recovered later in the day. We will certainly address the dust issue.... More

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was in town with my 13 year old son for a baseball tournament. This hotel was almost right in the middle of both fields we played at so the location was perfect for our needs. Also had one of the other players on our team stay with us. Beds are double beds and my son is 6' tall and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Jason - thank you so much for the kind review. We loved having all the baseball teams stay here for the tournament. I will relay the praises to the staff, we were extremely busy and they were on the go the entire weekend. Hope to see you again soon! More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Recently my wife and I ate at there Cafe Mulino and boy has that changed but not for the better. They changed their menus with over priced dinner meals. The thing I laughed about the most is with being charged over $20.00 dollars for a small steak you have to serve yourself a salad, what a joke. Also the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Randy - I appreciate the feedback. As one of the owners, I am truly sorry that your dining experience was less than favorable. After purchasing the hotel in 2012, it has been our goal to restore the hotel to its previous stature as a first class establishment in the community. We will continue to strive to that end but again... More

Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I'll be very generous in this review - its a terrible spot, would not recommend unless you can completely devalue the dollar, then lower your expectations. Got in the room, I reserved two queen beds with a sleeper sofa. There was one king bed with a sleeper sofa. Myself, my wife and two small children (both kids that roll around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I apologize we did not meet your expectations and fell short in our mission as a hotel of hospitality first. We will correct the errors you have listed and work to make sure that type of situation does not ever occur in the future. More

Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The property is clean and it is very spread out. It is in a great location and is a good spot for a conference (I assume). The rooms are clean but need to be updated. The beds are very low to the ground which is kind of different in today's world of hotels (I am a Platinum traveler with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is a big place hopefully with the right amenities for the golfers in your group. The beds being replaced is a work in progress as we are making our way from the West Wing to the Atrium Tower. I apologize for not being at 100% with that transition but... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Mead & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Wisconsin Rapids with
any amenities

Been to Hotel Mead & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mead & Conference Center

Address: 451 East Grand Ave., Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mead & Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mead & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mead Hotel Wisconsin Rapids

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the heart of Central Wisconsin, Hotel Mead offers distinctive, luxury accommodations at affordable prices.Whether you are planning a meeting, romantic getaway or wedding reception, our attentive and seasoned staff pledge to insure a pleasantly memorable experience. Plan your next stay, vacation, business meeting, group event, banquet, conference, convention, wedding or reception at Central Wisconsin’s premier lodging and conference destination - the Hotel Mead. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
154

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer