We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Hawk Motel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Black Hawk Motel
Add Photo

1,107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    879
    185
    32
    9
    2
See reviews for
599
298
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1107)
  • Mar-May only
    (151)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (667)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (268)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
West Allis, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My Husband and I stayed in a Queen budget room. It was very clean, but had a weird smell and a very squeaky chair. The room was small but was just enough for our two night stay. The main complaint we have would be that the cleaning crew come around too early in the morning. We could hear their carts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cary
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Comfortable, clean and friendly. Great place for families. Walk to down town. Clean room, comfy beds and an indoor and outdoor pools. Sauna and hit tub were a great bonus. Very friendly at check in and the water park passes were perfect. We will be coming back here again and probably bringing friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and for your future plan to visit the Black Hawk again. We hear often from our guests on how they love our location, as we are just a short 6 block walk to the center of downtown, yet far enough away from traffic and activity. However, we are... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my first time stay here but let me tell you it was awesome couldn't of picked a better hotel. Staff is wonderful everyone is nice we stayed in a little cabin with no common walls and made friends with our neighbors, Staff is always thete when you have questions my family and I stayed for 3 nights and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your 2015 Vacation experience on Trip Advisor! We do have 29 different room types to choose from and our individual cottage w/ no common walls are some are our most popular choices. Please book early for 2016 as these units do book up very quickly. Many days,...we wish we had more of these room types. Thanks... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I been to this motel many times before & I just completed a wonderful 3 night stay ! I must say anyone looking for a place to stay while in the Dells give this a place a try before any others. Even before trying the big resorts . They give free passes to Noahs Arc which is by far a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and your many visits and patronage to The Black Hawk...we really appreciate it! Noah's Ark - America's Largest Water Park is a great park and all registered guests receive FREE Unlimited Park Admission when they stay with us, plus on day of check out. Also included is the same deal to Chula Vista's Indoor... More 

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wonderful experience, great staff very caring and interested in concerns. Perfect location we personally like to walk so it was not much distance to walk into downtown Dells verses paying to park. Water park passes are included, I would much rather stay here verses any other place in the Dells. Just overall wonderful place to be. Would rather be here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review

Alica P, It's gratifying to learn that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us! I and my staff do care about our guests concerns. In fact, we had had many guests tell us that they enjoy staying with us because as opposed to the water park resorts because...when they stay with us, they don't just feel like another... More 

Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I checked this place out on Tripadvisor prior to booking. Due to all of the "Excellent" reviews I decided to reserve a room. I have never been to Wisconsin Dells so I really had no idea what to expect. I liked the location of the motel. It was just close enough to all of the attractions. The room was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review

Jason, We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, bringing to my attention the AC in your room and for choosing the Black Hawk while visiting the Wisconsin Dells Area. I am the first to admit that we are far from perfect and a guest's stay may be far from perfect,...however I can guarantee that we... More 

Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wow, I don't think I have ever stayed in a nicer motel/hotel before. Yes, I have been to fancier ones, BUT, this was an outstanding motel. The owner (I assume) was wonderful, and very accomodating at check in and check out. Very clean rooms, parking right in front of your door, an indoor and outdoor pool, just to name a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review

Hello Kristy, We thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your pledge to never stay anywhere else while visiting the Dells. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities of the Black Hawk, including our quiet nights. Actually, we do have a long list of repeat guests and our website and all... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have been to the dells before but never been to a local motel like this before. I've always stayed at bigger properties but this one takes the cake. From the owners to the staff, everyone is friendly and cares about your needs. The room is very clean and had everything you need during your stay. This motel also offers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review

Hello Bobby B, Thanks so much for your review as it's gratifying to know that we can compete w/ the mega resorts by offering superior customer service and more bang for your buck....as well as reserved parking at your door. We hope to see you again soon so you can join our long, long list of repeat guests! Sincerely, Brad More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We have stayed here every year for several years and we are never disappointed. You get free water park passes to Noahs Ark and Chula Vista for everyday your there. Service is great, rooms super clean. The office is very informative and helpful. Many different types of rooms so calling for what you want is your best way to book,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review

Hello Pam, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly for being one of our many repeat guests! Hosting are many repeat guests each season is very gratifying as we are helping build lifetime memories. We do have 29 different room types to choose from and we always try to accommodate our guests... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed June 18 to the 19th. Quick stay there as we were going camping in the Dells with friends for the weekend. Room was ready on arrival and was spotless. Got our wristbands for the waterparks and headed out for some waterslide fun. Came back in the evening, got in the hotel pool and the pool temperature was perfect. Later... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review

Hello Chris, Thanks so much for your review and for joining our long list of repeat guests to The Black Hawk. Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay and were able to take in a lot during your one night stay with us...including your Free water park wristbands, a swim in our heated indoor and outdoor pools, relaxing in our... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very clean(34)
  • Indoor pool(24)
  • Water park(8)
  • Game room(6)
  • Few blocks(3)
  • Hot tub(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

669 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (515)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (74)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (3)
Viewed
King Whirlpool Suite with Balcony (66)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)
Viewed
Triple Full Room (61)
Viewed
Two Bedroom House (138)
Viewed
Whirlpool Deluxe Queen Room (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay