We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

North Coast Inn & Chalets

26 West Bayfield Street, Washburn, WI 54891
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washburn
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
North Coast Inn & Chalets
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    17
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Hastings, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We found this motel exceeded our expectations! Everything in the rooms were maintained and very clean. We could tell the owners took a lot of pride in their business and it shows. We would recommend this place to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washburn, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here for the past several years and have nothing but compliments!! It is a quaint, clean, safe and friendly place to stay!! The owners are friendly and welcoming!! It's makes Washburn a home away from home!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

This place is an absolute NIGHTMARE! The people are RUDE and everything about the establishment is disgusting. I have never, in all of my years of traveling throughout the country, encountered such incompetence and overall lack of customer service. I agree 100% with all of the 1 start ratings related to this "Inn" - YUCK!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
284Domenico, Owner at North Coast Inn & Chalets, responded to this review

We try to find your information but we can't are you shore you have the right place , More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Great room, clean, great bed. It is showing its age but if you embrace vacationing in the 1950s it is a fun slowdown small town relaxing place....but you still have wifi and cable;) great restaurants and local history museum with an antique store in the same place along with some art displayed. All within walking distance from your room. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Great location and value for visiting the Apostle Islands Ice Caves. 30 minute drive to the parking lot at the Ice Caves using County Highway C. Several restaurants nearby. Clean and comfortable room. Very friendly owners. There is a snowmobile trail right behind the motel but did not hear any sleds after 9:30 p.m. Very quiet, especially for a Saturday.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We made a spontaneous decision to go see the ice caves near Bayfield Wi. Checked the internet for a place to stay. We didn't want to spend alot of money on a stay for basically sleeping. We arrived late and left early. What we liked most about this place was the kitchenette. They had everything you would need to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We didn't make any reservations on this trip, which was not a smart move on our part. We had to find a place to stay on the fly, we drove past this place one way, and there were no vacancies, on the way back, they had 1 room. The place is dated, which I will state over & over means... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We (my husband and I and dog) agreed upon a rate with North Coast Inn & Chalets, Washburn, WI, got the keys, and moved in. The very next day, I got a phone call from the lady screaming at me and calling me a liar. Oh, and our dog’s urine is going to kill her grass and trees (my dog... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
madison, wi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

This is really an old motel like the one's my parents took me to I the 60's. The bed was extremely comfortable and felt pretty new....must have been the newest furniture there. The adirondack chairs outside the rooms were nice but the view of Hwy 13 isn't great. This is about what I expected for the area and the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eau Claire WI
Level Contributor
161 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Unique..unique..old yes..but unique. My son's family needed a last minute place to stay this last Friday as they were going to join us camping. The North Coast Inn & Chalet had one night available in their chalet setting. This is four units around a large common area that has tables, chairs, sofas, fireplace/stove, games,and unique decorations.$114 a night. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washburn
4.9 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#2 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
6.3 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#6 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
10.2 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pinehurst Inn
Pinehurst Inn
#3 of 15 in Bayfield
5.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities