We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat

#1 of 1 Hotels in Trego
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
N10884 Hoinville Road, Trego, WI 54888
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Saint Paul
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Heartwood is a great place if you like to cross country ski. The facilities is only about 10 years old. Its only two hours from the Minneapolis Saint Paul area. They have eating facilities on site where you can get a nice evening meal.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lonf2016
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again! Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed at the Heartwood retreat center for a weekend in January. The temperatures outside were -20 during the day and -40 at night, but the warmth of the fire in the main lodge, the friendliness of the staff, the beauty of the frozen lake and glorious woods, and the presence of the Lord made it a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cathleen24
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are so happy that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback and your kind words. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Heartwood is a lovely place to relax, see nature, enjoy a little recreation and some great food. The rooms in the lodge are like motel rooms, but have a cozy north woods feel due to the common spaces with fireplace. The property is expansive so you need a vehicle to get from the recreation areas to the sleeping quarters. Last... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review, we truly appreciate it. We are very happy that you had a good time. The Team works very hard and takes great pride in our operation. It is great when their efforts are recognized. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Heartwood is an absolutely fabulous place to get-a-away for the weekend - or week - with your family. It's tucked away in the woods, which is perfect! Our family has come up every year for 10 years. We love it! And we love the discount for Thrivent Members.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mplsfamilytime
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Welcome back, thank you for your positive feedback and loyalty to Heartwood we truly appreciate it. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Saint Paul
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

My daughter had her wedding here. The physical site is beautiful as are the accommodations. We did however experience difficulties making reservations. No online booking and response to emails was nil. Phoning was fine but you have to call at right time when desk is staffed. There was no onsite options for breakfast or lunch, only a dinner buffet. Two... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 621robine
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

I am sorry that felt taken advantage of. We work hard to try to make every event special and a positive memory for all. I appreciate your comments and feedback and will share with my Team as we evaluate our operation and ways to make it better. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Don't eat the "seafood" buffet - take half hour and drive into Spooner. Bed was too hard - my back hated it. They should have a selection of pillows but just huge ones. Nice setting but way out of the way.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Larry B
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

I apologize for the confusion with your room, I have shared your comments withmy Team. We need to work harder to make sure that we our following proper procedure so somehting like this does not happen again. Thank you for your feedback, it will bevery helpful as we go forward and continue to improve what we do. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau... More 

Saint Paul
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

When I arrived, it was obvious someone had been in my room. There was a towel on the bathroom floor, the toilet paper was messed up, and the pillows were propped up on the bed, and someone had obviously been sitting there. I tried to contact the front desk, but was unable to get a hold of anyone until the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rhydden
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not happy with your experience at Heartwood. I have shared your comments with my Team and we will continue to work hard to ensure we are creating a positive memorable experience. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Minnesota
Level Contributor
205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

First time experiencing the conference center and had a very nice time at a retreat. The conference center was clean and well maintain. Specious rooms for conferences, meals and a bar area as well an recreational area downstairs with an elevator. The front desk person, Ms. Lindsey Christman, was always pleasant and eager to help with any request as well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mars1964
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments. I truly appreciate that you recognize our Staff and especially Lindsey. Lindsey does a great job for us she works very hard. We are very lucky to have her on our Team. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Blaine, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

The accommodations and beautiful scenery are amazing! The staff was super friendly and very helpful. The conference rooms, bar, and dinning exceeded my expectations. The options for outdoor and indoor activities make Heartwood stand above all other conference centers in the mid-west.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank megschmidt30
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the very positive words. I truly appreciate the recognition of our Staff, they work very hard day in and day out to take care of our guests so it is truly appreciated when they are recognized. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again. Sincerly, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

My wife and kids (5, and 2) stayed at Heartwood over the October 3rd weekend. We had an incredible time wandering around the immense property, playing on the basketball, and volleyball courts and playground with the kids. We took the rowboat out on the lake, and paddled around for awhile, and fed the fish off the dock. The grounds to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon C
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I apologize for the less then positive experience you had at our restaurant. I have shared your comments with my Team and we will resolve the issues imediately. I am happy to see that you got to enjoy all that our property has to offer. It is truly an amazing location. Thank you again.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trego
15.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN American Heritage Inn
24.6 mi away
The Lodge at Crooked Lake
24.2 mi away
St. Croix Inn
St. Croix Inn
#1 of 1 in Solon Springs
3.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Riverside Motel
The Riverside Motel
#4 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
24.7 mi away
Mallards Landing
Mallards Landing
#19 of 33 in Hayward
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay