We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat

#1 of 1 Hotels in Trego
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
N10884 Hoinville Road, Trego, WI 54888
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trego
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
JimScanlan Wheeling, Illinois
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    36
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
20
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Wheeling, Illinois
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was told the Boy Scout Camp I attended in the late 60's was now a Retreat and Conference Center. When we wanted a place to stay in NW Wisconsin, we came here. What a great place! Everywhere is a scenic view. There is an amazing list of activities, and the facility is gorgeous. This is an 8 hour drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and welcome back! We're happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I made a return visit to the conference center for camp visiting weekend. The grounds of the retreat remain well maintained. This trip I stayed in the Bald Eagle Lodge, which was more comfortable than the cabins. The lodge rooms are spacious, neatly decorated and had great air conditioning. We enjoyed quality rest. The on site Pine Restaurant has shown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments about our restaurant. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We purchased this stay because it was donated to our granddaughter for a fund raiser to help with her medical needs. We had no idea what a great place this would be. It was exceptionally clean and well cared for. The grounds were simply beautiful. The staff were professional and so helpful. I would definitely come again, I think it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

I am happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the wonderful comments. My Staff and I truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This resort is a real hidden gem. It is in the middle of nowhere, the rooms are squeaky clean, the staff is incredibly nice, and the restaurant is really, really good. We stayed 6/26 and 6/27 and the resort was quiet with only a couple of small family reunions going on. The grounds are meticulously maintained (how to they do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us we really appreciate your comments and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

Was here for work at start of June. We had place all to our selves. The facilities are fantastic, the food was great, the staff are excellent and the land even better. Stayed in one of the hotel rooms which are clean and spacious and walked to cabins which were clean and maintained. Took rowboat back to Lodge... Eventually. Great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stmaknight_11, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our property and all we hve to offer! We look forward to seeing you again. Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

What a great facility located in the middle of no where! The rooms are beautiful, the locations is tranquil and the food and beverage provided with our meeting was fantastic. Please don't let the gravel road scare you away from this wonderful property!

Was this review helpful? Yes
stmaknight_11, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your Feedback. Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Saint Paul
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Overall was good but toilet was slow drainage and no internet service And lack of ropes for anchors to use and hot tub close too early and no change roomoutside near the hot tub. This survey won't allow me to submit with out completely this whole section. .. Jjjjj*j*Jan*&hhhhj jjjjkkkkkkkkkkkkkjbbhhgggg hv ffg f2f ffgg ffgg gfggggffffgggggghggghhhgv hhhhj jjjjkkkkk jjj gbb... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
stmaknight_11, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Madison, WI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We were at Heartwood for two days in May and I wish I could have stayed longer. The grounds and facilities are wonderful - amazing even given where they are. On the drive in, we saw two bear cubs along the road and the mama bear was visible back in the woods. Deer were plentiful. We stayed in the Hoinville... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stmaknight_11, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am happy you enjoyed the Hoinville House. Hope to see you again! Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Spent 3 nights while working on our cabin. Nice accommodations. Very quiet during off season. On site restaurant and bar only open Fri. and Sat. during winter. Didn't receive housekeepinh one night, but other than that, no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
stmaknight_11, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, I am glad you enjoyed our Cottage. I hope to see you again! Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Thoughtfully renovated retreat. Totally worth the drive from Minneapolis airport. Lake views, campfires, comfortable rooms, indoor and outdoor fitness options, and well-equipped meeting spaces. With excellent food and gift shop, there is no need to leave for days. Staff thinks outside the box to make your event a success.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trego
15.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN American Heritage Inn
24.6 mi away
The Lodge at Crooked Lake
20.5 mi away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northwoods Lodge
24.2 mi away
St. Croix Inn
St. Croix Inn
#1 of 1 in Solon Springs
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
24.6 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay