We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Holkham hotels

The Victoria Inn

Save Saved
You added The Victoria Inn to your Saves list
Park Road, Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1RG, England (Formerly The Victoria Hotel at Holkham)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holkham
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holkham
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    23
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
23
57
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
East Anglia, UK
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We love the fact that many establishments in Norfolk are pretty laid-back, and the Victoria continues to be so. We wanted to enjoy a relaxed evening with a meal, not just have a meal. We were offered the option to eat anywhere in the mostly open spaces: conservatory, informal sitting area, small bar rooms, all with the same menu and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spalding, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a light lunch on Saturday, the staff were very helpful and friendly helping us find a seat and serve us, we did have a very enjoyable meal it was good but possibly could have been a lot better especially for the price, I know this is the wealthy North Norfolk coast with its London prices but for what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Victoria, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch on Saturday and that the team looked after you well, I would be interested to hear your thoughts on what you thought could have possibly been better and would be grateful to hear from you to discuss this. Should you have the... More

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Victoria Inn was recommended to us by our local pub landlords, very discerning people, who had a really good stay and it is a beautiful building in a beautiful location. Unfortunately (or maybe perhaps fortunately) we were unable to stay as we were booked in elsewhere but we decided to check it out for a future occasion . When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Whilst it is of course gratifying to read that you came to the Victoria through a personal recommendation it is equally disappointing to read that your expectations were not met during your lunch. I will be sure to share your kind words with Ines (our Portuguese restaurant supervisor) and address the issues you raise on staffing levels. Thank you for... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very disappointed that the tea rooms down the road had been closed to build new luxury apartments, but were directed here instead. We felt as soon as we walked in as if we were a nuisance. The service at the bar for coffee was prehistorically slow and had to wait to be served. We eventually ordered two decaffeinated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to read of you disappointment at the closure of the Rose Garden. The team at the Victoria have been incredibly excited at the conversion of cafe to additional bedrooms for us. But what has been even more exciting for us is seeing the cafe regulars making the Vic there new coffee stop after a walk on the... More

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped in for a break midway through a long walk to grab a bit of lunch. The staff were friendly and pleasant, and we didn't have to wait too long for our order to arrive. I had a venison sausage roll with a very soggy bottom - the pastry was so far from crisp that I could actually roll... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your most constructive feedback, I am please that to read that you found the team friendly and pleasant and enjoyed the lemon cake. I am sorry to read the venison sausage roll “my favourite menu snack” was such a disappointment and failed to meet both your expectations and our high standards. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here for a late lunch,We ordered the steak sandwich at £9 and a pea, broad bean, mint and barley risotto at £11.50 (the only veggie option) was very disappointed at what we got for the prices, the sandwich consisted of a small piece of toast with some very rare steak (was not asked how I would like it cooked)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to read of your disappointments, and will of course address the issues you raise around the quality of your meals and the service with the team. More

Hingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped for lunch, good menu, great service and very nice surroundings. If you are visiting Hollkam Hall this is must for lunch or supper. If parking is a problem try thr drive to the bench, just across the road

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Roger we are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. More

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been twice to the Victoria Inn which is part of the Holkham Estate. Last time we sat outside for a drink but the bitter beer was of particular poor quality and the staff seemed little interested that the beer might be past its best. I went back thinking that you should always give somewhere a second chance. Arrived to find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my sincere apologies that you have found in necessary post such as negative review. Whilst I appreciate your view on table management I can assure you that this is the method we would operate outside of the peak season when bookings are lighter. It would however be... More

Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Victoria Inn is a beautiful building in a beautiful location but don't be mislead. The menu was good and the quality of food was as expected but the staffing issues really let the Inn down drastically. When we arrived we saw two tables where the occupants looked desperately around trying to catch the attention of the staff. One table... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of the Victoria. This summer season has seen the bar and restaurant at the Victoria stretched to its limits day after day and each and every member of the team from permanent full time to seasonal part timers have done their very best and served in excess of 10000 meals... More

Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent one night at The Victoria, the room was lovely and couldn't have been bettered, breakfast was super, the staff were helpful and attentive. The location is great for the beach and the hall. The one downside is the restaurant menu, it is a bit limited and if we had to stay for more than 3 days we would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Victoria, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our restaurant menu is available in addition to the Vic’s favourites menu and combined these offer a selection of 10 starters, 11 main courses, 6 desserts and cheese, this enables the kitchen team to insure that the ingredients they use remain fresh... More

Do you own or manage The Victoria Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Address: Park Road, Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1RG, England (Formerly The Victoria Hotel at Holkham)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea > Holkham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Victoria At Holkham Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
Victoria At Holkham Hotel

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay