We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barkers Island Inn

Hotel website
300 Marina Dr., Superior, WI 54880 (Formerly Country Hospitality Inn)
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Barkers Island Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

As others have shared, the inn is in need of updating -- furnishings are outdated. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Staff was friendly. We had a business dinner in the Grand Ballroom and the food was very good and the staff friendly.

Helpful?
Thank MNmisfit
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We are going to be doing some remodeling during the fall and winter in our rooms, lobby, restaurant, and public bathrooms. I hope you are able to stay with us again when we are done. It should be summer of 2017. More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Outside of the older rooms (probably due for some renovations) the stay was just fine until breakfast. While the food was good, our waitress was extremely rude. As a greeting she tried telling us that we should have waited to be seated rather than seating ourselves (there was no one to seat us for 5 minutes so we just sat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jared V
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I do apologize for the rude service you received in our restaurant. We do not condone this type of service from out staff. We should always strive to give the best service and we will definatley address this situation with our staff. More 

Travelers are raving about these Superior hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Barkers Island for two days and nights around New Years. We were staying there for an event on New Years. The issues were annoying but not critically bad. The bathroom fan was dangling for the first night but the next day it was fixed after we complained. The room was either extremely hot or cold. Spoke with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ross K
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I apologize that you did not have a positive experience with us. We always strive to make our guests stay a wonderful experience. I will address these issues with my staff so we do not fall short of our customers expectations. More 

Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

We stayed one Saturday night. The room was over priced for its condition. The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were like rocks. The bathroom sink tap was corroded and provided very little water. The shower was fine. Nothing special. No room to put my bathroom things because there is only a little shelf above the sink. Curtains were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marianne F
Breezy Point, Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

This is a nice motel on the water. It has great views of the lake and marina. It has a nice lounge and seperate dining room. Indoor pool and hot tub. The entry door to the pool area in front of room #117 banged as if someone was coming into our room. The door closer needs to be adjusted or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim D
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review and for letting us know about the door when you checked out. We did have that fixed right away. We look forward to you staying with us again. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

We spent one night at Bakers Island Inn. The staff was less then friendly upon check in. The walls seem thin, we got very little sleep because of the hall noise and slamming doors. The one thing it had going for it was the lovely location. Next time we are in Superior we will not stay here.

Helpful?
Thank Krystal B
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I apologize that your experience with us was not "Superior". Our goal is to give the best customer service. Your comments are of great value and to us and we will use them as training tools with our staff. More 

Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

Short and not so sweet....this place stinks. The room had a view of the lake, and that is the only thing good about it. Staff were not friendly. I would think a big hotel like this would take the initiative to use paint and brush and change carpets etc. and make a nice place here. No smoking would be nice.... More 

Helpful?
Thank pattymarie66
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We can only grow and improve with every comment. We always strive to give the best customer service and I apologize that we failed. We are in the process of doing many updates to our hotel. We have already painted and put new carpeting in all our rooms with much more to come. We are... More 

Chetek, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

My husband and I just spent our 13yr anniversary here and we had a wonderful time. The hotel itself needs an upgrade but it was not bad. We loved the pool and hot tub and the view from either side of the hotel was wonderful. The location was great and we loved that they provided bikes so we could explore... More 

Helpful?
Thank KMW585
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful anniversary and that we met your expectations. More 

Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

This is one of Superior's best lodging options, and it is definitely our go to. The kids love the pool, and it has good on-site dining options. There is also plenty of things to do nearby. For our wedding, all of our guests stayed here, and they all seemed to enjoy their experience.

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thnak you so much for your wonderful review. I am so glad that you and your guests enjoyed their stay with us. We hope you stay with us again. More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 via mobile

For an old place they have clean and up to date rooms. The location couldn't be more beautiful, but it's not in lake superior if that's what your looking for. Its nearly surrounded by the back waters but you will need to go somewhere else if you want to get in the water. The staff was friendly and check in... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoshRR440
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Superior
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Superior
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bridgeview Motor Inn
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
3.8 mi away
Super 8 Superior
Super 8 Superior
#1 of 9 in Superior
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay