We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge at Leathem Smith

1640 Memorial Drive, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54325
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Lodge at Leathem Smith
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Lodge at Leathem Smith
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    15
    13
    5
    15
See reviews for
27
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I want to start by saying the star rating is not reflective of the overall experience we had at The Lodge, more of what is available and what was experienced during Door County's winter season. The Lodge looked like it had a ton of things to do and enjoy during the summer months but I can't comment to that. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We were upgraded to a beautiful sweet and decided to dine in our room. Lovely gourmet meal and beautiful atmosphere. The room was completely renovated and had a great warm feel. Dual fireplace, comfy seating and all the amenities. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glendale, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Welcome to 1970, the apparent last time anyone improved this place. Restaurant closed. Bar closed. Front office closed at 5:00, as we were advise by the "teen" who checked us in and neglected to tell us any of the above. Nice "tube" TV in 2014. Broken lock on entrance door. This place was just nasty and beyond worn out. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wendy C, Manager at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this review

From the guests who are trying to get something for nothing or they are expecting a big chain hotel with cookie cutter rooms with no charm, this is when we get a bitter review. This historical resort has been here since 1928 and to be called nasty because you had a tube TV, really? Most people come to Door County... More 

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

My son had his wedding ceremony and reception here in September, and they did an awesome job with the rehearsal dinner, the reception, and the wedding dinner. The food was really good, and the service was excellent. The wedding party was able to decorate the banquet room the evening before the wedding and the staff was extremely accommodating. They even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in September for a bike tour weekend. The lodge is at a very nice location across from a marina. The setting of the all the buildings is very user-friendly with the restaurant attached. The restaurant has FANTASTIC food at a good price. Our room did have a nasty damp-carpet smell which they explained was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rockford ,IL
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed two nights here while supporting our son while he was running the Door County 50 miler. It was convenient for the race, a lovely piece of property on the bay, and clean. However, we had a sleepless Saturday night due to a very noisy wedding party that went on in the common area outside of our room until... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The room we had (Captains Suite, Queen) was beautiful and had it's own private balcony. The staff was very helpful and went above and beyond. From Brenda & Rhonda (front desk & head of housekeeping), to Colleen & Willie in the Bar to Peg in the restaurant - everyone was wonderful. We would stay here again in an instant...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Just returned from a three night escape and wish we had never left home. First, happily gave them my credit card as a guarantee for the room. Was shocked when they charged 50% of my anticipated bill four weeks before we arrived. "It's policy," I was told when I checked in. Phooey on policy...especially when it's unethical. After much arguing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheboygan, WI
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed in the separate building apart from the main lodge. I would be embarrassed to offer the room we stayed in! The carpet was filthy, the toilet kept clogging, the screen door had holes in it and kept getting stuck, and the cheap decor and TV seemed from the 1980s. The beds were hard and uncomfortable. I didn't want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We stayed for five days in mid-August and were not overly impressed. The third day, housekeeping completely skipped our room. I complained to the desk and the next day, the bed was covered with the bedspread but the lower sheet was just as we left it. Our glasses had not been replaced as there was still lipstick on one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lodge at Leathem Smith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Leathem Smith

Address: 1640 Memorial Drive, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54325
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge at Leathem Smith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Leathem Smith Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Leathem Smith Lodge
Leathem Smith Hotel
The Lodge At Leathem Smith Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay