We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge at Leathem Smith

1640 Memorial Drive, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54325
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Leathem Smith
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Lodge at Leathem Smith
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    56
    16
    13
    6
    15
See reviews for
27
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at Leathem Smith Lodge last week for 7 days. Normally I don't write reviews but I was so impressed with the owner and the staff I decided to to to let everybody know. We went to fish the Sturgeon Bay area for smallmouth bass. We are from Iowa and this was our first time in the area and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
10 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here a few times over the years and have always been treated well and left happy. Yes, it is an older resort but that is part of the charm. This last stay was a two day deal before the higher seasonal prices start. I was surprised when we arrived and were given a nice suite with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

I struggled with writing this review as I know they must have just bought the property, but you do NOT get your money back if you leave early!! There is a reason for that. Just think about it. We drove 5-6 hours, very disappointed and got some sleep only to come back home the next day. This was our vacation.......(summer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

I want to start by saying the star rating is not reflective of the overall experience we had at The Lodge, more of what is available and what was experienced during Door County's winter season. The Lodge looked like it had a ton of things to do and enjoy during the summer months but I can't comment to that. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We were upgraded to a beautiful sweet and decided to dine in our room. Lovely gourmet meal and beautiful atmosphere. The room was completely renovated and had a great warm feel. Dual fireplace, comfy seating and all the amenities. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glendale, Arizona, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Welcome to 1970, the apparent last time anyone improved this place. Restaurant closed. Bar closed. Front office closed at 5:00, as we were advise by the "teen" who checked us in and neglected to tell us any of the above. Nice "tube" TV in 2014. Broken lock on entrance door. This place was just nasty and beyond worn out. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Wendy C, Manager at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this review

From the guests who are trying to get something for nothing or they are expecting a big chain hotel with cookie cutter rooms with no charm, this is when we get a bitter review. This historical resort has been here since 1928 and to be called nasty because you had a tube TV, really? Most people come to Door County... More 

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

My son had his wedding ceremony and reception here in September, and they did an awesome job with the rehearsal dinner, the reception, and the wedding dinner. The food was really good, and the service was excellent. The wedding party was able to decorate the banquet room the evening before the wedding and the staff was extremely accommodating. They even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in September for a bike tour weekend. The lodge is at a very nice location across from a marina. The setting of the all the buildings is very user-friendly with the restaurant attached. The restaurant has FANTASTIC food at a good price. Our room did have a nasty damp-carpet smell which they explained was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rockford ,IL
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed two nights here while supporting our son while he was running the Door County 50 miler. It was convenient for the race, a lovely piece of property on the bay, and clean. However, we had a sleepless Saturday night due to a very noisy wedding party that went on in the common area outside of our room until... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The room we had (Captains Suite, Queen) was beautiful and had it's own private balcony. The staff was very helpful and went above and beyond. From Brenda & Rhonda (front desk & head of housekeeping), to Colleen & Willie in the Bar to Peg in the restaurant - everyone was wonderful. We would stay here again in an instant...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay