We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
737 Avon Road, Sparta, WI 54656
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We called and reserved 2 rooms at one price, arrived to find the actual price was quite higher. TV had ONE channel (Attempts using 8 other remotes, still just 1 channel). Beds and pillows were lumpy. The coffee maker was UNCLEANED. Bathroom was filthy. Carpeting in area entering common breakfast room was soaked, yet nowhere near the pool. The wi-fi... More 

Helpful?
Thank mta202
Spanaway, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel needs major repairs and upgrades. Not using a surge protector to plug in microwave, fridge, tv. Just a 3 way extension cord. Breakfast is mediocre, Sparta family restaurant next door has excellent food and fairly priced. Room door locks are wore out and in need of repair, wallpaper coming off walls. Exit door locks hard to open with room... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank patrickjonmrw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

We were in town for a family Christmas gathering and chose to stay at this hotel. Ive I've never been to Sparta and was loving the cozy town. The front desk guy who I think was also the manager was very friendly and welcoming. As soon as we got in the room, the manager called us to ask if everything... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey W
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

Great staff, comfortable rooms, convenient and very delicious restaurant. Most needs were within 5 minutes driving time. Internet was good enough to do work related business on. Breakfast was consistent with Country Inn. Staff went out of their way to meet our needs.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank robertleroyiimrw
Scott W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to inform others how your stay with us here at Country Inn and Suites was. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future. More 

San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

No gym Moldy smell Broken pool Broken whirlpool. I had to drive two miles (each way) to get to the gym; the gym did not have shower facilities. Exiting the gym in freezing temperatures and being sweaty was not enjoyable.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank 156danielq
Scott W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear your stay was unenjoyable and not up to your standards. Unfortunately the pool and jacuzzi was closed to a mechanical malfunction that was beyond our control. It is now open and is safe for all guests to enjoy. We do not have a gym on site but have a membership to Snap fitness up the... More 

Sparta, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Manager was vary rude while trying to check in early. Instead of saying rooms weren't ready told us to book a room for the nite before we wanted. Been staying here for over ten years and never had this problem with past managers

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank H882WFjohnc
Scott W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Hi John, At check in at 10:00 a.m. you were informed your rooms were not ready, You then stated you have always been able to check in by 10:00am. You were informed that check out time is not until 12 p.m and that we needed time to get your rooms clean for you to accomaodate the special requests you had... More 

Burnsville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

This hotel is in a good location. We hit the Sparta trail during our visit. The staff was friendly and the hotel was quiet. Our room was very small, felt like I could get around the furniture very well. It didn't matter all that much being that we didn't hang out in our room but to sleep.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Cassandra H
Scott W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to inform us of how your stay was. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed it. Thank You More 

Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

This was a nice hotel but just basic. The room was nice and clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was good. It is very close to I90 and easy to get on and off. There is a restaurant next door and a convenient gas station. If we were to go this way again, we would probably stop.

Helpful?
Thank 709nancyh
Scott W, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review

Thank You for letting us and others know about your experience while staying here. We Value your feedback and appreciate your business. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge
13.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
19.7 mi away
Old Towne Motel
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
3.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
21.8 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
22.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay