We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2701 County Road CX, Portage, WI 53901-9268
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    57
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
61
35
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in town for a family gathering and decided to stay at the Bestwestern. The rooms were all clean, the pool area was a blast for the little ones, and every member of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. During our stay the power went out in half of Portage. We didn't think much of the issue until... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I do apologize again for the a/c not working and happy that we were able to atleast provide a fan. I am glad to here that we were able to make it right for you and you will be returning! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Courteous staff and my room was very clean. Towels and sheets were stain free. No dirty towels under the bed like at super 8 so that was nice. Will stay here again when I travel through and not look back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review...I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay, and are looking forward to you staying with us in the future!! More 

Racine, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was just what we needed for our stay in Portage for our week end getaway for my husband's birthday! Location is excellent because it's right next door to our favorite restaurant! You can always depend on the Best Western hotels as they are usually very clean and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast isn't half bad either for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Happy Belated Birthday to your husband!!! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also Suzy's for dinner! Thank you for giving us an awesome review! More 

Plainview, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love it!!! Nice location!!! Very welcoming and caring staff! I really enjoyed the room and the internet. The TV had HDMI ports so I was able to watch movies of my Mac Book Pro. Then the awesome view of the pool was great to!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a great review of your stay!! We are so happy to see that you enjoyed staying with us, and hope to see you again soon! More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was on a business trip to WI, my first time to WI and very few choices for quality places to stay near where I needed to go. I was happy to find this hotel much better than many reviews I had read. While it is a little dated and small for a Best Western it was very nice and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

First of all thank you for taking the time to give a review of your stay. I would like to also thank you for judging the hotel for yourself. We are happy that we were able to make your stay comfortable and hope to see you again if you are in our area. More 

Mequon, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very nice hotel. Very nice restaurant next door. Staff was very attentive. Was given a corporate rate for sales reps that work with Meig Inc. Room was very clean, as was entire hotel. Will stay here any time I'm in the Portage WI area. As a Best Western member I am very pleased with the quality of their hotels

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review! We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and dinner at Suzy's. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We stayed at this hotel one night for a ski weekend at near-by Cascade Mountain. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and efficient. The pool and hot tub area was clean. We did not use the sauna, so I cannot comment on that. We had a minor issue with the light in the bath room, the bulb... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

thank you for the review of your stay. We hope to see you again if you are in our area. More 

Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Very courteous staff and comfortable stay. The value was fantastic, because we purchased the Ski Package. We stayed in the 2 room suite with a Jacuzzi, which came in handy after skiing at Cascade Mountain all day.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

First let me thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I do apologize for the blanket on the bed, we do have additional ones at the desk, if they are needed. We hope to see you again if you are in our area. More 

Woodridge, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Dirty Rooms, Malfunctioning elevator, bugs, heating/air conditioning units that are temperamental, uncomfortable beds, poor housekeeping staff, sporadic internet, minimal breakfast choices. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay and don't care about comfort, cleanliness or working elevators, stay here. If you want to stay someplace nice in a room with a constant temperature and beds that can actually... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your stay. The elevator was not working properly due to people constantly holding the doors open, and unfortunetly they will try and reset themselves if this happens, and I would rather shut it down than have someone stuck in it, since we do have 2 elevators. As for the... More 

Wellington, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Cascade Mountain. After reading multiple negative comments about the hotel, I was a little nervous to see our room. But as it turns out, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and not too small, the beds were good, the sink area had ample space, and the bathroom was much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BW_Manager20, Manager at BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I am happy to hear that you decided to judge the hotel for yourself and were pleased with the accomodations. I hope to see you again if you are in our area, and thank you for giving us a great review of your stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question