We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waters of Minocqua

3.0 of 5 8116 Hwy. 51 South, Minocqua, WI 54548
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Waters of Minocqua
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Waters of Minocqua
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
78
22
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Melrose Park
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited The waters in January of 2015 for a snowmobiling trip. The rooms were ok, could use a little upgrading but was clean. The kids loved the water park area and arcade. The water park is on the small size but I liked it because I could view kids at all times no matter where they were. Nice indoor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent here one night in November for business. From outside the hotel looks nice and the lobby looks great with the fireplace, you can buy a cup of Starbucks coffee what is a good option consider this hotel had one of the worst breakfast I ever seen. Some watery coffee cereal and apples... The rooms need update badly, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Waters last weekend and snowmobiled from there. Overall the hotel was clean. Our room had dirty towels in it when we checked in but they were taken care of promptly. We had pizza at the restaurant and it was good but nothing special. The indoor/outdoor hot tub was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Hotel is very clean and well done in Northwoods Motif. Room was very spacious. My only negative was the check-in. Only one person working the desk and she was also supposed to help customers in the the little store they had their. Waited a long time to get checked in. Nothing special about the indoor water park, great for little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice comments you shared about our hotel and your great suggestions. We have added additional staff during check in times to help alleviate any back up we have had at the front desk. We hope that you will join us again on your next vacation to Minocqua. Sincerely Lisa B GM More 

Morristown, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We stayed the day after x-mas for 4 nights with 2 other families and our children. Having to wait to check in because there was not enough staff and the staff helping was new it took much longer than it should. Our room was clean no complaints there. The kids enjoyed the pool and arcade, however the restaurant had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us for us so that we can plan better for next year. It saddens us that you had a "less than perfect experience" for breakfast and in dining. We had several last minute staff illnesses that put both areas behind in service. On behalf of these departments and myself, we wish to apologize... More 

Hudson, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Another family and ours planned a last minute getaway for three days. This place was perfect! The Waters is the perfect example of an older hotel that manages to keep things simple and fun, but still provide a clean, updated hotel with great pricing and the ability to connect in some way for the entire family! We were ecstatic to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review

We love "Waterpark Hotel on the snowmobile trail- Happy kids, Wife + Husband!”..! That is the perfect combination of the vacation experience we strive to provide every day. Thank you for sharing and we hope we have plenty of snow so you can come again this winter. Sincerely Lisa B GM More 

Marshfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Excellent room amenities, clean, nice place for small kids to play in the pool. In room heater didn't have a working thermostat causing the room to be either way too hot or way too cold. Not a restful nights sleep. Breakfast area not well attended or cleaned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We truly appreciate the feedback on the breakfast area. We are working on a better system and having additional staff available to assist in clearing tables and wiping up spills that occur on the serving tables. Thank you for giving us a heads up on the heater in... More 

Crystal Lake, Illinois
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

The Waters of Minocqua has recently done upgrades to their lobby, which look very nice! However, they have a BIG problem with parking! The parking lot is poorly managed! They have no policy on where snowmobile trailers and/or snowmobiles are supposed to park. They just park all over the entire lot with no organization whatsoever, making it impossible for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review

Thank you for the great suggestion! This year we have had so many more snowmobilers staying here and I would agree with you on some irregular parking. We have taken your suggestion to heart and doubled the size of the Large Trailer Parking on the south side of the building. We have a new permanent sign on order for the... More 

Phillips, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

The room we got was perfect,included microwave,coffee pot,spacious room and a big open bathroom, the bed frames were oak. Everything in this room of 207 worked perfectly and it included such the things I listed. I felt as if I was home, the staff were warm and welcoming to guests for the holidays. I loved how when I walked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review

We appreciate the wonderful comments you shared. It is so much fun decorating for the holidays with the huge fireplaces and decorated trees. Our goal is always to give you the feeling of your "home away from home." Thank you for noticing and we hope you will stay with us again soon! Sincerely Lisa B GM More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

I loved this place and would go back again next time we visit the area. Staff was helpful, and rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was pretty good. The water park was the perfect size for our small children and also included some nice water slides for bigger kids/adults.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice comments you shared. We are so glad you enjoyed the park and hope your family will join us again very soon. Thanks! Sincerely Lisa B GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Waters of Minocqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters of Minocqua

Address: 8116 Hwy. 51 South, Minocqua, WI 54548
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waters of Minocqua 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Waters of Minocqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waters Of Minocqua Hotel Minocqua
The Waters Hotel Minocqua
Waters Minocqua
Waters Hotel Minocqua

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay