We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Metro

Certificate of Excellence
411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Metro
Share an Experience

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    73
    40
    22
    13
See reviews for
25
139
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (300)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metro
See the most recent reviews
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Metro during a short pleasure/family visit in August. The room (mini-suite) was huge and very cool; definitely one of the most unique hotel rooms I've stayed in. The property has a few rough edges, probably indicating that their last big renovation was a while ago, but nothing that really interfered with our enjoyment. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you Yokeho for sharing your experience(s) from staying with us! I will be sharing your comments with our amazing team as we thrive on hearing how we can continue or improve on our servies and amenities. Our building is celebrating 75 years of service and 14 years as a boutique hotel this year; so we have the benefit of... More 

Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very well decorated, comfortable bed, big bathtub wih separate shower, nice bathroom, two TVs, great downtown location, quiet, responsive staff, great roof deck, very good bar and restaurant. Nice to be able to get a massage at the spa. Climate control a little tricky, windows are dirty, rates are quite high. Closet is a bit small.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Welcome ITravelandEat Seattle, Thank you for your sharing your past stay experience. We know you have many options when choosing a hotel and we thank you for staying with us. We are excited that you enjoyed the location, staff, roof deck and METRO lounge and restaurant. We love to hear comments from our guests because it not only helps us... More 

Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Super friendly staff. We got there several hours before check in so they kept our bags safe, parked car so we could get to concert we had planned. We checked in hours later and our bags in our room already with turn down service. Room had luxurious robes & great aveda products. Bed and linens were awesome. Atmosphere of hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you E P - On behalf of the entire Hotel Metro team, we welcome you back again soon while visiting in Milwaukee! It is guests like you that make a positive difference in our teams work day(s) and ensure that we are doing our best to have our guests leave with positive guest experiences. Please let me know when... More 

Cedar Grove
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

As frequent guests of the Hotel Metro, we always know that our stay will be wonderful. However, this time was even better than the last. My husband wanted to surprise me with a weekend getaway. Although the hotel was originally booked for the weekend, David, the Guest Services Manager, put us on a waiting list and called as soon as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Welcome Cheryl2nd, Thank you for sharing your positive experience! We love to hear comments from our guests since we strive to deliver memorable guest experiences from the minute you pull up to the hotel until the minute you check out. We are thrilled that David gave you a warm welcome, as he is one of our many Rock Stars here... More 

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and have no complaints whatsoever. The room was very big and well designed and appointed with a fabulous bath tub. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Ate in the restaurant/bar for dinner one night and found it to be equally good as the hotel itself. And if you are looking for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
414Allison, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review, Burney! Your patronage is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you enjoyed about your stay, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I will be sure to pass your kind words to both the hotel and restaurant staff.... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed across the hall from son, and his family. It was very convenient for grand daughter to be across the hall from us, so that we could be close. The staff helped me in directions on my way and a valet to greet me. Super friendly staff. Housekeeper Betty has worked here 10 years. Very kind, reliable, neat. Katie and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Welcome Kitty 1854, Thank you for sharing your feedback. As an independent boutique hotel, our Hotel Metro team strives to deliver top-notch experiences during our guest(s) stay. Betty, David and Katy our part of our Super Star team and sharing how they WOWED you will help us continue to strive for that memorable guest experience. We welcome you and your... More 

Roscoe, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked a deluxe king room for July 4 as we seen Iron Maiden at Summerfest & wanted to stay close by. In advance of our stay, I wrote manager asking for any upgrades as we were also celebrating my husbands birthday-she offered us the Spa Suite-has a jacuzzi. Upon arrival, was disappointed no where to park near by unless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
414Allison, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, SkupieCD! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our amenities; such as the PURE suite, fireplace, chocolates, and Aveda products. We look forward to seeing you again! Feel free to contact me directly if I can be of further assistance to you in the future! Have a wonderful summer. Thanks Again, Allison... More 

Madtown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were looking for a hotel close to Summerfest that did not require a 2-night minimum stay and found Hotel Metro. Service was excellent-best I've had in a long time. Rooms are way cool-spacious and can easliy accomadate 4 people if need be. Will be staying here again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback and your patronage to our hotel! We look forward to your next stay. Have a wonderful summer. Warm Regards, Allison Geschke HR/ Online Media Manager More 

Stoughton, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed for two nights and everything, from arrival to departure, focused on us and meeting our wants and needs. We arrived early and Katherine treated us to an upgrade to a master suite because our room wasn't available yet (we arrived a couple of hours BEFORE the noted check-in time.) Our room was absolutely beautiful and spacious and from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time in providing your feedback on your recent stay, Tish. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to both Katherine and the rest of the staff. We welcome you back anytime and we look forward to your next visit! Warm Regards, Allison Geschke HR/ Online Media Manager More 

L.A. 'burbs, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We (husband, 8 yo daughter and myself) stayed here for 6 nights. From the 1st moment I called to book the room I was impressed with the friendliness and helpful attitude of the staff (I am talking about you, Kevin). :) I had initially booked with the Iron Horse Hotel but was not completely sold on the location and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your review and we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! It is comments like yours that we strive for from all of our guests. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our two bedroom suite and I will be sure to pass your sentiments on to our staff... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question