We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pfister Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Special Offer
Parking for a Penny
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with The Pfister Hotel to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Pfister Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

1,299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    939
    252
    63
    26
    19
See reviews for
262
498
54
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1299)
  • Mar-May only
    (328)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (403)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (317)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (251)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Pfister Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is my third stay at the Pfister and it never disappoints! It is nice without being too pricey. It may be a little more expensive than other hotels in the area but, believe me, you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Wow!! Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experiences here with us at the Pfister, as well as your continued patronage to the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future and for many more... More 

Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The makeup mirror was falling off the wall and had exposed wires. The tub was dirty, and the staff really didn't seem to care at the front desk. The bar on the roof is terrific, but not enough to overcome the issues with room and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Omar N, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcus Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on tripadvisor. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the experince you had with your room and Staff. If time would present itself I would like to speak with you in person about your experince while staying with us. I can be reached at 414-390-3829... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were upgraded to a tower room, supposedly better than a room in the original hotel. The gold carpets were stained, bathtub was old and not deep enough to bathe in, there was a cobweb hanging from the ceiling and dirt/dust in the corners. No ice bucket in the room and no ice machine meant you had to call for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great hotel with great restaurants and walking distance to great shops, parks, bars and restaurants. The rooms are big, well kept and the craftsmanship is well noted. The service is phenomenal and the overall quality and value is on point.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so... More 

Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We got a great rate on a room at this hotel this past weekend, and although the view was less than desirable (construction area of the courtyard), the room was quite comfortable and plush. Yes, the coffee maker is in the bathroom, and the tub is average in size, but the customer service is AMAZING, room service prices are reasonable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so... More 

Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband & I stayed here this past weekend. We stayed here for a weekend getaway. The service from every employee was welcoming and inviting. The accommodations were wonderful. We just loved the charm and all it has to offer...the only down side is no free Wi-Fi.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. And thank you for your comments regarding the wi-fi, i assure these will be... More 

Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My hubby decided to surprise me by taking me to the Pfister Hotel overnight. What a disappointment! He paid $284.00 for one night & though the rm had a lakeview (with the help of binoculars that we brought) it was not worth the money. No hot tub (bath tub at home is bigger) Coffee maker was in the BATHRM! No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Omar N, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Frecklesncurls I would like to thank you for posting your review and experince on tripadvisor. We at the Pfister strive to exceed our guest expectations at all times,and in your case we failed, and I would like to apologize for that. If an opportunity would present itself, please feel free to contact me at 414-390-3829- Sincerely More 

Berwyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Elegant, great history including its haunting. Luxurious, comfortable accommodations. Love to have a cocktail at Blu before dinner, enjoying the great views. Has everything you need there for an enjoyable weekend even if you decide not to venture out into greater Milwaukee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel provides a touch of old fashioned service from the time you step into the lobby until the time you leave. The cost of parking is very high. This is the only negative I would have. Otherwise the service and the artwork provide a great experience. I highly recommend it if you are visiting Milwaukee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so... More 

Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We came back to enjoy our 37 anniversary because of the awesome treatment the last time we were there. If I would write everything that we did and how we were treated there would not be enough space and would read like a well published book. Anyone that does not stay here is missing the best experience of their life.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review

Wow!! Thank you so much!! It's so amazing to be a part of something so special, and incredibly to be host to more than one anniversary. We would love to welcome you back for another anniversary and should you choose to do so please feel free to contact me. We'd love to welcome you back and assist in any way... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(5)
  • Lobby bar(4)
  • Mason Street(4)
  • Top floor(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

389 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (342)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (77)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay