We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Geneva Wells Motel

1060 S. Wells St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147 (Formerly Budget Host Diplomat Motel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Geneva Wells Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Dyer, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This motel exceeded our expectations We were impressed with the room size, the cleanliness, new decor, etc. A big plus, the nice heated outdoor pool with plenty of chaises on beautiful surroundings. Enjoy building your own "smores by the brick fire pit ,or simply sit, relax, and enjoy the peaceful surroundings and sunset!!. The motel is on acreage with BBQ... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheryl K, Owner at Geneva Wells Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Geneva Wells Motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to appreciate all that our property has to offer! We love to see our guests enjoying the pool and grounds to the fullest! We strive to ensure a clean and comfortable environment... More 

Elgin, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a charming beautiful gem. I felt so welcomed at this fully remodeled motel. It is comfortable and priced correct. I had a couple of days before I had to go back to work. I stayed on Thursday and Friday night. I brought my bike so I could go to the lakefront and watch the entertainment on Thursday without having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheryl K, Owner at Geneva Wells Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and managed to get a couple of days of peace away from the rat race! We work hard to ensure that our guests find their stay enjoyable and relaxing. Its means a lot to us that... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent. Very courteous Cheryl (Owner) & made the special effort to meet our requests over the phone before we arrived. Called us back. Room was excellent...and location peaceful. I could not have asked for a more homely, comforting, very clean and value for money at peak season stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two days and had a great experience. Motel is located away from all the noise of downtown, but still close enough to enjoy what downtown has to offer. The owner was wonderful and very friendly. Our room was updated and clean. The motel grounds and pool were exceptional and private. We definitely recommend this motel to anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheryl K, Owner at Geneva Wells Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Geneva Wells Motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and found some time for relaxation. We strive for a clean and comfortable stay for our guests. We hope that you will visit us again soon on your next trip to Lake Geneva! More 

Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for 2 days for some ME time...husband and a grands came up for the weekend. Cheryl hooked me up another room to accommodate my Grands..they LOVED the pool. It was very comfortable and it's a work in progress and It will be our New place to go. Very affordable and family friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheryl K, Owner at Geneva Wells Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a glowing review! We appreciate your comments! Were happy that you enjoyed a little time for yourself, and also that your grandchildren enjoyed the pool. We work hard to provide an enjoyable stay for our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lake Geneva! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

This place was awesome. My family plans on staying there once a summer. The owners are very friendly! I was very impressed with the motel rooms and the pool. The rooms were clean and so was the pool. I would recommend this place to everyone!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheryl K, Owner at Geneva Wells Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for commenting on your stay at Geneva Wells Motel! We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We work hard to ensure that our guests are happy! We look forward to seeing you next summer! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

We took a quick road trip out to Lake Geneva and chose this hotel because of how close it was to downtown Lake Geneva, and because of its reasonable price. The owner was very nice and fun to talk to, the property was beautiful, the pool was lovely, and the room was perfect and had everything we needed including a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cheryl K, Owner at Geneva Wells Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Geneva Wells Motel! We are pleased that you enjoyed your little getaway and that you were able to enjoy the grounds and pool! Thanks for posting such a great picture of our picnic area and trees! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lake Geneva! More 

Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

My husband and I spent two nights at the Geneva Wells. The prices of our regular hotels in the Lake Geneva area were ridiculously high, so when I found this one at $100/night, I was skeptical... but we were so pleased! The rooms have been recently renovated. They were tastefully decorated and comfortable. There's a nice pool, fire pit, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheryl K, Owner at Geneva Wells Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Geneva Wells Motel! We are pleased that you enjoyed your mid-week getaway, how delightful to have the pool to yourself for an entire afternoon! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lake Geneva! More 

Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

- Room not updated as shown - Blow dryer kept over heating - Tub was very slippery - Housekeeping did not clean very well during our stay - TV reception was very poor - Sink & vanity were very low, below waist level. - Poor water pressure and terrible shower head I booked this room out of necessity, not choice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheryl K, Owner at Geneva Wells Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Geneva Wells Motel. We strive to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and apologize for any issues that you had while you were here. We would gladly have corrected the issues that you were having, had it been brought to our attention during your stay. We are still in the process of updating our rooms,... More 

Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I had stayed here with the previous owner. The new owners have given this place the complete remodel. New flooring and furniture, flat screen TV the place is awesome. Here is the best news the people there are very helpful. Cheryl keep up the good work. I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheryl K, Owner at Geneva Wells Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review Geneva Wells Motel! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the updating of the rooms. We strive to provide our guests with a friendly, comfortable place to stay. We hope to see you on your next visit to Lake Geneva! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
4.5 mi away
Geneva Ridge Resort
Geneva Ridge Resort
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Suites
Bella Vista Suites
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#14 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay