We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The American Club

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
419 Highland Drive, Kohler, WI 53044
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The American Club
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The American Club
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    413
    104
    50
    32
    15
See reviews for
58
319
15
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (614)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (157)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (155)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (159)
All months
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The American Club is a beautiful resort in the middle of Wisconsin. You would never know it was there but it is a gem worth going to! If you are a golfer, even better. There are golf courses minutes away, a sports center a shuttle ride away, shops and all this set in a very quiet upscale hotel. Rich mahogany... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was surprised to find that THE American Club wasn't the wonderful experience that it's billed to be. I stayed in one of what I would call a "back room" - which was still quite pricey, I might add. I got lost finding my way through the maze of dimly lit hallways, and started hyperventilating almost immediately upon entering my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the American Club in 2012 and at the time thought it was a 5 star hotel. I returned June 2015 and was a little disappointed this time. First the pros. Shower is great. What else would you expect in Kohler. The housekeeping was excellent. The food at the Wisconsin room was outstanding. The staff works hard to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear Don L, We are happy your second stay was better than your first and that our team worked hard to make your stay amazing. However, we are truly sorry you have not yet experienced a flawless Five Star stay with us. Please accept my apology for the issues within your guest room, We should be reporting and addressing issues... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never having stayed in the American Club, we booked a first floor room and advised that would need to use mobility scooter at times, as going up and down stairs was often issue for my husband. The bellman was very helpful in showing us what way to use the scooter to enter the hotel. Check-in was okay although we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear gleem, Please accept our apology for the difficulties you encountered during your stay. I am pleased to share we are ordering new shuttles and one of our new shuttles will be ADA accessible. We expect the new shuttles by the end of the year. We do take time to care for guests’ personal items as part of our Five... More 

Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

5 star resort. They should invent a 7 star ranking for this place. To Die For. If you golf, go play at Whistling Straights. If you don't golf, just go look. Truly amazing. It's very hard to describe but the entire resort is amazing. The staff seems to really care about your happiness.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear Paul D, Thank you for such a lovely compliment! Our team is our greatest asset and truly do care about providing exceptional service. We hope you are able to visit us again. Best Wishes, Christine L More 

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place went above and beyond all expectations. The staff is extremely friendly and personable, even sending me a bottle of wine on my birthday since they knew I was at a work event and with none of my own friends or family. The housekeeper wrote me a Happy Birthday note as well. It made me feel very special. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear Lucy W, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased to learn our team made celebrating your birthday away from your family and friends special! Having a good night’s rest is important, and we are glad you found the room cozy. Best Wishes, Christine L More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful array of fresh seafood dishes at the gourmet, seafood buffet at the Wisconsin Room. Service was exceptional. We were literally the last seating and yet the carving station and appetizer station as well as main course and dessert stations were maintained until we departed. Literally loved everything I tried! This is a must visit when in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear Anne i, Our goal is to ensure every guest has the same experience when dining at any buffet in our resort. Regardless if you are the first or last guest. We are very happy to learn we succeeded during your visit to the Wisconsin Room! We hope you will return. Best Wishes, Christine L More 

Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

You can't stay at any better hotel in Wisconsin other than The American Club. Even the lower priced Inn at Woodlake ranks better than most hotel/motels in Wisconsin. Restaurants are also top notched. The Immigrant Room is definitely a five star dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear gailbrookfield, You honor us with your kind words and review. You are correct, we have two hotels on site. The American Club our Five Star/Five Diamond hotel and our Inn on Woodlake our select service hotel. We appreciate learning which property our guests prefer! Best Wishes, Christine L More 

Champlin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The American Club was definitely a five-star experience in a charming small town. I did not get to experience the town as much as I'd like due to the limited time & other commitments I had during my stay, but I would like to plan a 'girls get-away' there soon for some serious pampering: food, spa & shopping. The Horse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear Diane R, We are delighted to read about your past visit and your plans to return. Many guests who plan a girlfriends get-a-way select the Carriage House, which is located above our Kohler Waters Spa. You can stay in your robe all day long if you wish! Perhaps you can find time to try our Sports Core health club... More 

Keystone, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Classic hotel - second visit. The service is top notch! Beautiful suite with huge bathroom, jetted tub, walk-in/two headed steam shower, double sinks and a big cushioned seat in the middle of the bathroom. The living space was very comfortable with a decent sized deck and a fireplace. The pub served "okay" food.... but the golf course restaurants (with free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear tkv64, We do believe our team is our most valuable asset, and we thank you for recognizing them with your review. We are happy to learn you experienced many of our resort amenities during your stay. We have a variety of restaurants featuring different cuisines and atmospheres for guest to enjoy. It is always interesting to learn which restaurant... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

413 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (229)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Other (104)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay