We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Inn

Hotel website
1509 Coulee Road, Hudson, WI 54016
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Secret Rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Inn
Royal Inn
Royal Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    14
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
7
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Needs TLC on the outside but REALLY NICE ROOM for the money. Single is 54 but double was 70. Very homey. New curtains, bedspreads, sheets, pillows, towels; all the stuff that matters. AC HEAT works great. Even had some nice grass. TV was basic, no premiums.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay. As you said, we need some TLC on the outside but we do try to keep our rooms up-to-date with modern amenities. In terms of our TV experience, we feel we have one of the best TV experiences a... More 

Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We visit a lot of hotels as we travel for art shows and Royal Inn far exceeded our expectations. May not look like much on the outside but inside our room was spacious and very clean. The beds were very comfortable. You do hear the traffic from I 94 but that soon faded into the background. After spending a week... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct, there is not much to see on the outside, but our rooms are clean and comfortable. We are also glad you noticed your room had brand name tissue and the other toiletries, they do come in... More 

Chatham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Yes it looks like it could use an overhaul on the outside. Inside was great! Very clean, modern. Wifi worked well. It was great to have a fridge and microwave. Staff were very polite and helpful. Close to places to eat and shop. Will stay again without hesitation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We agree that we do need an overhaul on the outside, but what really matters is the inside of the rooms. We are glad you enjoyed a very clean room, good Wi-Fi, and the micro/fridge. Hope to see you again in the future, Management More 

Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Pros: Looks rundown from the outside but inside my room was super clean, huge bed, and easy access to 94. Can't say much for staff since never saw them besides checking in Cons: You will hear the highway all night and walls are not super sound proof. My smoke alarm battery went dead at 2 am so had to fight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay. We are happy to see your room was super clean and a huge bed. Unfortunately, we are an older motel but we try our best to make the most of it, especially in the room experience and cleanliness. The smoke alarm is a very unusual event and we... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

I am not used to having the hotel room door exposed to the outdoors and so to hear cars going by in the middle of the night was a little much for me. Over all it wasn't a bad hotel and once I got in the room, I was pleasantly surprised that the room was pretty modern. The staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Glad to see your room was pretty modern but still a little shocked to see you didn't like that we upgraded you to our deluxe room for free. We are a traditional motel with at-door parking right off 94 so we do understand there is more noise than a high-rise hotel... More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We wanted someplace to stay close enough to the University of Minnesota Twin Cities that was clean, close to food and shopping and didn't cost a fortune. Royal Inn fit all our criteria perfectly. Add to that, comfortable beds and the people were extremely friendly. We will be using them again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your warm comments. It is very nice to see you had a clean room that didn't cost a fortune. Also glad to see your room had comfortable beds and staff was friendly. We will see you in the future. Management More 

stillkc
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is not fancy. It doesn't serve a breakfast in the morning. It doesn't have a restaurant connected. What it dies have are neat tidy clean rooms that once you go to sleep is the same as other hotels that are higher priced. Oh and there are easily accessible places to eat that you can walk to or better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Glad to see your room was tidy and clean. As you said, we do not serve breakfast in the morning. Instead, we pass on the savings to you for your own personal breakfast, whether it be a fast breakfast or a Hot, American breakfast. Hope to see you again in the future. Management More 

ND
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Looking for a clean, reasonably priced place to stay for the night and Royal Inn fit the bill. It is an older establishment but very clean. Check in/out was a breeze and the staff was helpful and friendly. Close to restaurants and gas stations which is all we needed after a long day of driving.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see your room was clean and fit the bill, not everyone needs all the "extras" when they are passing through. Just like our teachers used to say, "Don't judge a book by its cover". Hope to see you in the future. Mangement More 

Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were looking for a reasonable stay for 2 nights in the Twin Cities area. We found exactly what we were looking for. The Royal Inn was quiet, clean, comfortable, safe, and central to all of the places we needed to go while we were in the area. Check-in and check-out took a total of 5 minutes for both. They... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy you found the Royal Inn exactly what you expected - quiet, clean, and comfortable. We try our best to accommodate our guests, especially when they book directly. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future! Warm Regards, Management More 

Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is our second year in a row we have stayed at royal inn. The room was very nice and clean. We will stay at royal inn on our trips to Wisconsin. Our room has a new big screen t-v since last year which was very nice. Close to a mall type area and close to all different types of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us again during the races at Cedar Lake. We are so happy to see that your room was very nice and clean as well your favorable opinion of the new TVs. We really appreciate guests like you who stay with us even though there are other hotels in town. We hope you are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay