We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Hudson hotels

Royal Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1509 Coulee Road, Hudson, WI 54016
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
TripAdvisor Secret Rate
Royal Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Inn to your Saves list
69%
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Cjdirri Wausau, Wisconsin
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
7
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros: Looks rundown from the outside but inside my room was super clean, huge bed, and easy access to 94. Can't say much for staff since never saw them besides checking in Cons: You will hear the highway all night and walls are not super sound proof. My smoke alarm battery went dead at 2 am so had to fight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay. We are happy to see your room was super clean and a huge bed. Unfortunately, we are an older motel but we try our best to make the most of it, especially in the room experience and cleanliness. The smoke alarm is a very unusual event and we... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

I am not used to having the hotel room door exposed to the outdoors and so to hear cars going by in the middle of the night was a little much for me. Over all it wasn't a bad hotel and once I got in the room, I was pleasantly surprised that the room was pretty modern. The staff was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Glad to see your room was pretty modern but still a little shocked to see you didn't like that we upgraded you to our deluxe room for free. We are a traditional motel with at-door parking right off 94 so we do understand there is more noise than a high-rise hotel... More

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We wanted someplace to stay close enough to the University of Minnesota Twin Cities that was clean, close to food and shopping and didn't cost a fortune. Royal Inn fit all our criteria perfectly. Add to that, comfortable beds and the people were extremely friendly. We will be using them again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your warm comments. It is very nice to see you had a clean room that didn't cost a fortune. Also glad to see your room had comfortable beds and staff was friendly. We will see you in the future. Management More

stillkc
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is not fancy. It doesn't serve a breakfast in the morning. It doesn't have a restaurant connected. What it dies have are neat tidy clean rooms that once you go to sleep is the same as other hotels that are higher priced. Oh and there are easily accessible places to eat that you can walk to or better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Glad to see your room was tidy and clean. As you said, we do not serve breakfast in the morning. Instead, we pass on the savings to you for your own personal breakfast, whether it be a fast breakfast or a Hot, American breakfast. Hope to see you again in the future. Management More

ND
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Looking for a clean, reasonably priced place to stay for the night and Royal Inn fit the bill. It is an older establishment but very clean. Check in/out was a breeze and the staff was helpful and friendly. Close to restaurants and gas stations which is all we needed after a long day of driving.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see your room was clean and fit the bill, not everyone needs all the "extras" when they are passing through. Just like our teachers used to say, "Don't judge a book by its cover". Hope to see you in the future. Mangement More

Superior, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were looking for a reasonable stay for 2 nights in the Twin Cities area. We found exactly what we were looking for. The Royal Inn was quiet, clean, comfortable, safe, and central to all of the places we needed to go while we were in the area. Check-in and check-out took a total of 5 minutes for both. They... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy you found the Royal Inn exactly what you expected - quiet, clean, and comfortable. We try our best to accommodate our guests, especially when they book directly. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future! Warm Regards, Management More

Quincy, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is our second year in a row we have stayed at royal inn. The room was very nice and clean. We will stay at royal inn on our trips to Wisconsin. Our room has a new big screen t-v since last year which was very nice. Close to a mall type area and close to all different types of... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us again during the races at Cedar Lake. We are so happy to see that your room was very nice and clean as well your favorable opinion of the new TVs. We really appreciate guests like you who stay with us even though there are other hotels in town. We hope you are... More

Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

After spending a week camping in the Canadian bush we were headed home and searching for inexpensive lodging for the night. The Royal Inn is not easy to get to. You have to drive about 1/4 mile down the frontage road. But it's worth it. Try to get a room on the back side as the front row could get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We are on the frontage road so it does take 1-2 minutes after you take the exit to get to us but like you say, it's worth it. We really do apologize for the morning shower not being hot. One of our water heaters tripped out but was... More

Plainfield, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were returning home from a canoe trip in Northern Canada and wanted a cheap clean room. She had the haggard look. Our room was in back in a separate building that looks new. Opening the door we were shock to see how nice it was, brand new looking, clean, maintain, plush and homey. The room had a huge LG... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Wow, we are so happy you really enjoyed your stay! Glad to see people like you give us a try and enjoy the numerous upgrades we have made. We really apologize about the hot water. We actually had a problem with our water heater but was quickly fixed... More

Cedar Rapids, IA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at the Royal Inn the weekend of July 18th, 2014 for the Tough Mudder competition. While the outside of the building could use an aesthetic overhaul, the rooms themselves were very clean and inviting. The bathrooms were a little small, but everything worked properly. The room also had a very nice-sized flat screen TV, as well as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments about your stay. We are very happy you enjoyed your very clean room and Wi-Fi signal strength and electrical outlet worked well. We also appreciate your feedback on the usual amenities and our price, because we don't want our guests to pay for extras if they don't want to. Hope you enjoyed your... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Address: 1509 Coulee Road, Hudson, WI 54016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay