We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverside Motel

Hotel website
10429N State Road 27, Hayward, WI 54843
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Riverside Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lac du Flambeau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed last night. We found the place to be very clean and comfortable. Certain, it is an old fashion motel (and we like this). It has a smaller TV, a microwave and a small trig. Bring your own hair dryer. There is a one cup coffee pot in the room and coffee is available in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MireilleMinocqua
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice review of your stay at our motel.. This motel was one of the first in Hayward when it was built. Our Standard Rooms located roadside do not come with hair dryers, but guests can request a hair dryer when they check in. LCD TVs in our Standard Rooms... More 

Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

Nice clean place but a little spendy. They have a few rules you must follow but okay. Definely need to put the small frig on a counter up higher instead of under the bathroom sink. We are too old to be bending over to get stuff out. Beds mattresses need to be updated as they are a little hard but... More 

Helpful?
Thank linda m
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review to this website. I'm sure you enjoyed your quiet days in one of our waterfront rooms. I don't think everyone is aware that waterfront locations such as ours are a little more pricey, not only to the guest but also to the owner. Actually our waterfront balconies are very close to the water's edge.... More 

Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Just stayed for one night. Everything was just fine, good shower, comfortable bed, wifi worked great, a plus because my cell phone doesn't work well around Hayward. Nice little outdoor sitting area and dock on the river. Can't beat it for the price.

Helpful?
Thank toni w
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive and encouraging review of our property! Again, we have to say that we, the owners, are not doing the work alone. As a matter of fact, this year we have more persons working than in previous years, and have hired one person alone for landscaping and property projects... More 

Brainerd
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

I search out the 'Mom & Pops' as opposed to the huge, sterile big company hotels. My most important criteria is to be clean. The Riverside was awesome. The main room had plenty of room, frig, microwave, table & chairs, and a nice padded bench for sitting or staging our luggage. The bathroom was really nice - all tiled, large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy B
Innkeeper27, General Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Yes indeed, the persons who work here are into the details of cleaning ... the owner has military experience, and employees are instructed to look beyond the normal vision range, that means up and down, and work thoroughly that way. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your... More 

Neptune, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

My husband and I had such a wonderful stay here. Rooms are impeccably clean and cozy - you feel right at home. Definitely go for a room on the water. You will be able to enjoy a spacious little deck/balcony type area right next to the water! If you happen to be an early riser, you will enjoy relaxing watching... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janetta D
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

So glad that you enjoyed a truly magical stay in one of our Waterfront Rooms overlooking the Namekagon River/Lake Hayward. We have been able to take quite a few photos of sunrises and sunsets over the years, and also the different wild flowers growing at the shore. Lake Hayward is unique in that it is a flowage in the city... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

We found this one night after riding all day from the UP. Typically I don't call hotels if there is no indication on this app that they have availability. (And this hotel did not have info about availability.). But we really didn't want to stay at a chain, so I gave it a shot. I am so glad we did!... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Esther S
Innkeeper27, General Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for a great review of our property. We also sometimes stay in large hotels because there isn't anything else available. Unfortunately, our experiences were often not as good as expected. Our motel in Hayward is unique because it is owner operated, and not affiliated with a chain. Our property is a waterfront location in the city. Our employees... More 

Winona, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Not fancy but clean and the view of the lake beautiful. The price was very reasonable. We took our grandson and he wanted to swim and while there are no beaches or public swimming pools, the other chain hotels in the area charge $5-$7 per person to swim at their indoor-heated pool. Would stay there again as we went to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Actually, there is a beach on Lake Hayward, and it is very close by. You can walk, drive, or get there with a boat or canoe from our property. We have a variety at room options available, Standard Rooms, Waterfront Rooms and a new 830 sq ft. upstairs suite with river views, and then some German built log cabins. Coming... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

I was totally pleased when we walked into the room here. It's clean, homey, comfortable, and enjoyable. We booked a room with a semi-private deck overlooking the lake, and spent quite a bit of time of time out there (semi-private in that there is only lattice-work separating the decks for each of the 5 rooms). There is a small fridge... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J-9inIA
Innkeeper27, General Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a great review of our property in Hayward, Wisconsin! We are glad that you enjoyed a relaxing vacation in one of our Waterfront rooms on Lake Hayward with your own deck! To use internet, you have to use a password, and this password is printed on the instructions by your telephone in the room.There is... More 

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Three girl friends (seniors) moved in on a rainy afternoon. As soon as we looked at the deck with a beautiful view, the sun came out and stayed the whole time we were there. We enjoyed the motel; it was clean, quaint, had everything with needed to make us feel at home. Horst and Elisabeth are the perfect hosts. It... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Frankie S
Innkeeper27, Front Office Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write! It is always a treat for us to talk a little German and meet someone from our country called homeland! We hope that the rest of your vacation was relaxing and pleasant, and we are glad that you enjoyed your room! A deck or balcony on the... More 

Clear Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Our stay was good. The staff was very polite and friendly. It was very close to shopping, attractions, and walking to down town. Our biggest complaint was the beds were very uncomfortable and noisy. By noisy I mean the beds were spring mattresses and every time someone moved they squeaked loudly. We will stay again. We recommend getting the Riverview... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claudia J
Innkeeper27, Front Office Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear from you. Thank you for taking the time to write, we always appreciate an honest input. Please also remember to speak to innkeepers or employees in person about things .(I believe we had some issues from a lightening strike when you checked in, and spoke to you about it.) Thank you for your patience.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayward
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Hayward
AmericInn Hayward
#6 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#5 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
23.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN American Heritage Inn
1.3 mi away
Northern Pine Inn
Northern Pine Inn
#12 of 14 in Hayward
3.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay