We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverside Motel

Hotel website
10429N State Road 27, Hayward, WI 54843
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Riverside Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    12
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
22
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Neptune, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had such a wonderful stay here. Rooms are impeccably clean and cozy - you feel right at home. Definitely go for a room on the water. You will be able to enjoy a spacious little deck/balcony type area right next to the water! If you happen to be an early riser, you will enjoy relaxing watching... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

So glad that you enjoyed a truly magical stay in one of our Waterfront Rooms overlooking the Namekagon River/Lake Hayward. We have been able to take quite a few photos of sunrises and sunsets over the years, and also the different wild flowers growing at the shore. Lake Hayward is unique in that it is a flowage in the city... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this one night after riding all day from the UP. Typically I don't call hotels if there is no indication on this app that they have availability. (And this hotel did not have info about availability.). But we really didn't want to stay at a chain, so I gave it a shot. I am so glad we did!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeeper27, General Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for a great review of our property. We also sometimes stay in large hotels because there isn't anything else available. Unfortunately, our experiences were often not as good as expected. Our motel in Hayward is unique because it is owner operated, and not affiliated with a chain. Our property is a waterfront location in the city. Our employees... More 

Winona, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not fancy but clean and the view of the lake beautiful. The price was very reasonable. We took our grandson and he wanted to swim and while there are no beaches or public swimming pools, the other chain hotels in the area charge $5-$7 per person to swim at their indoor-heated pool. Would stay there again as we went to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Actually, there is a beach on Lake Hayward, and it is very close by. You can walk, drive, or get there with a boat or canoe from our property. We have a variety at room options available, Standard Rooms, Waterfront Rooms and a new 830 sq ft. upstairs suite with river views, and then some German built log cabins. Coming... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

I was totally pleased when we walked into the room here. It's clean, homey, comfortable, and enjoyable. We booked a room with a semi-private deck overlooking the lake, and spent quite a bit of time of time out there (semi-private in that there is only lattice-work separating the decks for each of the 5 rooms). There is a small fridge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeeper27, General Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a great review of our property in Hayward, Wisconsin! We are glad that you enjoyed a relaxing vacation in one of our Waterfront rooms on Lake Hayward with your own deck! To use internet, you have to use a password, and this password is printed on the instructions by your telephone in the room.There is... More 

Coram, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Three girl friends (seniors) moved in on a rainy afternoon. As soon as we looked at the deck with a beautiful view, the sun came out and stayed the whole time we were there. We enjoyed the motel; it was clean, quaint, had everything with needed to make us feel at home. Horst and Elisabeth are the perfect hosts. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innkeeper27, Front Office Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write! It is always a treat for us to talk a little German and meet someone from our country called homeland! We hope that the rest of your vacation was relaxing and pleasant, and we are glad that you enjoyed your room! A deck or balcony on the... More 

Clear Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Our stay was good. The staff was very polite and friendly. It was very close to shopping, attractions, and walking to down town. Our biggest complaint was the beds were very uncomfortable and noisy. By noisy I mean the beds were spring mattresses and every time someone moved they squeaked loudly. We will stay again. We recommend getting the Riverview... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Front Office Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear from you. Thank you for taking the time to write, we always appreciate an honest input. Please also remember to speak to innkeepers or employees in person about things .(I believe we had some issues from a lightening strike when you checked in, and spoke to you about it.) Thank you for your patience.... More 

Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We stayed one night in a double room. Small but clean. Decent beds, pillows too hard for me, ok for my partner. Bathroom and shower were small, tiny soaps, minimum number of towels that were quite small, not bath size at all. Shower faucet control was very difficult to regulate, either all hot or all cold. Coffee machine provided, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

This review does n o t represent reality, all tact an politeness considered. Dear guest, please get current on hotel rates in Hayward and other cities on the planet. Our rates are perhaps behind the times, but n o t our rooms!!! The USA is a free country, and it is indeed possible online to put down anyone, anywhere, not... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Appears to be well run, well managed facility. Our room was clean and everything worked. Unfortunately the room we had faced a very busy highway and considerable noise even late at night. It is an old style motel - one window with no cross ventilation. Would request one of the rooms off of the highway. Might also want to bring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are glad that you found your guestroom clean and appliances in working order. State Road 27 is a busy road during daytime working hours, and quiets down considerably during the night. We lived in our business for 20 years, right in and above the building where guests check in and had... More 

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

This is the best hotel I've stayed at. It was clean and very quiet. The rooms are quaint like you have rented a cabin in the Northwoods. You can sit on the dock on the river also. The owner was very friendly as were the staff. Anyone who thinks the décor is outdated is missing the point of this hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are very glad that you chose our motel to spend your night(s). The owners have been working and living in this location for over 20 years. Clean and quiet is very important to us, so is having attentive employees and their input. Positive input is motivating and rewarding to... More 

Olathe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

We recently spent 4 wonderful nights at The Riverside Motel in Hayward, Wisconsin. Don't let the outside look deceive you. The owners, Horst & Elisabeth Braener, have personally seen to it that each room has been updated and remodeled. The premises were extremely clean. When arriving we had the choice of a standard room, a room with a balcony overlooking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Good morning to you! Your posting was a pleasant surprise! We truly enjoyed having you here, and being able to provide lodging, which you apparently enjoyed. Thank you for taking the time to write an outstanding review of our property. Please come back any time. Reviews like that make our work rewarding and keep us motivated to keep doing better. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayward
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Hayward
AmericInn Hayward
#5 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN American Heritage Inn
1.5 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#6 of 14 in Hayward
3.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
24.7 mi away
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay