We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverside Motel

Hotel website
10429N State Road 27, Hayward, WI 54843
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Riverside Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Riverside Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    23
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
21
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was totally pleased when we walked into the room here. It's clean, homey, comfortable, and enjoyable. We booked a room with a semi-private deck overlooking the lake, and spent quite a bit of time of time out there (semi-private in that there is only lattice-work separating the decks for each of the 5 rooms). There is a small fridge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coram, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Three girl friends (seniors) moved in on a rainy afternoon. As soon as we looked at the deck with a beautiful view, the sun came out and stayed the whole time we were there. We enjoyed the motel; it was clean, quaint, had everything with needed to make us feel at home. Horst and Elisabeth are the perfect hosts. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clear Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay was good. The staff was very polite and friendly. It was very close to shopping, attractions, and walking to down town. Our biggest complaint was the beds were very uncomfortable and noisy. By noisy I mean the beds were spring mattresses and every time someone moved they squeaked loudly. We will stay again. We recommend getting the Riverview... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Front Office Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear from you. Thank you for taking the time to write, we always appreciate an honest input. Please also remember to speak to innkeepers or employees in person about things .(I believe we had some issues from a lightening strike when you checked in, and spoke to you about it.) Thank you for your patience.... More 

Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night in a double room. Small but clean. Decent beds, pillows too hard for me, ok for my partner. Bathroom and shower were small, tiny soaps, minimum number of towels that were quite small, not bath size at all. Shower faucet control was very difficult to regulate, either all hot or all cold. Coffee machine provided, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

This review does n o t represent reality, all tact an politeness considered. Dear guest, please get current on hotel rates in Hayward and other cities on the planet. Our rates are perhaps behind the times, but n o t our rooms!!! The USA is a free country, and it is indeed possible online to put down anyone, anywhere, not... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Appears to be well run, well managed facility. Our room was clean and everything worked. Unfortunately the room we had faced a very busy highway and considerable noise even late at night. It is an old style motel - one window with no cross ventilation. Would request one of the rooms off of the highway. Might also want to bring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are glad that you found your guestroom clean and appliances in working order. State Road 27 is a busy road during daytime working hours, and quiets down considerably during the night. We lived in our business for 20 years, right in and above the building where guests check in and had... More 

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the best hotel I've stayed at. It was clean and very quiet. The rooms are quaint like you have rented a cabin in the Northwoods. You can sit on the dock on the river also. The owner was very friendly as were the staff. Anyone who thinks the décor is outdated is missing the point of this hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are very glad that you chose our motel to spend your night(s). The owners have been working and living in this location for over 20 years. Clean and quiet is very important to us, so is having attentive employees and their input. Positive input is motivating and rewarding to... More 

Olathe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

We recently spent 4 wonderful nights at The Riverside Motel in Hayward, Wisconsin. Don't let the outside look deceive you. The owners, Horst & Elisabeth Braener, have personally seen to it that each room has been updated and remodeled. The premises were extremely clean. When arriving we had the choice of a standard room, a room with a balcony overlooking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Good morning to you! Your posting was a pleasant surprise! We truly enjoyed having you here, and being able to provide lodging, which you apparently enjoyed. Thank you for taking the time to write an outstanding review of our property. Please come back any time. Reviews like that make our work rewarding and keep us motivated to keep doing better. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

I needed accommodations for two workers from out of town. The manager was in contact with me daily to assure everything was ok and was very gracious. The workers commented that I must have paid a lot of money because it was such s nice motel. The fact is it was very reasonable, well located and met my needs. 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write, and for your kind words. We are very glad that your workers had a great stay at The Riverside Motel in Hayward, and that our staff is appreciated. Your 5 star rating will be very helpful to other potential guests as well as to this business. You made our day! More 

Laramie, Wy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We like well-located, small hotels where we are not paying for things we don't use, like swimming pools and restaurants. Riverside fits the bill perfectly. Our spacious waterside room had a lovely balcony. The bathroom was nicely outfitted with a jacuzzi tub, and the sink area was separate from the tub/loo area. There was plenty of storage space, which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

We certainly appreciate the time you took to write this excellent review of our property! We are working to not only to keep our motel and German Log Cabins in good repair but also updated and clean! All of this takes a team effort, and we could not do it by ourselves. We feel that our property, with its location... More 

New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

This small motel sits right on the Lake Hayward. Many rooms have a balcony looking out on the water. Even in winter it is a lovely view. The rooms are spacious enough to have a queen bed, sofa, table and chairs, dressers and TV. There is in-room coffee. Large shower, tub with whirlpool and changing area are included. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of The Riverside Motel! We are glad that your stay and the service we offer here was to your satisfaction! Hayward is unique because it is a city where small independent properties are valued by many travelers. They stay here at our property because of it. These owners are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayward
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Hayward
AmericInn Hayward
#5 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 14 in Hayward
2.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
23.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN American Heritage Inn
24.7 mi away
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay