We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Green Lake hotels

Heidel House Resort & Spa

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI 54941
Hotel amenities
Heidel House Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heidel House Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Green Lake
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Kathleen C
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    86
    60
    25
    12
See reviews for
76
142
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (323)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After our second time we attended the New Years Eve celabration, hosted at the HeidelHouse in Green lake Wi. We were very pleased as we were two years ago. They really do a great job of making the evening a very entertaing job, the food they put out was not only great but brought to the tables hot, and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen and Ronald, I want to thank you for writing a review of your New Year’s Eve experience at the resort and also for choosing us to bring in the New Year for a second time. It was our pleasure hosting the festivities and creating a memorable time for both of you. We look forward to seeing you again... More 

Janesville, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Heidel House because I found a groupon for it and it was overall a very nice stay. We went for our anniversary and when we let them know, they upgraded us to a fourth floor lakeside suite, which is about twice the size of the original room. I highly recommend going big or going home at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hannah, Thank you for providing feedback of your recent visit to the resort. It’s wonderful to see you were able to enjoy such a variety of the property during your anniversary getaway. I am hopeful you choose to return for the beautiful lake views and delicious dining experiences. More 

Lake Villa, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with a Groupon and we're not disappointed. Beautiful setting on Green Lake. It snowed while we were there and was truly beautiful. They have skating, cross country skiing and an indoor pool and spa. We had a lake view room which I would definitely do again as the view is awesome. The room was very spacious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poplar Grove, IL
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I were married here quite a few years ago, and decided to spend our wedding anniversary here and show our children where it all happened. Heidel House was just as we remembered - beautiful location, well decorated, comfortable rooms, and a great indoor pool and two hot tubs. Our 4 kids were pleased. We had one room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Adam, Thank you for choosing Heidel House for your anniversary getaway! It is wonderful to hear you were able to reminisce and share the memories with your children. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your visit during the warmer months when you can enjoy Big Green Lake in the sun. More 

Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I was there for a wedding. The staff were very friendly and helpful over the duration of our stay. Our room was pretty good, but there are no rods or wall hangers for long dresses to hang in the room. I was surprised by this discovery since so many weddings are held there. We were there in August and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you for providing feedback of your stay with us in August. We appreciate your suggestions. It’s great you had decent weather to enjoy a variety of the property and I’m happy to see your family took advantage of the balcony – it provides a wonderful view of the lake. Please let me know if there is anything... More 

Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

After hearing about this well known resort destination we finally decided to buy an attractive Groupon deal and picked a two night stay during the week. Our room overlooking the entrance canopy was not what we had in mind and when we asked for a lake view room they gave us a great room opening on to the terrace overlooking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scott K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a kind review! I am delighted you chose Heidel House Resort to celebrate your anniversary. It’s wonderful to see you were able to dine in each of the property restaurants and enjoyed the comfort of your room. I hope you find the perfect makeup mirror for your wife for Christmas. Thank you again for sharing... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed one night as guests at a wedding reception. Our room was clean, though in need of an update (hello, popcorn ceilings!) and had a nice view overlooking the pool and the lake. The beds were comfortable enough and the fridge was nice, though it would be great if a couple of bottles of water would be included. Just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Your feedback is very valuable to us; thank you for taking time to write a review. I am happy to see you enjoyed the wedding and I appreciate your feedback on your breakfast experience. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience and will take your comments into consideration moving forward. More 

Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The resort was picturesque with a homey feel. A spacious lobby and courteous staffs. Checking in was fast. We have a lake view room, which was big in size with two queen size bed, TV, ref, free coffee. Free wifi . Toilet with toiletries . Since it was snowing we were not able to enjoy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to see you were able to enjoy the snowy views, breakfast and relaxation at the spa. As “People Pleasing People,” it was our pleasure to accommodate you during your visit. Please let us know if we can assist you in planning a... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Had a nice time staying at the Heidel House with a friend and our kids. It's off-season so a little quiet. The lobby is open and upscale, and they had a very cool giant gingerbread house they were building. Indoor pool with 2 hot tubs is one of the nicest I've seen (and unusual for a lakefront property), and towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review! It seems you were able to enjoy a variety of the resort while here with your friend and family. While I am happy you enjoyed our Giant Gingerbread House and indoor pool area, I am concerned you were disappointed with other aspects of your stay. An early alarm that you did... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

My husband and I came here for a one-night getaway in November. We happened to experience the first big snowfall of the season while we were there, so needless to say, we didn't get to enjoy the lake or the grounds. Perhaps if we visited in the summer, our experience would have been different, but overall our stay was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Bethany, Thank you for taking time to write of your recent experience. While I am happy to see you enjoyed the scenery, indoor pool and your room, I am concerned you were disappointed with the rest of your stay. Particularly concerning is your disappointment in dining. Because we’d like to better understand your experience, I welcome you to contact director... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Heidel House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidel House Resort & Spa

Address: 643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI 54941
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Green Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidel House Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heidel House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidel House Hotel Green Lake
Heidel House Resort And Spa
Heidel Resort Green Lake
Heidel Hotel Green Lake
Heidel House Green Lake

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay