We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Green Lake hotels

Heidel House Resort & Spa

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI 54941
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Heidel House Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Heidel House Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    78
    53
    25
    12
See reviews for
68
133
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (295)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The property itself is located right on the beautiful Green Lake in Wisconsin. Pretty easy to access from Milwaukee or Chicago with only about 22 miles of non-Interstate roads. Excellent nearby bike paths as well. Facilities and buildings on the grounds are well kept up. I was here for a wedding and did not use any of the pools or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a disappointment! The Heidel House bills itself as a luxury resort, but in reality it is an old, tired, and worn out property in a fabulous location. The lobby is spectacular. The food is very good. The patio is unbeatable as a place to grab a sandwich or drink by the lake. But the room was straight out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very excited to go to a family wedding at this resort and traveled 1500 miles to do so. Rooms were huge disappointment. Expected 4 star level with the cost of the rooms and got 1-2 star level. Rooms are very dated, window air conditioning, not very clean. Customer service was not good. Food was only standard, except for Sunday brunch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to write a review, and are deeply sorry we were unable to meet your expectations. We can only imagine your frustration after traveling so far. Our catering manager received complimentary feedback from this wedding, so please know we are reaching out to the bride to ensure we did not fall short of her expectations. Once... More

Muskego, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Went in the beginning of June so not much to do there unless you golf. Went on the boat tour of the lake which was nice and ate at the bar. Food and service were good. Had a nice view of the lake from the room. Hotel definitely caters to weddings as there were to there that weekend. Nice place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This facility is a jumbled mess of buildings and hard to find one's way around. The staff at the front desk went through the map so fast and scribbled all over it so it was even hard to find our room. The facility is a little run down and I wouldn't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with feedback; we truly appreciate receiving comments and concerns so that we can continue to improve the guest experience. We are very sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and that the front desk did not provide better direction with the property. We can only imagine the frustration you felt and have reminded our... More

Waupun, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter was recently married on location on the lakefront of the Heidel House property. The grounds were stunning, but even better than a picturesque property was the work of Star Irvin, event coordinator. Her expertise and attention to detail was invaluable to make the day memorable. My daughter commented that she didn't worry the whole day. Neither did I.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently, I stayed at the Heidel House for a bachelorette party. The resort was very inviting, beautiful, accommodating and just a great time. Rooms: We had several rooms and a suite that we rented. The suite was HUGE! It was such a great gathering place for the group of girls. Our individual rooms were also spacious and clean. Activities: We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed at the Heidel House for a weekend in August for a bachelorette party. A group of us girls stayed for two nights and had the most amazing time! We rented a suite and a few other nearby adjoining rooms. When we first arrived, everyone could not stop talking about how beautiful the resort was! We immediately put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Tara, We are incredibly happy to hear you and your girlfriends enjoyed the bachelorette party while staying at Heidel House Resort & Spa. Thank you for leaving a response; we always appreciate the feedback! We are also delighted our associates were able to help with the ALS ice bucket challenge – what a fun way to support a great cause.... More

Poynette, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have visited Heidel House for at least 12 years. The quality of the facility, the courtesy of the staff, and the food quality have always remained first rate. The property on the lakefront is beautiful, and there is close proximity to many tourist attractions in the Green Lake area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The grounds are beautiful but our room not so nice. Booked a suite and room is musty, bathroom grout moldy, sofa hide a bed old, and heater in bedroom set off smoke alarm. Was able to switch room to 2 queen rooms due to horrid odor that heater made and second set of rooms much cleaner. Nice staff, just tired... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Heidel House Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Heidel House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidel House Resort & Spa

Address: 643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI 54941
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Green Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidel House Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Heidel House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidel House Resort And Spa
Heidel House Hotel Green Lake
Heidel Resort Green Lake
Heidel Hotel Green Lake
Heidel House Green Lake

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Heidel House Resort & Spa