We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Green Lake hotels

Heidel House Resort & Spa

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI 54941
Hotel amenities
Heidel House Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Heidel House Resort & Spa to your Saves list
70%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Green Lake
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
jwtraveler60404 Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    78
    56
    25
    12
See reviews for
70
134
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (302)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely place. Gorgeous setting on the lake. Loved the room, food, service. Excellent. Friendly place. Oktoberfest weekend - great music, beer, festivities! I would love to come back for the spa, a lake cruise, and some golf. Great place for the whole family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
chicago, Il
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I booked a two night stay for a fall weekend. The room we stayed in the first night was a separate building from the main one. Although it had been painted and the furniture updated, the bathroom was small and narrow and the bathtub/shower grout had lots of mildew stains. The room "view" was of two air-conditioning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at Heidel House Resort & Spa. All guest feedback is very valuable. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment you felt with your room. I am also sorry there was such miscommunication as you tried to change rooms; I can only imagine your frustration. Please know these issues are being addressed... More

Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here last weekend for a business conference. The hotel staff were quite friendly, but the rooms could use some attention. There were visible scuffs from someone's luggage or shoes on the walls in my room when I entered (approximately 6" long) and the grout in the shower could use some attention as well. The breakfast provided with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time visiting Heidel House. Went for a conference, but my family came as well. Staff are so very helpful, grounds are beautiful and clean, lake cruise is great, food was good, great hiking/bike paths. As I was there for a conference, I didn't have a chance to really explore all of their amenities such as the spa, pools, fiitness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Kelly. We truly appreciate your feedback; your suggestions have been given to the appropriate management. We look forward to your family vacation with us. Please let us know if we can assist you in planning your vacation to include a spa service. More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Green Lake is so beautiful especially this time of year with all the fall colored trees. The deep, spring-fed lake is filled with incredible fish! The town is small with only one memorable place to eat for us where we went for two delicious dinners ( Norton's). We can't get enough fried walleye whenever we visit Wisconsin & Norton's delivered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Julie, We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Heidel House. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We are deeply sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay. The wait you experienced to have your room cleaned, the poor service you encountered at the BoatHouse and the cold... More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't know why, but I really wasn't expecting much when we booked to stay. We usually go far north in WI or go to the Lake Delavan or Lake Geneva areas. Heidel House was a wonderful surprise. Warm, inviting, friendly and they have really thought through their amenities so they provide real hospitality! The room was clean and spacious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Green Lake, and we are so happy to hear you had beautiful weather – sometimes, that makes all the difference. We look forward to your next stay with us, Jude. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The property itself is located right on the beautiful Green Lake in Wisconsin. Pretty easy to access from Milwaukee or Chicago with only about 22 miles of non-Interstate roads. Excellent nearby bike paths as well. Facilities and buildings on the grounds are well kept up. I was here for a wedding and did not use any of the pools or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had our wedding over Labor Day weekend and had the most wonderful experience! The Banquet Manager, Star Irvin, was such an important part of making our day successful and she did not disappoint. As the Bride I did not have to worry about a thing! Throughout the evening I was asked a few times how everything was going from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a disappointment! The Heidel House bills itself as a luxury resort, but in reality it is an old, tired, and worn out property in a fabulous location. The lobby is spectacular. The food is very good. The patio is unbeatable as a place to grab a sandwich or drink by the lake. But the room was straight out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very excited to go to a family wedding at this resort and traveled 1500 miles to do so. Rooms were huge disappointment. Expected 4 star level with the cost of the rooms and got 1-2 star level. Rooms are very dated, window air conditioning, not very clean. Customer service was not good. Food was only standard, except for Sunday brunch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HeidelHouseGM, Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to write a review, and are deeply sorry we were unable to meet your expectations. We can only imagine your frustration after traveling so far. Our catering manager received complimentary feedback from this wedding, so please know we are reaching out to the bride to ensure we did not fall short of her expectations. Once... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Heidel House Resort & Spa?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Heidel House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidel House Resort & Spa

Address: 643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI 54941
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Green Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidel House Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heidel House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidel House Resort And Spa
Heidel House Hotel Green Lake
Heidel Resort Green Lake
Heidel Hotel Green Lake
Heidel House Green Lake

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay