We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1225 Janesville Avenue, Fort Atkinson, WI 53538-2701
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    8
    12
    18
See reviews for
14
15
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've been to this hotel twice now. Both times was to go to the Fireside Dinner Theater, which is located next door. The room we had was dated. The mattress stiff. Mold in bathroom caulking. Typical older hotel problems that can only be repaired by investing dollars. All that I can accept as the price for the room was fair.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Thank you for your input and yes, the hotel is dated. When I took over as manager almost 8 years ago, this place was in total disrepair and very dirty. We have made changes as money will allow. We had hoped to have all new furnishing and mattresses in rooms by now, but some major expenses we did not expect... More 

Lemont, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We booked this hotel because we went to the Fireside which is next door. We have been coming to this hotel for a long time under several names. America's Best purchased a very, very tired hotel and over the last several years have been improving and improving. Our room had new carpet, newer furniture, bed and pillows good. The new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice comments. It is always good to hear when we are doing a good job. Sometimes all we get are the reviews that are negative when the majority of our guest do enjoy their stay. As you stated, we are trying to improve hotel every day. It takes time and money but we are... More 

Ottawa, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We have stayed here many times through the years & have always had a very pleasant stay. The owners are friendly and helpful and are most hospitable. One time we had car repair issues, & they allowed us to stay in our room past checkout time until our car was fixed & did not charge us. We have never felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We have so many people that enjoy their stay but they don't go online and let every one know. It's just the ones who want to complain that we hear from most and we do want to know where we fail but we also like to know when we have... More 

Berlin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This is the most un-clean hotel I have ever stayed in. The desk/table chair was fresh out of a hoarders house. The odor in the room was terrible. When we came to turn on the wall light it did not work, found the plug to be really loose in the socket. The lamp by the bed went off by it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. If we were unable to move you to a clean room that met with your approval, it was because we were sold out. Also maintenance on pool and hot tub are done when we are not busy, which we did in January, whole area was cleaned and painted, pool and hot tub... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We were in the area visiting my boyfriend's family and there aren't any room at his mother's house, so we decided to spend the night at my favorite place to be away from home. First time my boyfriend and I are staying at the ABVI in Fort Atkinson, WI. These people here treated us poorly, no great customer service, could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Rude treatment of a guest is not acceptable and I apologize for that type of treatment. Fair treatment of all guest is number one priority and I am sorry you were not treated with respect. I have made person who spoke to you aware of the problem and he assured me he was not trying to be rude and he... More 

Bensenville, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We where gone all day got back at 8 pm and our room was not cleaned. Told the front desk and then went down for a swim while they cleaned the room. No elevator to the second floor. Could not charge cell phone cause eletrical outlet was worn out (kept falling out). The lock latch on the entry door to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I am not sure why your room wasn't cleaned for you while you were gone but that is not acceptable and housekeeping staff will be made aware of problem. Also we are trying to get hotel back in good repair. It is 25 years old and before I took over... More 

Greenfield, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I don't do a lot of reviews.. But this time I thought I would. We stay here because we saw a show at the Fireside Theater next door. The building is worn and dated. The room was not clean, the carpet was not vacuumed before we checked in. There were food crumbs on the floor, the bathroom floor was dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you had let us know that the room wasn't clean, we would have moved you to another room, letting you look at it first to make sure it was ok. Also, we don't have a maintenance person available all the time but when we are made aware of a... More 

Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Get what you pay for, not updated Choose this hotel because of location (able to walk across the parking lot) to The Fireside Theatre. Breakfast was fine. Appears their is limited housekeeping. Garbage was overflowing in the breakfast area for example. We had two rooms next to each other, one which had no chair for the table. Staff was friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Thank you for your input on your recent stay. When we are sold out as were at end of September it is hard to keep up with garbage in breakfast area but we do try. We are also trying to up date when money allows. Hope to see you back again. More 

Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Room was okay, although the carpet made my feet black, the curtains were so thin they were virtually see-through, and there was a gap between the door and the frame wide enough to see into the hallway. The grounds were dirty with trash and beer bottles thrown into the bushes. The breakfast wasn't good and it seemed like they served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt unsafe on the property. We have never had an issue with people off street walking into the hotel nor have we ever had an issue of anyone trying to break in to any room. We are currently trying to get the door locks fixed since lately it has been complained about and we do want our... More 

Oshkosh
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My friends and I are in town for a race and wanted to stay overnight. The town was booked up due to another event so this was the only place we could book. We should have just drove home because this place is a complete DUMP. Between my friends we have booked 6 rooms. After the race, we wanted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and felt management was being rude. On the doors to our pool area, it clearly states NO GLASS IN POOL AREA, plus there are several signs on pool area walls indicating no glass in pool area and also food is not allowed in pool area. If you had asked ahead of time, you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question