We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1225 Janesville Avenue, Fort Atkinson, WI 53538-2701
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    8
    8
    12
    20
See reviews for
14
17
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We stayed here because it was handy to the Fireside Theater. We're glad we did. The room was clean and comfortable, just a short walk to the theater. We'd do this again. Our only complaint was the lawn: the dandelions had taken over and the grass needed mowing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Stayed there for 3 nights and it was not a place I will stay at again. First night I noticed the A/C unit was not kicking out that much air and it was getting very warm in the room. Went to the breakfast and the pastries were definitely not fresh and moist. When I came back to the room later... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We don't like it either when our guest aren't happy. It is responsibility of staff to provide clean room to guest whether they stay one day or many. There is no excuse for dirty room. As far as our ac units. If it is cooler outside than in room, the ac unit isn't... More 

Travelers are raving about these Fort Atkinson hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Room is dirty, facility is old, one chair is falling apart, shower tub makes an obnoxious noise when showering like you were falling through. Bed mattress and springs are shot, electrical outlets are overloaded and will not keep the cords in, continental breakfast was poorly done, only lots of pastries. They had hard boiled eggs, nothing hot except make your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
courtyardinn, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

We are sorry your room wasn't up to standards.We do try very hard to keep rooms clean and comfortable. We are still working on getting each room safe and comfortable and right now safety is primary and that is being worked on but we have to wait for people we need to be available when we need them and that... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We've been to this hotel twice now. Both times was to go to the Fireside Dinner Theater, which is located next door. The room we had was dated. The mattress stiff. Mold in bathroom caulking. Typical older hotel problems that can only be repaired by investing dollars. All that I can accept as the price for the room was fair.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Thank you for your input and yes, the hotel is dated. When I took over as manager almost 8 years ago, this place was in total disrepair and very dirty. We have made changes as money will allow. We had hoped to have all new furnishing and mattresses in rooms by now, but some major expenses we did not expect... More 

Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We booked this hotel because we went to the Fireside which is next door. We have been coming to this hotel for a long time under several names. America's Best purchased a very, very tired hotel and over the last several years have been improving and improving. Our room had new carpet, newer furniture, bed and pillows good. The new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice comments. It is always good to hear when we are doing a good job. Sometimes all we get are the reviews that are negative when the majority of our guest do enjoy their stay. As you stated, we are trying to improve hotel every day. It takes time and money but we are... More 

Ottawa, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We have stayed here many times through the years & have always had a very pleasant stay. The owners are friendly and helpful and are most hospitable. One time we had car repair issues, & they allowed us to stay in our room past checkout time until our car was fixed & did not charge us. We have never felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We have so many people that enjoy their stay but they don't go online and let every one know. It's just the ones who want to complain that we hear from most and we do want to know where we fail but we also like to know when we have... More 

Berlin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This is the most un-clean hotel I have ever stayed in. The desk/table chair was fresh out of a hoarders house. The odor in the room was terrible. When we came to turn on the wall light it did not work, found the plug to be really loose in the socket. The lamp by the bed went off by it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. If we were unable to move you to a clean room that met with your approval, it was because we were sold out. Also maintenance on pool and hot tub are done when we are not busy, which we did in January, whole area was cleaned and painted, pool and hot tub... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We were in the area visiting my boyfriend's family and there aren't any room at his mother's house, so we decided to spend the night at my favorite place to be away from home. First time my boyfriend and I are staying at the ABVI in Fort Atkinson, WI. These people here treated us poorly, no great customer service, could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Rude treatment of a guest is not acceptable and I apologize for that type of treatment. Fair treatment of all guest is number one priority and I am sorry you were not treated with respect. I have made person who spoke to you aware of the problem and he assured me he was not trying to be rude and he... More 

Bensenville, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We where gone all day got back at 8 pm and our room was not cleaned. Told the front desk and then went down for a swim while they cleaned the room. No elevator to the second floor. Could not charge cell phone cause eletrical outlet was worn out (kept falling out). The lock latch on the entry door to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I am not sure why your room wasn't cleaned for you while you were gone but that is not acceptable and housekeeping staff will be made aware of problem. Also we are trying to get hotel back in good repair. It is 25 years old and before I took over... More 

Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I don't do a lot of reviews.. But this time I thought I would. We stay here because we saw a show at the Fireside Theater next door. The building is worn and dated. The room was not clean, the carpet was not vacuumed before we checked in. There were food crumbs on the floor, the bathroom floor was dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you had let us know that the room wasn't clean, we would have moved you to another room, letting you look at it first to make sure it was ok. Also, we don't have a maintenance person available all the time but when we are made aware of a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay