We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1225 Janesville Avenue, Fort Atkinson, WI 53538-2701
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    9
    8
    12
    21
See reviews for
16
17
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disgusting. Dirty. Unsafe (every door is left open). NO lights upstairs so when you return at night it is PITCH black. Had to use our phones to find the room. You wouldn't drink anything out of the filthy coffee pot and you wouldn't touch the alarm clock. The pool was so cloudy you couldn't see the bottom and the whirlpool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

We are sorry you found our hotel not up to your standards. We do strive to keep our rooms and hotel clean and comfortable for all and when we fail, we feel as bad as you do. There are times when we have to close hot tub due to mechanical failure and there are times when the pool does get... More 

Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very comfortable hotel right by the Fireside Dinner Theater. The beds are comfortable and even with children in the next room we never heard a sound. The breakfast is like all small chains: muffins, waffle mix, yoghurt, etc. However, I don't stay at these hotels for breakfast, but for a comfortable bed. My only complaint is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Thank you for your delightful review of our hotel. We are glad that we could help you out and solve any issues you may have had. We are working on fixing electrical sockets in all rooms but since taking over this hotel, we have had numerous issues to contend with and just recently are able to address the electrical sockets... More 

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We stayed here because it was handy to the Fireside Theater. We're glad we did. The room was clean and comfortable, just a short walk to the theater. We'd do this again. Our only complaint was the lawn: the dandelions had taken over and the grass needed mowing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am not sure when you stayed in May but during that month we had a lot of rain and our fight with dandelions and keeping ahead of the growing grass was deter by rain many times. We do try to keep our... More 

Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Stayed there for 3 nights and it was not a place I will stay at again. First night I noticed the A/C unit was not kicking out that much air and it was getting very warm in the room. Went to the breakfast and the pastries were definitely not fresh and moist. When I came back to the room later... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We don't like it either when our guest aren't happy. It is responsibility of staff to provide clean room to guest whether they stay one day or many. There is no excuse for dirty room. As far as our ac units. If it is cooler outside than in room, the ac unit isn't... More 

Travelers are raving about these Fort Atkinson hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Room is dirty, facility is old, one chair is falling apart, shower tub makes an obnoxious noise when showering like you were falling through. Bed mattress and springs are shot, electrical outlets are overloaded and will not keep the cords in, continental breakfast was poorly done, only lots of pastries. They had hard boiled eggs, nothing hot except make your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
courtyardinn, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

We are sorry your room wasn't up to standards.We do try very hard to keep rooms clean and comfortable. We are still working on getting each room safe and comfortable and right now safety is primary and that is being worked on but we have to wait for people we need to be available when we need them and that... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We've been to this hotel twice now. Both times was to go to the Fireside Dinner Theater, which is located next door. The room we had was dated. The mattress stiff. Mold in bathroom caulking. Typical older hotel problems that can only be repaired by investing dollars. All that I can accept as the price for the room was fair.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Thank you for your input and yes, the hotel is dated. When I took over as manager almost 8 years ago, this place was in total disrepair and very dirty. We have made changes as money will allow. We had hoped to have all new furnishing and mattresses in rooms by now, but some major expenses we did not expect... More 

Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We booked this hotel because we went to the Fireside which is next door. We have been coming to this hotel for a long time under several names. America's Best purchased a very, very tired hotel and over the last several years have been improving and improving. Our room had new carpet, newer furniture, bed and pillows good. The new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice comments. It is always good to hear when we are doing a good job. Sometimes all we get are the reviews that are negative when the majority of our guest do enjoy their stay. As you stated, we are trying to improve hotel every day. It takes time and money but we are... More 

Ottawa, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We have stayed here many times through the years & have always had a very pleasant stay. The owners are friendly and helpful and are most hospitable. One time we had car repair issues, & they allowed us to stay in our room past checkout time until our car was fixed & did not charge us. We have never felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We have so many people that enjoy their stay but they don't go online and let every one know. It's just the ones who want to complain that we hear from most and we do want to know where we fail but we also like to know when we have... More 

Berlin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This is the most un-clean hotel I have ever stayed in. The desk/table chair was fresh out of a hoarders house. The odor in the room was terrible. When we came to turn on the wall light it did not work, found the plug to be really loose in the socket. The lamp by the bed went off by it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. If we were unable to move you to a clean room that met with your approval, it was because we were sold out. Also maintenance on pool and hot tub are done when we are not busy, which we did in January, whole area was cleaned and painted, pool and hot tub... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We were in the area visiting my boyfriend's family and there aren't any room at his mother's house, so we decided to spend the night at my favorite place to be away from home. First time my boyfriend and I are staying at the ABVI in Fort Atkinson, WI. These people here treated us poorly, no great customer service, could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review

Rude treatment of a guest is not acceptable and I apologize for that type of treatment. Fair treatment of all guest is number one priority and I am sorry you were not treated with respect. I have made person who spoke to you aware of the problem and he assured me he was not trying to be rude and he... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Atkinson
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Atkinson
7.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Whitewater
8.9 mi away
Super 8 Whitewater
Super 8 Whitewater
#1 of 2 in Whitewater
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Days Inn Johnson Creek
Days Inn Johnson Creek
#2 of 2 in Johnson Creek
3.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
12.6 mi away
Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek
Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek
#1 of 2 in Johnson Creek
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Janesville
Hampton Inn Janesville
#1 of 9 in Janesville
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay