We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abbey Resort & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Abbey Resort & Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

837 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Abbey Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family (Mom, Dad, and one 15 year old) has just returned from a trip to the Abbey. We were disappointed, and won't be going back. It's just not a place for teens. Our room was nice, but on the small side. We had a King bed with a sofa sleeper. The room was small enough to require rearranging of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Ann S, I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, and that some areas of our spa were not functioning while you were here. We are addressing your comments with our staff; and while, it does not change your experience, the steam room and whirlpool are both back up and running. We are also working... More 

everywhere
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

OK..where do I start... just upon entering the lobby you know you've arrived at a special hotel...the style, the smiles....the views.... and then you enter your room.... omg I can still feel remember how comfortable that bed was..and the shower...and the comfortable room..... *yes....it is a bit confusing trying to find your way around the hotel..I'll give you that*.... But... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Shreemaan
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Shreemaan, Thank you for your review of The Abbey Resort. We are thrilled that your stay with us was amazing, and that you were able to catch a few Zs at the Avani Spa pool. We hope to see you back again soon and please be sure to follow us on Facebook. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Abbey is a beautiful resort with an outstanding view. Beautiful rooms, dinner/dining and entertainment. The gift shop is awsome great gifts for family and friends. And check out Gordy's on the board walk

Helpful?
Thank jazspin9
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jazspin9, I could not agree more with your subject line –“The most relaxing resort on Lake Geneva.” Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, and please be sure to follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date on our happenings. We hope to see you again soon. Sara Schmitz Guest relations manager More 

Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Attended a conference at the resort and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Room was extremely quiet, even though it was right near the Spa. The servers in the Fontana Grill for breakfast both mornings were professional, pleasant, and extremely accommodating.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Beth H, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Providing our guests with superior service is what we strive to do everyday, and I am delighted to hear that we delivered on that promise. We hope that you will have an opportunity to stay with us again. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest Relations Manager More 

Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here in mid-June for a business conference. My first impressions were quite good. The young men at the front desk were very friendly and accommodating. The hallways and room had newer carpeting. My first thought of the room was that it was an interesting mix of new and old. The bathroom was very modern. The walk-in shower was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dennis k
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dennis K, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that your business conference stay with us was enjoyable and that our staff was friendly and accommodating. We hope that if you have the option to stay in the area again that you will select The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations manager More 

Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a very nice resort and the renovations are really great. Loved the marina area and looking at all the boats and water from our harbor view room (it's worth the upgrade). Very peaceful grounds and nice staff. Didn't get a chance to use the spa since we were so busy. This was a very enjoyable visit and we'll... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SCP&LP
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

SCP&LP, Thank you for your review of The Abbey Resort and Spa. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The harbor view is one of my favorite views as well! As it sounds like we will be seeing you again, please follow us on Facebook and sign up for our emails to stay informed of our... More 

Illiniois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The grounds are simply lovely and relaxing.. the cabanas outside of the spa are great.. we asked for a quiet area and got it! Building 7 not overlooking the pools..all of the rooms have balconies and chairs...the Waterfront Café has good food and is very nice right on the harbor...the gift shop has all of the basics and more... However..there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina h
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Tina h, I am delighted that you were able to enjoy a relaxing and quiet stay with us, and thank you for the kind comments about the helpfulness of our staff. I apologize that you encountered some areas that were not functioning at the level you would expect. Please know that we feel the same way and are addressing the... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My very nice Sam Edelman flats were taken out of my room. New owner? Hmmmm? Room had vague scents of cigarette smoke, masked by beige paint and room deodorizer. Little cafe which sells Starbucks coffee was a nightmare. Barista coughing all over the espresso machine. Long lines to get your coffee. Don't order anything like a latte there. It will... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jenworldtraveler
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Worldlifetraveler, Thank you for your review. On behalf of the management and staff, I offer our sincere apologies for your lost or misplaced item. We take great pride in providing our guests with a high level of customer care and I apologize that you did not experience that during your stay. Please feel free to contact me at schmitz@theabbeyresort.com... More 

Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice experience. Good service but could improve on staff speaking to guests more professionally. Hotel is nice but quite pricey. Spa was nice and relaxing. Massage therapists could be more professional and accommodating as well. Food delivered to spa pool was nice touch. Could offer a better Malbec wine.

Helpful?
1 Thank MarlalovesMaui
Erica R, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

MarlaLovesMaui, Thank you for your review of the Abbey Resort. Excellent guest service is of utmost importance to us and I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We are reviewing this matter with our staff and hope that you will find a different experience during a future stay with us. I am glad you were... More 

Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here in April with our two kids ages 2 and 4. The hotel was nice. The rooms were small but clean. I had read about the kids activities on the internet so I was excited perhaps too excited as most were a letdown. I had called the babysitting service number several times (most of the time I talked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha V
Erica R, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Samantha V, Thank you for your review of The Abbey Resort. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our babysitting service and that the service charge was not explained to you when you booked the service. As our activities director has shared with you, we have made a policy change and are no longer charging the service fee for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

231 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (200)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
4.2 mi away
Geneva Ridge Resort
Geneva Ridge Resort
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 6 in Delavan
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
7.8 mi away
Baker House
Baker House
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
9.5 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay