We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Fontana hotels

Abbey Resort & Spa

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Hotel amenities
Abbey Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
C B Crystal Lake, Illinois
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    169
    88
    41
    32
See reviews for
149
239
10
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (617)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (225)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (158)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
Crystal Lake, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our overnight stay at The Abbey was glorious. It is a beautiful resort even in the winter and we had a memorable time. The restaurant was first-rate and there was a live piano player in the bar which we enjoyed after dinner. Our room had a harbor view which was charming. We really enjoyed our stay and plan to return.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a great spa retreat resort. We arrived on a Friday ,valet parked,got checked in and had dinner in the Waterfront. On Saturday morning ,we visited the spa. Saturday afternoon we took a free shuttle to the shopping area which was quite convenient. Saturday night we made sommores at the bonfire. The Sunday morning breakfast buffet looked appetizing but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carmel, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Came for my sister's 50th! What a sweet place. Our room, 1502,Building 5, had a "harbor view" outside patio space and was spic- and- span CLEAN with comfy Queen Beds. We only stayed one night, but we will return to take advantage of this very nicely renovated property which has restaurants, arcade for kids? (thinking of spring break,) spa...a simple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Christina R Thank you for your five-star review and kind comments about our property! Spring break is a great time to plan a return visit. Our onsite activities department hosts daily events, crafts, glow in the dark pool parties, movies and so much more! We will also have a Mad Science weekend and Lego Weekend in early 2015! Our email... More

Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed for two nights during the week in late October. It definitely was the off season, as the place was fairly deserted. (The silence was awesome, but it also got a bit creepy at times.) The room was nice, if a bit small, and the service at the hotel and restaurant was very good. The spa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

kafka187 Thank you for your review. We are pleased that we could welcome you for a relaxing weekend. Thank you for your positive comments about our staff, food and spa. We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome back again in the future. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz More

Mount Prospect, Illinois
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service overall at The Abbey was quite terrible. I arranged ahead of time to have a down-free room due to my asthma. However, that was not accommodated, so it had to be done upon arrival. The walls were so thin that you could hear ALL that went on next door. Not exactly relaxing at 11:30 to awoken to our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Cindy S Thank you for your review. I apologize that your stay was not as you had hoped. We work very hard to ensure we meet our guests pre-arrival requests, and I am sorry that your requests were not met. Please know that our management team has discussed your comments with their respective teams to ensure this does not happen... More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Abbey for a quick get-away for 2 nights. The rooms have lake decor and quite charming. We stayed on the second level overlooking the harbor/Lake Geneva. The bed in the king suite was very comfortable and the rooms were clean. Fan/light in the bath was loud but not a huge deal once you got used to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Lisa H, Thank you for your five-star review of The Abbey Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a complete review, and you stay with us sounds like the perfect getaway. The salmon in 240 West is one of my favorites as well! We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome back again! Kind... More

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is 10 minutes away from Lake Geneva Wisconsin is right on the lake awesome view, stayed in a double queen bed, so comfy, just like my own. The spa is fantastic, how relaxing and enjoyable. I've had their regular massages and their herbal wraps in the past, you feel energized after having one. The indoor pool is nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

RosieMendez, Thank you for your five-star review. We value our repeat guests and I delighted to read that we once again exceeded your expectations. As you like to come to The Abbey often, might I suggest you sign up for our email offers? Our emails contain our current promotions (many are often better deals than what you might be getting... More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every couple of years we find ourselves at the Lake out of season. We always stay at the Abbey and each time, on the way home, we ask ourselves why? The rooms are indifferent, the service spotty, the food OK, it really has no scenery. Nothing to me screams low end like bathrooms where there is not a separate switch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Heartlander_11 Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that your stay was not all that you had hoped. Please know that we value our repeat guests, and your review has been reviewed by our management team so that we exceed your expectations in the future. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you... More

Elmhurst, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first room we were assigned to was on the first floor of building two. It had a low, beemed ceiling with a musty smell that made me feel like I was in a basement. I called and guest services did a good job of handling our move to the second floor of building four. There was no smell and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

NoLimitsLifeCoaching, Thank you for your review. While we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, I am disappointed to read that you needed to move from your first room. Upon your notification to the front desk, we immediately performed heating and air unit cleaning and inspection. We apologize for this inconvenience and look forward to welcoming you back again in... More

Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay at the Abbey several times each year. It's less than an hour from our house and we enjoy a quick getaway. The staff is excellent. The rooms are cute and well appointed. The pool areas are great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

JenniferKevin, Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, The Abbey is perfect for a quick getaway! We are delighted to read you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay