We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Fontana hotels

Abbey Resort & Spa

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Abbey Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Abbey Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Fontana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
ILroadies
  • Reviews (548)
  • Photos (155)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (158)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    147
    75
    39
    30
See reviews for
132
217
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We recently stayed for four nights to celebrate a wedding. This resort is a great way to enjoy Lake Geneva without the crowds and traffic of downtown. The town of Fontana is small with only a couple of shops and small cafés, not the shopping that is found in town. A water taxi across the lake would be a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palatine, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our room was ok....except for the ceiling stain that kept crumbling on to air vent blowing it around. I hope that it is nothing dangerous. Bathroom fan crazy loud, and lights stay on in courtyard all night long. ***Beds were awesomely comfy.*** Front desk not overly friendly. ***GORDY's boat rental guys were great.*** I might come back again but would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I had our reception at the Abbey Resort in Fontana last summer. My husband's family has been boating in Lake Geneva for many years and the Abbey holds a special place in his heart. We decided this would be the perfect place to celebrate our special day. Sadly, we experienced many problems throughout planning, on our wedding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barrington, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Abbey is a classic hotel with all the amenities you would expect to find in a Wisconsin Resort on a lake. First, you cant beat Lake Geneva for its beautiful homes, crisp clean water and atmosphere of fun. Just like a true resort, the food is good but takes forever to get. The good news is there is always... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Positives: staff (except front desk) very good; food average; location nice. Negatives: caulk in shower was black with mold; decor from the sixties and seemingly not updated since; shower head sprayed everywhere but on me; bathroom fan sounded like jet taxiing; wooden blinds did little to block the light; nothing to do after dark.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Ken D., Thank you for your review. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff and our location. I also appreciate your comments on areas were we can improve. We hope that you will return in the future so that we may exceed your expectations. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations manager More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful resort with friendly and helpful staff aside from Tony at the front desk. She was completely rude and unsympathetic about our 2.5 wait to check-in and insisted it wasn't because of our groupon. The fact that we watched plenty of guests come in after us and get their rooms well before us, makes me wonder. One night was just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

KBJA, Thank you for your review. I appreciate your kind comments about our property. We strive to provide exceptional guest service, and I apologize that you did not receive that during your check-in. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again and exceed your expectations. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations manager More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we had a wonderful time at the Abbey it was our first time and really want to go back! the whole place was so pretty the grounds very well maintained the people working there very nice, the rooms very nice the beds a super high so if your short or have kids you may have a little trouble we definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Markeuhl, Thank you for your five star review of The Abbey Resort. I am delighted to hear that your first visit to The Abbey was so enjoyable and I appreciate your kind comments about our staff and property. We look forward to return stay. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations manager More

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at the Abbey Resort & Spa and when I traveled there this year for a work engagement I even told my girlfriend that I'd have to ensure we went back so she could see how wonderful it was. Though it wasn't quite as magical as I remember, I wasn't unsatisfied with the service provided for the most part.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Matt B., Thank you for your review. I am a bit surprised that we received this review as our accounting manager stated that she spoke with you on the phone and we thought that everything had been resolved to your satisfaction. We apologize for the error our night audit team made and the inconvenience this caused you. If there are... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights for a getaway. We were looking forward to relaxing in our room and if at all possible, watching our favorite shows from Netflix. We called the week before and we're told that most likely it would work there to plug in our ROKU. It didn't because of the email verification that was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Rita M, Thank you for your five-star review. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff member George and the effort he and our engineer put forth to assist you. I also appreciate you kind comments about the cleanliness of the room and your dining experiences at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz... More

Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beware! A block of rooms reserved for a wedding means that your guests will be scattered as far apart as possible. Overcharged for buffet breakfast. Secret charge for handing out gift bags at check- in. Diviner for reception was not prepared as promised. The list goes on. For a wedding, they totally rip you off. Stay somewhere else and spend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Abbey Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
334

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer