We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Cameron hotels

Black Bear Motel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South 1st Street, Cameron, WI 54822
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Black Bear Motel to your Saves list
Black Bear Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cameron
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Jill K stuart, United States
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
stuart, United States
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Don't judge this motel by the exterior...looks just OK from the outside but the inside is immaculate! Sara, the owner, called us after we left to let us know we left our computer plug there. She is mailing it to us. Loved this quaint motel...and right across the street is a mom and pop restaurant with great local food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crystal Lake, Illinois
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent choice in Cameron, Wisconsin. We were greeted very kindly. The room was outstandingly immaculate. New mattresses carpet and furniture. The bathroom was very quaint, we loved it, and again outstandingly clean. It is close to many places to go fishing. The towns nearby have eerything one could need and to top it off there is the most amazing bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vernon Hills, Illinois
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I booked a room here based on the positive review on tripadvisor. I was not disappointed! The room we were given was exceptionally clean and had been recently redone with new carpet and furniture. The double bed was comfy and the recliner was awesome. We were not there to hole-up and veg in front of the tube, but it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buffalo City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

When first arrival, room looked clean. Pulled sheets back, found 3 black hairs between sheets. Would not sleep in that. 2nd bed, found what looked like blood smear on underside of bedspread. Gross. Towels were stained. Looked like maybe coffee stains. Furniture looked nice. Coffee pot provided, but no coffee. Shampoo and conditioner provided, but no soap. No hair dryer.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis T, Owner at Black Bear Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We have just put brand new sheets & towels in the rooms as you could see, since this property is a small independent motel we do not have 24 hour front desk as it states when you booked the room. Our normal office hours are 8am to 10pm, I am sure... More

Travelers are raving about these Cameron hotels

14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The room was clean, and had a comfortable bed. The staff was friendly and helpful. This was our second visit and we would definately stay again. It's a nice quiet place to stay. A liitle pricey for a 2-bed room, but not outrageous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Sara went above and beyond helping us secure a room for a family get together. They were fully booked when I called and I asked if I could please leave my phone number just in case a room became available. When they had a cancelation Sara called me and put us at ease. It was nice to know that she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Cute little motel. The owners are on site, (im pretty sure they live on site) The rooms are exactly as described. My fiancee and i got a double queen room. appliances are up-to-date. The bathroom is really cute. The rooms are clean an fit the whole "northern" like theme. Flat screen tv, wifi, what more could you need? Oh yeah!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I am an ex travel agent so I am very finicky and tend to analyze everything. First let me say I used priceline to book this motel for one night while visiting relatives. The price was amazing over a holiday weekend. The room was ready when we got there, and the front desk staff was very helpful and efficient in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Minnesota City, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Room wasn't ready when we got there, and the service was extremely horrible and rude. Room wasn't very clean, faucet leaked, and was out dated. I would rather save my money and sleep in the car than go back there

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis T, Owner at Black Bear Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a bad experience. We have recently renovated the property, and have replaced virtually everything in the rooms. We don't claim to be a fancy top notch hotel, as to why our prices are the lowest around. I invite you to come back to the property as we have renovated and check out all the improvements,... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I rented the room i had for 8 das while i was in the area on business. My wife scheduled the room for the two of us. One day i have a knock on the door saying our room is horrible and we had to clean it to which i did cause i did have some clothes on the floor.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Travis T, Owner at Black Bear Motel, responded to this review

I wish we could of had a better ending here, but lack of respect toward myself, staff & property I had no choice but to ask you to leave! The room was atrocious! We are a motel, not an apartment. We tried many times to reason with you to try get the room where we could at least walk in... More

Do you own or manage Black Bear Motel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Black Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Motel

Address: 201 South 1st Street, Cameron, WI 54822
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cameron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Bear Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Black Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Cameron

5 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (1)
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (5)
Room/suite (3)
Hotel & grounds (1)
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay