We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bear Motel

201 South 1st Street, Cameron, WI 54822
Hotel amenities
Black Bear Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cameron
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014
10jerry2014 Black River Falls, Wisconsin
Add Photo

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    6
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

I was staying with my company here for work and because one person made a mistake they didn't clean our rooms for the entire week we were there, didn't change towels or trash, went into our rooms when we clearly had our DND signs out. Even management would just let themselves in our rooms without permission just to snoop!I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis T, Owner at Black Bear Motel, responded to this review

I 'am sorry that your fellow workers couldn't abide by the rules, after you have been staying there for a period of time, and being from Wisconsin, you know that Wisconsin is smoke free! Also know that we try our best to clean your rooms, due to all your items in the room we couldn't clean your room without moving... More 

Black River Falls, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Because of my job,I have been staying at the Black Bear Motel for the past 3 months. My room is always clean and I have no complaints what so ever. I go home on weekends and have peace of mind when I return Sunday night my clean room will be there. Another handy thing for me is a very nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

My wife and I wanted to spend the night at Turtle Lake Casino, and as usual, they were booked solid. She found this hotel on Booking.Com since it was the closest accommodations she could find. It was only about 20-25 minutes away......very clean and comfortable....pleasantly surprised.....great value.....would stay here again if we wanted to have another casino weekend. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eau Claire, WI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Fine, older motel and a heckuva deal. The rooms are oversized, clean, and mine had a new recliner. Nice lady at the front desk and good eats right across the road. I'd stay there again in half a sec or less.

Was this review helpful? Yes
stuart, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Don't judge this motel by the exterior...looks just OK from the outside but the inside is immaculate! Sara, the owner, called us after we left to let us know we left our computer plug there. She is mailing it to us. Loved this quaint motel...and right across the street is a mom and pop restaurant with great local food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Excellent choice in Cameron, Wisconsin. We were greeted very kindly. The room was outstandingly immaculate. New mattresses carpet and furniture. The bathroom was very quaint, we loved it, and again outstandingly clean. It is close to many places to go fishing. The towns nearby have eerything one could need and to top it off there is the most amazing bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I booked a room here based on the positive review on tripadvisor. I was not disappointed! The room we were given was exceptionally clean and had been recently redone with new carpet and furniture. The double bed was comfy and the recliner was awesome. We were not there to hole-up and veg in front of the tube, but it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buffalo City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

When first arrival, room looked clean. Pulled sheets back, found 3 black hairs between sheets. Would not sleep in that. 2nd bed, found what looked like blood smear on underside of bedspread. Gross. Towels were stained. Looked like maybe coffee stains. Furniture looked nice. Coffee pot provided, but no coffee. Shampoo and conditioner provided, but no soap. No hair dryer.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travis T, Owner at Black Bear Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We have just put brand new sheets & towels in the rooms as you could see, since this property is a small independent motel we do not have 24 hour front desk as it states when you booked the room. Our normal office hours are 8am to 10pm, I am sure... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cameron hotels

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The room was clean, and had a comfortable bed. The staff was friendly and helpful. This was our second visit and we would definately stay again. It's a nice quiet place to stay. A liitle pricey for a 2-bed room, but not outrageous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Sara went above and beyond helping us secure a room for a family get together. They were fully booked when I called and I asked if I could please leave my phone number just in case a room became available. When they had a cancelation Sara called me and put us at ease. It was nice to know that she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay