We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ho-Chunk Gaming Black River Falls Hotel

W 9010 Highway 54 East, Black River Falls, WI 54615
Ho-Chunk Gaming Black River Falls Hotel
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
16
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very nice guest rooms, I found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable. We met frinds in Black River Falls for the weekend, the casino provided another option/activity each night. They had a great band on both Friday & Saturday night. I great get away destination, very close to the Twin Cities!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wabasha, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at hotel for one night while attending a concert at adjacent casino. Staff was friendly, price very reasonable, room clean everything we needed for a night away. Rooms on first floor were non smoking and hotel connected to casino. Free coffee in lobby. The food in casino snake bar was reasonable priced. Definitely would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tris H, Public Relations Manager at Ho-Chunk Gaming Black River Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laurie M., Thank you for the nice review! We hope you enjoyed yourself at the Diamond Rio concert and look forward to your return in the near future! More 

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Have been to this hotel and casino a few times and the staff are always friendly. The food is good and not costly. The bar has music on some nights. The room is clean and nice. casino open 24 hours a day. I will be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fox Lake, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

The hotel was not terrible, but not the best either. It was convenient for us because we specifically went there for the casino. Our room was a smoke free room, yet other rooms on that floor could smoke so it didn't matter. The walls were paper thin so we could hear conversations happening in other rooms. The toilet wouldn't stop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eau Claire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was nice, it could use some updates. The pool was small. Our room was nice but some of the bathroom walls were falling apart. We had the buffet and its was a disappointment. It was 20$ a person and there wasn't any food every time we went up to get food. We said something to the waitress and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North of Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We arrived at noon and as usual I think with a casino room, they were not ready. 3:00 is check in time so no issue there. However, we were told there was also no place to hold our bags so we could go in the casino without taking them back out to our car. It isn't along way, but had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mukwonago, WI
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

When calling to make a reservation, I was put on hold for an extremely long time while he talked to other people in the background and answered other calls. Then I was disconnected. I called back and after being put on hold AGAIN, I was finally connected to reservations. I gave her the date I wanted to stay and she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Black River Falls hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stayed a Friday night. All employee were friendly and the rooms were fine. $94 for the room with player card discount with $3 each for food $10 each to gamble. But beware... with the Casino Server based operating system you may as well just donate your money. Too many players complaining about losing with little entertainment value. The Bonus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tris H, Public Relations Manager at Ho-Chunk Gaming Black River Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Hello R A! We are glad you stayed with us and were happy with most items. We do want to let you and anyone else who may have read your review know that we do not have a Server-Based System, in fact, it is not even approved to be used in Wisconsin. We have to strictly follow Federal, State and... More 

Gresham, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

My sister and I choose this place as it was equal distance for both of us to drive for a sister get-away. There are six Ho Chunk properties in Wi and I like two of them - but I was painfully mistaken to think that this property would be as nice as the other two that I have frequented: Wisconsin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tris H, Public Relations Manager at Ho-Chunk Gaming Black River Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Patty! Thank you for the feedback about your stay, although very negative, we hope to use this as a way to ensure we get the upgrade we have been desperately asking for the last 10 years! This is finally in the works and we hope to have a grand opening in late 2016 if all goes well and we... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

My dad and I stayed here this past weekend while on a weekend motorcycle trip. I'm very disappointed that they are unaccommodating to motorcycles. Everywhere we go, we stay at casinos and they allow (insist most of the time) that we park up front on the sidewalk to the hotel/casino. Its safer and covered- which is important when a storm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities