We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Deer Valley Lodge & Golf

401 W. Industrial Dr, Barneveld, WI 53507
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
34
16
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Onalaska, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This year was the 4th straight year that we stayed at Deer Valley for our family Christmas. Once again we had a tremendous time. The water park is great for all of us, ranging from 3 - 70 years old. Its not huge park but there is plenty to do. The adults always enjoy a game of "horse" on one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were a little hesitant on whether to book a trip here or not based on some of the reviews, but since we had come and golfed here before, we decided to book the trip, and I'm so glad we did! Our experience definitely out-performed some of these reviews. The facility was decent, the staff was all unbelievably friendly, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oregon, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As I write this review, I'm torn about how to describe the Deer Valley Lodge. To the good, its location is a short hop from Madison, WI and Dubuque, IA. It overlooks a beautiful valley in Wisconsin's driftless region, the architecture of their facility is timeless, and the staff are friendly and attentive. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well-appointed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spillville, Iowa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really like Deer Valley Lodge. This was our 2nd year staying there, the only complaint I have is that every room should have a fridge in it. It a family orientated motel and that is one thing that would be great to have in each room. We booked our rooms for next year so hopefully the changes will happen.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waunakee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at Deer Valley Lodge over the Holiday and had a fantastic time. My family typically stays in the Dells but recently discovered Deer Valley Lodge and loved it. The prices are much much much less than the Dells, while the Water Park is smaller you can see your kids from anywhere in the Water Park.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

1st we paid for a suite with bunk beds. The side with bunk beds was the only place the dirty phone was located. 2nd the toilet needed to be plunged every time we used it (at 9:00 pm) they offered to switch us to a different room with not enough beds for 4 kids and 2 adults due to toilet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dodgeville, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a "suite" for two nights. It was very disappointing. It had a king size bed only separated by a partial wall with a queen size bed. It had two tv's but being only separated by a partial wall we couldn't really hear what we were watching. They only have 39 stations and you really only had the choice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dvlmanager, Manager at Deer Valley Lodge & Golf, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The suite you booked is our least expensive suite ($10 more than a standard room) and many people enjoy this suite because the bathroom is located between the two beds providing added privacy and it also has two TV’s. We also offer Whirlpool, Bunk bed, and Two room suites as well. The light next to... More 

Portage
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We wanted a quick fmaily adventure over Christmas break but wanted to avoid the crowds in the Dells. We decided on DVL and going to Cave of the Mounds which is just a few minutes down the road. The price at DVL was great for a winter break- be careful when choosing your days though- the waterslides aren't always open,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dvlmanager, Manager at Deer Valley Lodge & Golf, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us your feedback. It is greatly appreciated and nice to hear our efforts are appreciated. We look forward to seeing you next time. Thank you again and Have a great day Travis More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

NO refridge/microwave in room, tube TV, no travel soaps but a dispenser in the shower whihc had the same sopa in both the shampoo & body wash, worn/torn comforters & mattress, cold pool (water & room in general), over chlorinated, Lobby was never lit (although there is a beautiful antler chandelier), breakfast was less than desireable, mild sitting on counter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dvlmanager, Manager at Deer Valley Lodge & Golf, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We were concerned to learn we did not completely fulfill your expectations as we strive to provide a positive experience for all our guests. We strive to always improve our guest's experience and feedback plays a key role in this process. We are sorry to hear you... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

The breakfast was awful! There was hardly any protein and the carbs were marginal at best. There was a small chafing dish with sausage - but it looked disgusting - and I couldn't do it. The doughnuts were frozen and the bread was stale. It's not like there isn't a kitchen onsite, with minimal effort they could do so much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dvlmanager, Manager at Deer Valley Lodge & Golf, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We were concerned to learn we did not completely fulfill your expectations as we strive to provide a positive experience for all our guests. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guest's experiences play a key role in this continuous process. The breakfast... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Deer Valley Lodge & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Valley Lodge & Golf

Address: 401 W. Industrial Dr, Barneveld, WI 53507
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Barneveld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Deer Valley Lodge & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf Hotel Barneveld
Deer Valley Lodge And Golf
Deer Valley Hotel

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay