We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The McLure Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1200 Market Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The McLure Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The McLure Hotel
Add Photo

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    19
    20
    27
    23
See reviews for
19
32
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Dandenong, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you haven't decided yet...don't pick the Knights Inn, we walked past twice, and both times the 'residents' were having colourful loud And aggressive discussions audible from the river bank. It looks horrid too However back to the McClure- Upon arrival the receptionist was efficient friendly and sorted us out quite well. The room we had was adequate, and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 days with family members. Older hotel, but it was a pleasant stay. Courteous and helpful staff,especially the maintenance man who came to our room after clocking out, to address our air conditioning problem - 10 min later had ice cold air! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheyenne, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is right off I-70 and near to Hwy 2 and Hwy 7. I'm working in the area and I have stayed here for months. The employee's are helpful and pleasant to be around. The hotel is a historical hotel with a unique past and they display pictures of their past in the hotel lobby. They have a lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at this hotel was during Memorial day weekend. It was a pleasure stop on the way to DC, Staff that we interacted with was pleasant, however the rooms were set for AC only, and it was 37 in the am when we were leaving. With no heat the room had a damp musty smell, and the Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

My stay at this hotel was in the first week of May. It was a business trip and the hotel was adequate. Staff was helpful, rooms clean. The a/c did give some problem during the first two days but was sorted out eventually. There could be a bit more variety added to the breakfast. All in all, my stay was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

To start the stay the nice lady girl at the front desk tells you where to get the hook ups.... Because her boyfriend is a street pharmacist. Next no matter what time you come into the hotel you have working girls that aren't remotely attractive trying to get you to buy them. The rooms look like my five year old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for you review. I'm going to speak with our front desk manager about our front desk agent. I apologize for the a/c, because we have a two-pipe system, we have some trouble adjusting the temperature for two weeks out of the year between winter and spring. We have made the adjustments to the chiller, so your a/c should work... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

There are several things one should consider when staying here: 1. If your told by hotel staff that she can get you anything you need because her boyfriend is a street pharmacist. Well Thanks! 2. If you don't mind the mine field of prostitues lurking around every corner and stinking up the elevators and hallways with their perfumes and body... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for you review. This review is not the typical response to our hotel. I have worked here for 4 years and have never been approached by a prostitute, asked for drugs, or anything related to this activity. The a/c is never really a problem, except during these couple of weeks before Spring. We have a two pipe system in... More 

Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

arrived at this horrible cigarette smelling hotel on saturday May 2nd to a hot room, when I called down from the room. The front desk clerk told me that they are on neutral. He then instructed me to open the room window if I needed more air. Staying here until thursday the 9th of may without any recourse. this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We dislike to see these types of reviews. During the late Spring weeks, we have to put our central air on neutral, because the weather can't make up it's mind, one day it will be cold and the next hot. During the winter we only have heat and in the summer we only have air... More 

Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

I never stayed I stopped and asked to see the nicest room they have on there first floor they have an average size room has older tv and furnishings. Smell older not fresh and clean like newer place. Lobby worth seeing. Not the place if u want and enjoyable weekend with your wife. The prices are cheap for a reason.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We have new flat screen televisions in all of our rooms, except if a television broke. Unfortunately, we have a couple of televisions that were broken at the time. All of rooms have new carpet and we just finished repainting the walls. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 via mobile

I had a wonderful experience living in Mclure for almost two months. People ar very nice there no matter the front desk person or other staff there. One day I lost my key in my room. Unfortunately I came back so late. The staff on duty help me out. In addition I like the free breakfast they provided including some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Meng! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we could accommodate you during your transition into the Wheeling area. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay