We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

2.5 of 5 402 2nd Avenue, SW, South Charleston, WV 25303
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    155
    55
    16
    13
See reviews for
173
75
27
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (470)
  • Mar-May only
    (107)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (153)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (149)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was the last person to check in that night and they greeted me by name as I came in. The room was excellent as always and I look forward to staying there again.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarbro, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

her attitude was very positive, she was very help full. I do a lot of traveling in the job that i have with the railroad, and she (Bonnie) has been the best receptionist I have come across in my 25yrs on my job. i have not ever partisapated in any kind of survey before, but I have never wanted to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Edwardl344, Bonnie is one of our super stars and we appreciate you recognizing her very helpful attitude. Thanks for your nice words and we appreciate your business. S Arnold, GM More

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Doing a 17 day motorcycle trip with a friend from Canada picked this hotel for our 2 nights in Charleston. Friendly and helpful (Bonnie) staff, quiet and easy access to downtown Charleston. I will stay again when in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Steve M, Wow, 17 days on a bike, bet you were pleased with our new beds. A good night sleep is essential to riding a bike all day. We appreciate the comments about our staff and look forward to a return visit when you are back in Charleston, WV. S Arnold, GM More

Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Wingate in South Charleston last week and was significantly impressed by the accommodations and the cleanliness of the property. The staff was very cordial and went out of their way to help. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the greater Charleston area.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear 713Kentk, Your comments are so appreciated. We sometimes feel people do not know what a gem of a hotel we have here in South Charleston, WV. Thank you for the mention about our staff, we are very proud of their work and attitudes. Please come visit us again soon, we appreciate your business. S Arnold, GM More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was nice and comfortable. There is a hot tub which had entirely too much chlorine (it burned your eyes) but kids are not allowed, but no other pool available that kids have access too. This hotel is very much more of a business oriented place. Descent stay, staff was very helpful, breakfast was not disappointing, but if you are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

candiedick, I'm so very sorry about the issue with our hot tub. I want you to know that it was taken care of quickly. We do have an arrangement with the Holiday Inn next door for our guests to use their pool. I am glad you found the staff helpful and that you had a good stay. More

Elkridge, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice Hotel about average for the price. Room was comfortable and if I get a decent sleep and a hot shower, I am satisfied. The bathroom does not have a fan and the ceiling is beginning to crack and peel because of the humidity and could use some repair. The shower head was a little weird since it no longer... More

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

drgwclone, Thank you so much for the compliments! I am sorry for the maintenance issues in your room and we will see to those immediately and get them corrected. I am so glad you got the chance to try Los Agaves, many of our staff enjoy it as well. I hope you will see us again soon to show you... More

Columbus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The hotel staff was helpful.The room was clean and spacious, however, the bathroom needed updating.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear ColumbusFuzzball, Glad you recognized our staff, they work hard to meet the needs of our guests. Yes, we are working towards the bathroom remodel soon. Thanks, S Arnold, GM More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Address: 402 2nd Avenue, SW, South Charleston, WV 25303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston Hotel South Charleston
Wingate South Charleston
Wingate Hotel Charleston

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay