We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Branch Inn Romney

Hotel website
64 Heritage Circle, Romney, WV 26757
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Romney
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
South Branch Inn Romney
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    14
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
9
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
NJ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in two adjoining rooms for two nights for a family wedding. The front desk was a little abrupt at check in, but much more friendly at all other times. One room was very musty smelling, like damp carpet?, to the point we walked over to the CVS for room freshener. I left a note for housekeeping as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You are changing almost $100 a night for 2 people in this area and you do not have a pool or a real hot breakfast? ? I think we will go a little further and go to winchester, pay less and get more. All you advertise is a fitness room.... I think I will pass on working out at that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

I stayed three nights, and found the South Branch to be comfortable, quiet, clean, and in a good location. The wi-fi was reliable and the room was well- appointed, though my refrigerator did not work. The many historical sites in the area are very interesting. The Main Street Restaurant, in front of the Inn, is excellent!!! However, the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Masontown, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Everything was great clean, friendly staff, big rooms and bathrooms, however the beds are very hard and uncomfortable. Was looking to get a good night sleep but the beds were so hard we tossed and turned all night, waking up to sore backs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry you had an issue with the beds in your room. I haven't had any complaints about beds. Is there anyway you can let us know what room you stayed in? This way, we can check it out. Thank you for letting us know. More 

Toms River
Level Contributor
136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We left Blackwater Falls late in the afternoon on way back to NJ. For some reason my car's GPS took us over Route 50 instead of Route 66 and as night fell on unlit, narrow mountain roads, we found no accommodations until we arrived in Romney. We didn't see the South Branch Inn sign which competes with the CVS sign... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. Your comments were greatly appreciated. I am sorry we were out of bagels. We normally have bagels on our breakfast and I can only assume that maybe we had run out. We hope you will visit Romney again soon. More 

Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Family members stayed here while we were at Koolwink. It was pleasant, clean and comfortable on a cool-to-cold weekend. The decor was uniquely created by them, not the usual prefab photos and "paintings", but rather the rooms are named for various historic locations in the WV area. It looks like the historical markers from these locations were "rubbed" onto large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Both the Moorefield and Romney hotels have all their rooms named after historic attractions in the area. The art work in the rooms, that are completed, have facts, photos, maps and other information for folks to read. We look forward to serving you again on future visits. More 

Schellsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We stayed one night. Our room was on third floor. Nice clean room with comfortable beds and clean bathroom as well. The desk people were nice and helpful. Continental breakfast was sufficient, not elaborate. We would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for the kinds words! We look forward to serving you again. More 

Culpeper, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed in 3 rooms for 2 nights at the South Branch Inn in Romney WV while we enjoyed the Potomac Eagle scenic train ride. I was quite surprised to find that this hotel is 10 years old! Everything here sparkles and shines. The staff is so friendly, the breakfast food is great, the beds are comfortable. The only down-side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We hope you will return soon. More 

Ridgeway, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Our stay at the South Branch Inn in Romney, WV was wonderful!!!! The rooms were clean. The staff was fantastic. Really enjoyed the continental breakfast. We could not have asked for a better experience. We will definitely stay there again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you! We look forward to your next visit. More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed two days in Romney, WV for a funeral. The hotel room was adequate. The building sets right next to a Food Lion, CVS, and a Burger King which is a plus. The Continental breakfast includes Sara Lee cellophane wrapped danishes, cold cereal, and sausage biscuits that you can microwave and a few other items. I was expecting a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during this difficult time. We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to Romney. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romney
0.0 mi away
Keyser Inn
Keyser Inn
#2 of 2 in Keyser
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Keyser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities