We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Branch Inn Romney

Hotel website
64 Heritage Circle, Romney, WV 26757
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Romney
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
South Branch Inn Romney
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Huntington, WV
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

Great place in the heart of Romney. Wonderful staff are welcoming and treat you like family. Rooms are clean and quiet for your comfort and relaxation. Close to down town Romney with easy access to restaurants. Community is friendly and welcoming to all.

Helpful?
Thank KCBilly
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! I will pass along your kind words to the staff. More 

Romney, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

This is a really nice facility with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. The rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable and the breakfast is good. They have meeting facilities and guest laundry. The internet works well and plenty of parking. The only negative aspect is that it is a bit pricey for this small community.

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! Hope you are able to visit the area again soon. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

Had my doubts on the drive in its kinda back in the wood but that's what I like this hotel is great. So clean they have to come in and clean every 3 days even if you don't need it no pool big conference room and breakfast at 5am. If you have to stay in Romney come to the south... More 

Helpful?
Thank motoman81888
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us! More 

NJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

We stayed in two adjoining rooms for two nights for a family wedding. The front desk was a little abrupt at check in, but much more friendly at all other times. One room was very musty smelling, like damp carpet?, to the point we walked over to the CVS for room freshener. I left a note for housekeeping as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dante81
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for also letting us know about any issues. I am glad the staff took care of everything for you. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

You are changing almost $100 a night for 2 people in this area and you do not have a pool or a real hot breakfast? ? I think we will go a little further and go to winchester, pay less and get more. All you advertise is a fitness room.... I think I will pass on working out at that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Hope you will give us another chance in the future. More 

Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

I stayed three nights, and found the South Branch to be comfortable, quiet, clean, and in a good location. The wi-fi was reliable and the room was well- appointed, though my refrigerator did not work. The many historical sites in the area are very interesting. The Main Street Restaurant, in front of the Inn, is excellent!!! However, the front desk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianBarb2014
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Masontown, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Everything was great clean, friendly staff, big rooms and bathrooms, however the beds are very hard and uncomfortable. Was looking to get a good night sleep but the beds were so hard we tossed and turned all night, waking up to sore backs.

Helpful?
1 Thank James B
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry you had an issue with the beds in your room. I haven't had any complaints about beds. Is there anyway you can let us know what room you stayed in? This way, we can check it out. Thank you for letting us know. More 

Toms River
Level Contributor
138 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We left Blackwater Falls late in the afternoon on way back to NJ. For some reason my car's GPS took us over Route 50 instead of Route 66 and as night fell on unlit, narrow mountain roads, we found no accommodations until we arrived in Romney. We didn't see the South Branch Inn sign which competes with the CVS sign... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NJ-Surfcrab
wvtraveler1968, Owner at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. Your comments were greatly appreciated. I am sorry we were out of bagels. We normally have bagels on our breakfast and I can only assume that maybe we had run out. We hope you will visit Romney again soon. More 

Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Family members stayed here while we were at Koolwink. It was pleasant, clean and comfortable on a cool-to-cold weekend. The decor was uniquely created by them, not the usual prefab photos and "paintings", but rather the rooms are named for various historic locations in the WV area. It looks like the historical markers from these locations were "rubbed" onto large... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank MELAOKSCPA
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Both the Moorefield and Romney hotels have all their rooms named after historic attractions in the area. The art work in the rooms, that are completed, have facts, photos, maps and other information for folks to read. We look forward to serving you again on future visits. More 

Schellsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We stayed one night. Our room was on third floor. Nice clean room with comfortable beds and clean bathroom as well. The desk people were nice and helpful. Continental breakfast was sufficient, not elaborate. We would stay there again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Romney, responded to this review

Thank you for the kinds words! We look forward to serving you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romney
0.0 mi away
Keyser Inn
Keyser Inn
#2 of 2 in Keyser
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Keyser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities