We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Martinsville Inn

166 North State Route 2, New Martinsville, WV 26155 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn New Martinsville)
Special Offer
Rates As Low As $89.95
New Martinsville Inn
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    9
    7
    21
See reviews for
11
3
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Manchester, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

First off I was glad to get a room as they only had one regular room available . The door lock was broken so there was no need for the key cards she gave me. I just opened the door and walked in. Thankfully the door could be locked from the inside. The mattress was old and swayed in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review

If you remember correctly, we told brought this to your attention, that this room has a lock problem, that is why we were not selling it, and you replied “as long as I can lock deadbolt from inside, I will be just fine and I am not going anywhere now”. Locks do malfunction, they are electronic locks, nothing mechanical in... More 

Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

This place is in desperate need of upgrading ! The rooms were ok, but the wall paper is peeling off the wall. Very dated place. Didn't use the pool, but it looked pretty decent. The Continental breakfast was not good. The English muffin broke the plastic knife when trying to slice it to. very stale.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review

That is true, that we need upgrading, but that comes with the “big” price tag, easy to suggest, but everyone knows their means and budget that if they can do it or not. We however, slowly, slowly upgrading different items in different rooms. There is a proverb which says “why fix, if not broken”! There is nothing in the rooms... More 

Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Okay... Where to start... Firstly only stayed in the hotel because of work. (Oil and gas). Got off work ready to take a shower and lay in bed after working 16.5 hours. We arrive, park on the side of the building and head inside. The side doors to the outside don't lock so you don't have to use your room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Betty L, General Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review

First of all, we apologize for your less than expected stay with us, but after reading the review, we can not figure out if written by a female or a male. Sleeping in a truck, run the truck all night by saving $93 does not imply that is written by a female, but again 5 ft height and 125 pound... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

I had to check in at approximately 2am. I was greeted by the most friendly woman I had seen in hours of traveling. Danielle was very accommodating, especially considering the wee hours I arrived. She explained everything I would need to know about the area. I was very comfortable. When I woke in the morning I was greeted by Jesse,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the 5 star out of 5 and thanks for your kind words about Danielle and Jesse. We are the friendliest hotel in this town, and you are welcome to stay here again when you needed it. Yes we are open 24 hours with a live person on duty over night. Thanks again! More 

Evans, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We came in town etc for the boat racing event on the river. We had been warned about the hotels in town. It is an older hotel, but there is NO excuse for the rooms not be clean. Hair in shower area, mirrors not clean, 2 different type hair in bed. Carpet in room was FILTHY, turned my sons socks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay was less than expected, but we have checked the comments sheet upon the day of your check out, and you did not say anything wrong with your stay. We have shampooed the entire hotel just recently, which we do every 2 months anyway. Breakfast can not be a joke where you have 4 types... More 

Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Danielle at the front desk. Everything else was just ok. For instance there were some random splashes on the wall, hoping someone just dropped a soda...not the nicest place I've stayed, but it got the job done and had everything we needed. From what I hear from the locals it is still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for giving us satisfactory remarks. Danielle appreciates your comments about her! We searched through all the hallways and now searching along all the rooms for those random splashes of soda, still couldn’t find them! They will be taken care of as soon as we notice them. Wish you should have told us at the time of check out, because... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed here for a week for business not by choice mind you. From the reviews I have read of this place, the manager seems to rather be combative than actually resolve the glaring issues here. The rooms and hotel are outdated and in dire need of upgrade. The breakfast in the morning is simply vending machine fare and should be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review

First of all I am not a “combative”. My job is to address all the concerns in the review and present our side of the picture, for the readers to make their minds, not just listening to the one side of the story. Our rooms are NOT outdated. We just do not have the flat screen TV’s in our regular... More 

Auburn Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel while in the area for business (oil & gas). The people giving this anything more than a poor rating must have extremely low standards. The only reason I stayed here was because it was one of two hotels within 40 miles and the local contact there said it was the better of the two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review

If you read this review from A-Z, you would be amazed that the guest did not leave any single issue in the hotel which he did not address!! Surprisingly not a single thing was satisfactory to the guest! Things can be wrong but not 100% otherwise guest was not going to stay all night and pay for the stay. There... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very nice staff, very nice rooms, and very nice amenities and environment!! Would recommend and would stay again :)!!!! Thanks new martinsville inn for providing me with such a wonderful place to stay and the pool and jet tub are nice as well ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review

Very many thanks for such a wonderful review from Atlanta, GA! Look like our continuous efforts have paid off. This is very much appreciated, because very few guests take the time to write good things about their stay however if anything goes wrong, they quickly write a bad review. This review made us proud of our hard work, and gives... More 

King William, Virginia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

There are not many options right in New Martinsville so this is your best bet of the several choices that you have available. Plus, there is Bob Evans and McDonalds right outside as well as a gas station. Then, you do also get to be right on the river and there's a nice walkway -- trying to make the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the good review and we appreciate that our staff is commended for what we do, and how we treat our worthy guests. We are always like this, that is why we get so much repeat business. We are the country people, not so much “reserved” like city people! Our beds are standard hotel beds. They cannot be very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities