We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
366 Boyers Avenue, Morgantown, WV 26505-3046
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    73
    34
    30
    49
See reviews for
105
57
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (248)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having had a terrible experience being woken up at a Best Western in Albany NY, I was merely trying to use up points so as to never use BW again, but I'm glad we stayed here! Staff was friendly and accommodating; there was chocolate at the desk; the view was great (and facing west so good for night owls); bathroom... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
bardstown, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

this is overall a great hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. we had a problem with the remote for the TV called front desk and they had a new one there before i could hang up phone pool was great a little hot in the pool area but the water was fine. could use a different bedding the mattress... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel was OK. I expected it to be a little nicer for the price. It could have been a little cleaner. It was very confusing trying to find the elevator to get to the rooms upstairs. They definitely need more signs. I expected a nicer breakfast too. Pretty small selection for the money. Beds were very firm. I called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear Debkinz, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Sincerely, Megan... More 

Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rolled into Morgantown, needing three rooms, with no reservations during Freshman orientation at the Univ. of West Virginia....just when we thought we would have to keep driving on down the road, we found that this Best Western had a few rooms left. The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby looks like it had been updated; the rooms could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear 1junebug, Thank you so much for your positive comments. We truly try to make every guests experience a positive one that they remember. We hope that on that next trip to Morgantown you will visit us again. Thank You, Megan Zebley Front Office Manager Best Western Mountaineer Inn Stay With People Who Care!® More 

Hurricane, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I could definitely tell there was some renovations that had taken place and overall the stay was pleasant. Hotel was clean, staff was friendly. The parking situation was a little slim but I believe the hotel happened to be at full capacity during my stay. The location is excellent for where I needed to be. There's a Sheetz gas station... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear Daniel R, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!... More 

Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best Western Mountaineer Inn, Morgantown, WV was very nicely decorated and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the check-in clerk. Have stayed there before, and will definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello J B, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I am very happy you found the rooms clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Now that you know where we are located, I hope you will stay with us again if you return to Morgantown , we appreciate your feedback. Have a great day. Sincerely, Megan... More 

Orrville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall, I was very pleased with this hotel. There were a few things that could use tweaking, but you will find that with any hotel. This trip was for my 89 year old grandmother. We were taking her home for the last time. She has the beginnings of dementia and is somewhat forgetful. She had not been home in 35... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Best Western Mountaineer Inn on TripAdvisor. We are extremely disappointed to read of your experience, as we hold ourselves to housekeeping standards above the normal industry standard. Please accept our apologies for the less than acceptable condition of your room. We will have our Director of Housekeeping address the issues... More 

Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Mountaineer Inn is antiquated, poorly-maintained, and ready for the wrecking ball. Musty odor in room, dingy and dimly-lit, with cheap old spring mattress. Breakfast is weak. A truly poor value at any price.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear Phil, I apologize for the room issues you experienced during your visit. I have shared your experience with our Director of Housekeeping to review with their associates. Thank you for sharing this feedback on TripAdvisor. Megan Zebley Front Office Manager Best Western Mountaineer Inn Stay With People Who Care® More 

Travelers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So this is older, pedestrian, and I'm sure a lot of beer has been consumed here. Floors, elevator a bit dirty, but the room was clean. First rm we got had an a/c fan that was cranky and noisy - got a new, quieter rm rt away. Bed was pretty good, TV was good, wifi ok, but the bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate the feedback and always take it into consideration for the future of our property. I do understand that our property is a little bit on the old side, however we are currently going under complete renovations to update the property for our guests. Please be patient with us... More 

Las Vegas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I was in Morgantown because my mother was in the hospital there. The staff was very sympathetic and helpful and did everything they could to facilitate my stay. They even gave me a special rate because of the situation.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

I am so happy to hear that your experience at the Best Western Mountaineer Inn was great! We hope that the next time you are in the city we will see you again! Thank you for taking your time to write to us. Warm Wishes, Megan Zebley Best Western Mountaineer Inn Stay With People Who Care!® More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay