We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Morgantown hotels

Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Saratoga Ave., Morgantown, WV 26505
Hotel amenities
Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center to your Saves list
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    15
    13
    90
See reviews for
42
22
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here (very briefly) for a WVU game in October. We should've known what we were in for based on the fact that this "hotel" was the only one in the area with any vacancies. Granted the front desk staff were friendly enough, and it was located close to the university, this place was an absolute dump. I don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHotelM, Manager at Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center, responded to this review

We are deeply distressed to discover the lapse in service you experienced during your recent stay. I assure you that each issue mentioned is being investigated and addressed and we thank you for taking the time to point out the areas where we can improve upon the guest experience. We hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies and return... More 

Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needed a place to stay for the night while traveling further South. The room was disgusting, smelled of smoke, and was very dirty. Would have thought that a place this close to the University campus would have been a better place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMHotelM, Manager at Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service, accommodations and hospitality. These issues with the cleanliness and smell of our room are being addressed with our staff and management. We do thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we assure you that we are... More 

Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Went to Morgantown to pick up my grand daughter for her Thanksgiving break. They also had a football game the same day and this was one of the only places that had a room. The location of the hotel is close to WVA University campus so this is the one we picked. Next time I will stay anywhere but here.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMHotelM, Manager at Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center, responded to this review

It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we appreciate that you've informed us of a need to address housekeeping policies and... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

Disgusting! Greeted in the room by the stench of mildew. Shoes made a sticking sound as we walked across the laminate floor. But the worst part was pulling back the covers at night to find the comforter covered with blood and semen stains. We slept in our clothes on top of the sheets and left at daybreak. I should have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMHotelM, Manager at Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center, responded to this review

We regret to hear about your recent experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to meet your expectations regarding the overall cleanliness of your room and our hotel rates during your visit. We assure you that we will be working hard to address this issue. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 via mobile

Football weekends cause surge pricing and limited hotel options. We had to stay here after a football game, and it was gross. First of all, this is a MOTEL not a hotel. The comforter had a cigarette burn, the bathroom had a piece of the wall chipped off and our non-smoking room smelled of smoke. The floor is fake wood... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHotelM, Manager at Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. It is of the highest importance that... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Room was not very clean and smelled WAY too "perfumey". People with asthma stay far away! Fridge was dirty. Drawer fronts were hanging off dresser, continental breakfast wasn't very good. Staff friendly and helpful. Will need to drive for food as there are no close restaurants or fast food places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHotelM, Manager at Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as friendly and helpful. However, I wish that your expectations had been exceeded in comfort, cleanliness, convenience, and quality amenities. We also hope that you will be far more impressed with our improved accommodations and services during your next... More 

Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

If you've endures the psychological torment of having a bedbug infestation, I need not say more. But...I will say more: dirty, smelly (smoke, in a "non-smoking" room), cigarette burns in the bedspreads, etc. I am all about being economical, but this place was just awful. I'm SO greatful that I had the presence of mind to do a bedbug check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHotelM, Manager at Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center, responded to this review

Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we appreciate that you've informed us of a need to address housekeeping policies and procedures. I am so sorry for the unfortunate incident that you experienced regarding the visit of unwelcome pests in your guest room. We take all reports of lacking service and issues with amenities and accommodations... More 

Leavenworth, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

My two former college buddies and I chose this place solely based on their promise to provide a roll away bed for our room. They did not deliver on their promise. We were told that our request was lost by other staff members. Upon asking for a refund we were told the best they could do was refund 50% -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMHotelM, Manager at Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according... More 

Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We stayed overnight in Morgantown on our way down to Myrtle Beach. The hotel room was awful. With the high humidity, the linoleum floors were like a skating rink which wasn't very safe when trying to walk around. It also got especially bad when you had a shower and tried to walk around afterwards. You certainly would need to keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHotelM, Manager at Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center, responded to this review

I deeply regret to learn that you found this experience to be so terrible due to issues that should have been immediately addressed. I am also sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy the breakfast options, and I want to let you know that we take your comments to heart and are reconsidering expanding the available choices. Know... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

The room we had looked to have been recently updated and fashioned in the eco friendly style that some hotels have gone to. Bright walls dark floors no carpeting which is kind of nice. However, it could stand a regular mopping or swifter. Having read previous reviews I wore black socks to start out. Having read previous reviews I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHotelM, Manager at Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center, responded to this review

I regret to discover that you weren't thoroughly impressed with us during your most recent stay. I assure you that we are continuously improving upon our services and accommodations while addressing our policies and procedures for minimizing and attending to these situations. I hope you will change your mind about seeking out new accommodations in the area and that you'll... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center

Address: 1400 Saratoga Ave., Morgantown, WV 26505
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Morgantown and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay