We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals

Hotel website
Opossum Creek Road, Lansing, WV
Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
There are newer reviews for Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals
See the most recent reviews
warren
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Finally got around to putting in a review, five months later. Exceptionally clean and comfortable. Have everything you need, hot tub, kitchen, bathroom, complementary washer and dryer close by, plenty of space, fireplace, television, etc. Great, inviting atmosphere, well designed. The staff was very polite and respectful and helped us out when we needed it. This is a great place,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very private cabin with a great location - close to New River Gorge National River and the lovely little town of Fayetteville, WV. Lots of great restaurants there! Our cabin, El Gordo, was completely surrounded by woods - beautiful! Loved the screened porch and hot tub. Cookies waiting for us when we arrived! The cabin has 3 separate bedrooms on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Amazingly peaceful & beautiful place.. but we got blamed for breaking a hinge on the screen door, and breaking a railing that was already broken when we got there. So that equals an automatic charge that was the same as our 2 day stay. So we got charged twice. We broke nothing! Do not trust these people! It's a shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Geoff H, Owner at Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals, responded to this review

We are glad Frank R liked everything about the cabins. We are disappointed he did not contest the damages with us but choose to post his displeasure here. We do not have groups damage the cabins very often many times it is an accident and if our guests tell us about it we have often let it slide. In this... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had a very relaxing few days between Christmas and New Years here. Every cabin has it's own hot tub. Ours was on a screened porch facing nothing but forest. It snowed lightly the first night and it was so fantastic to be in the hot tub with the snow falling drifting down outside. The warm inside of the cabin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Albany, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Meadows (and Cabin 1 for overflow) for a large family reunion with 6 families ranging in ages from 6 - 80 years. After much searching on the internet, I found this place. Everyone was very happy with the clean and modern accommodations. The spacious family and dining areas allowed everyone to eat together, socialize... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were here last year for my friend's bachelor party, had a great time, so we came back to the same cabin, "el gordo". Same great experience! The owners had cookies ready for us again, which sounds unspectacular, but after driving 7.5 hrs, they are really a great surprise. The cabin is everything we wanted in amenities and room. Super... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The owners definitely put a lot of thought & care into the property. They thought of many conveniences. One example is there are plenty of hooks to hang clothes. One thing I always check out is the carpeting - it was clean & looked fairly new. Adventures on the Gorge is only 10 minutes away for whitewater rafting. The New... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed at Opossum Creek in 2004. When we planned a return trip to WV, no doubt, we wanted to stay at Opossum Creek again. It was even better the second time around. I am itching to go back & stay again! The hosts are gracious, the cabins are cozy, the environment is exceptional! I would definitely recommend Opossum Creek... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Avilla, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at cabin 2 and had a great time. There were four adults and two teenage boys. Our purpose was to hang out and then ski for a couple days. When we arrived there was a lot snow that was absolutely beautiful. The hot tub had been changed out the day of our arrival so was freezing until the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Jim and Keith have a great set up for Corporate meetings. The facilities are intimate and minutes from terrific team activites in the New River Gorge. We held meetings in the morning and then did Zip Lining and Rafting in the afternoon. This kept the meeting time really focused and allowed plenty of "follow up" discussion while doing the activities.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities