We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Huntington University Area

2.5 of 5 177 Kinetic Dr, Huntington, WV 25701
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    33
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
60
31
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (157)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Evans, GA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel and helpful staff. Minor error on the reservation was corrected quickly and without hesitation. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast convenient and old quality. Easy to access from the Interstate (I-64) and a quick drive to downtown and Marshall University. Would stay there again when visiting Huntington.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Huntington University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate the nice comments and will forward them to my staff. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and our convenient access from the interstate. Thank you, again! More 

Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
81 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my third time staying at this hotel and it's great every time. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. My room is always quiet and the bed is very comfortable. The rooms are always clean. The hotel still has the new hotel smell. I won't stay any where else in Huntington.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Huntington University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property and for such nice comments. I am very happy that our staff gave you the service your deserve! Also, I appreciate the comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel. We strive to be the best hotel in Huntington and comments such as yours show us that our hard work is paying off. Thank you... More 

Odenton, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
7 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We travel from Maryland to Kentucky & have tried many hotels along the way but this one is it. The desk clerk was friendly & helpful (as many are not). The room was beautifully appointed & very clean. The bathroom was beautiful & spacious-with a large walk-in shower. The breakfast bar was fresher, cleaner, & better maintained than any I've... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Huntington University Area, responded to this review

What a nice review! I sincerely appreciate that you took the time to respond and for the nice compliments. I am so happy that our hotel work well for you and hope to meet you next time you are in Huntington! More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This started as a disaster. I stayed at this location before the Marshall Marathon and upon check in thought the hotel was clean, newer, decent lobby and check in was smooth. However, i got to room and i needed an addition comforter, so when I called down they said all theyhad was the hospital grade blanket in the closet which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Huntington University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and for the comments. I am very grateful that my staff accommodated your needs but am very puzzled by the issues you encountered. First, I apologize for the television service. Thankfully, it was taken care of for you. Secondly, I apologize for the comforter comment. I assure you, we have plenty on hand to accommodate... More 

Vincennes, Indiana
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Stayed here while traveling to NC. Checked in late, found the property to be very nice although the night clerk (it was about midnight) seemed like we were bothering him and was very unfriendly. The room was very nice and the breakfast was good and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Huntington University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and the nice comments. I apologize for the Guest Service Representative. I will discuss your review with him and hopefully, it will help him to see his service skills through the guest perspective. Comments such as yours help me to see where I need to improve. It is my goal to offer the best customer... More 

Fariview, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I've stayed in this Hampton a few times and each time it's been noisy. The walls and vent system seem to be infereior to other Hamptons. The staff are very nice. The food choices near the hotel location is very poor.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jackie H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Huntington University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Hopefully, if you decide to give us another try, I can place you in an area of the hotel that would work better for you. Thank you again for your comments. More 

Woodbridge, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I had returned to Huntington after being away for more than 40 years. I graduated in 1971 and came back to run the 1/2 marathon at Marshall. My friends were killed in the fateful plane crash in 1970; so this was a memorable trip. The staff at Hampton Inn was very helpful and made the stay most comfy. The breakfast... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Huntington University Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate the nice comments. It must have been a very emotional visit and I am very thankful that we could make the trip easier for you. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I checked into the Hampton hoping for a restful sleep after a six hour drive into town for business. Unfortunately I was in for a rude surprise. Upon entering my room and proceeding to close the curtains, I heard buzzing...it was a fly so I killed it. A few mins later I heard buzzing again, and it was another fly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Huntington University Area, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you had flies in your room. This is the first time we have ever had this issue and I imagine it was quite distressing to you. I also apologize that I wasn't able to reach you to apologize in person. Hopefully, you have received credit for your stay by now. If not, please call me... More 

Wappapello MO, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I had come to this city to run the Marshall University Marathon and Half Marathon. The hotel was within 10 minutes of the event and their staff was extremely helpful in giving directions. We also received a great discount since we were there for the running event.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Huntington University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property. I appreciate the nice comments and hope you choose us again if you come to Huntington! More 

Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

The staff was courteous and helpful. The hotel was nice and clean. I was given a late check out after the marathon I was in town for and they did not rush me at all. The best post race late checkout I've ever had.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Huntington University Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much! I appreciate the nice review and will forward your comments to my staff. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampton Inn Huntington University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Huntington University Area

Address: 177 Kinetic Dr, Huntington, WV 25701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Huntington University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Huntington University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay