We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins

Hotel website
Route 1, Box 115, Elkins, WV 26241-9713
Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    14
    7
    11
See reviews for
26
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
There are newer reviews for Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Export, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My husband and I have been staying here for the past 2.5 years, since my son has been in college in Elkins and we could not ask for a nicer place. Rooms are clean, service is great. We also take our dog with us. In the spring we stay at least 4-5 weekends. Calling ahead has allowed us the convenience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lunadawg2004, Public Relations Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! More 

Union
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I called on July 20, 2011 and made resrevations for 2 nights for July 29 & 30.I had to pay 100. advance by check ONLY they said so I mailed it out on July 21. On July 23 I broke my foot and was in hospital. I called them on July 25. to tell them I could not come those... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lunadawg2004, Public Relations Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

I am sorry for your misfortune prior to your vacation. We are a very small family run inn and we do not overbook as larger hotels and resorts will do to plan for cancellations. Our cancellation policy states that a refund WILL be made for personal emergencies if we are able to re-rent the accommodations for each night that it... More 

Travelers are raving about these Elkins hotels

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at The Laurel House property which advertised 5 bedrooms, 3 full baths, 3 color tvs and a hot tub. There was only one working television, one window air conditioning unit for the entire house which was located in one of the guest rooms on the main floor. The 2nd floor bedrooms and bathroom were not air conditioned. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
search&rescue, Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

The Laurel Place, almost 4,000 sq ft, is a 5 bedroom w/ 3 full baths for which their group paid $44 per person/per night. What is not mentioned, is it has a huge kitchen, 2 large living areas, library, game room w/pool table, spacious outdoor decks, 7ft hot tub w' furnished screen porch, dog kennelsw/ runs. The hot tub's santiation... More 

Marietta, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

My father and I stayed in one of the efficiency rooms so that we could hunt and fish in local public recreation areas. The room perfectly suited our needs. However, when we checked in we were not told that the office would not be open until we checked out 4 days later. Cleaning personel did not service our room every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
search&rescue, Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this review

We only have seven rooms. I don't know how anyone could/would expect someone to be on premise 24/7. Considering our limited number of employees, we do a terrific job monitoring phone calls. If we miss a call, to run an errand we always check our inbound 'missed' calls. The courtesy phone which is accessible 24/7 rolls over to our main... More 

Latrobe, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

Don't come here looking for amusement parks and constant happenings. This place is for relaxing with family and friends and staying low key. It has been a long time since I've been on such a relaxing getaway...enjoyed the fireplace and hot tub immensely...we will be back. We stayed in a cabin right on the river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed at the River Edge Cabin for our anniversary. Many great points about this cabin - clean, clean, clean - I felt very comfortable sitting on the furniture and crawling between the sheets. Remember, you are in the mountains and a in a cabin - not a 5 star hotel. After reading some of the reviews, I'm thinking some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greensburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I booked the trip prior to seeing any reviews, and once I saw the reviews I was a bit skeptical on what I would find when arriving. I was pleasantly surprised with what I found. If you are looking for a '5 star out of this world luxurious lodge' this is not the place, however if you are looking for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DC area
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

Cheat River Lodge offers fully furnished cabins on the banks of the Cheat River. All cabins have a hot tub built into a deck. The cabins are cozy and well-furnished with fireplace or wood stove. The setting on the river is lovely. We like to come out, take a hike in the adjacent national forest, and then eat a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pittsburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

It was a lovely place to stay for a few days. The location was fantastic. Who can top WV in the fall? We stayed one night at the lodge and then two additional nights at the Big Poplar. Our night at the lodge left a lot to be desired......the room while clean was in need of some repairs, there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is a charming little inn on the river. Nice dining inside and on a deck outside. I've never been in a room, but I understand they are cute and clean. They have a variety of small cottages/cabins to rent - some with hottubs outside on the deck. I've stayed in two -- the tree house (closer for walking to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities