We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Charleston East

6311 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 Charleston East
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Tri-Cities, Washington
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My 19 year old son is driving cross country with his young family (wife and 5 month old daughter) to Virginia Beach, VA and attempted to get a room for the night. He showed military ID, was asked for state ID and upon doing the math, the front desk clerk discovered that he was under 21 and denied him a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea U
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Old and run down, and literally 50 feet from the Interstate, so very noisy, but not much the staff can do about that. BUT, they can watch out for the clientele they rent to. Right across the street from a truck stop, which I watched my neighbor go "work" at during the day, then at night she was "working" in... More 

Helpful?
Thank SteelToe365

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

For financial reasons, our family stayed there at least twice yearly for about 8 years. The "non-smoking" rooms simply are not. Every room we were ever in, even after they refurbished it a few years back, smelled like cigarette smoke, just some were worse than others. In the past few years we have spent the extra $10/night and stayed at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ti H
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

Booked a Non-Smoking room. The room she gave us REEKED of smoke and had no Frig or Microwave. We told her we wanted another room. She got us one that had a Frig and Microwave but it STILL smelled of smoke also. Then the phone didn't work, and they had to get us another one. Then my wife screamed when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Randy T
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Charleston East, responded to this review

Randy, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe. Our staff aims to provide the highest level... More 

Kimball, Michigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

The price for this hotel definitely attracted me - it was only $50(including tax) for one night. The room was clean and did not have an odd smell of any sort. The floor was not carpet, so it was fairly slippery when wet. The front desk attendant was very friendly and accomodating. The bed was comfortable. The television did not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn K
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015 via mobile

This is a horrible place to land! The first room the bed had stains on it and it smelled of urine. The second room still had stained bedding. Unfortunately, we paid before we saw either room and they girl told us we would not be refunded for 7 business days. We are on our way to bury my dad with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kellie T
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Charleston East, responded to this review

Dear Kellie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues and noise concerns you describe. We are proud of our award winning Phoenix room redesign featuring wood-effect laminate floors, but are sorry to hear you did not enjoy... More 

Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

If you have stayed in a Motel 6 you already know what the rooms in this property are like. It has the standard laminate floors and minimal furnishings. The television is an old deep-screen model. With some budget chains you will regularly encounter run down rooms in serious need of an update. Motel 6 rooms are fairly consistent and generally... More 

Helpful?
Thank llee611838
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015 via mobile

On our way to a family funeral and stopped here along the way. The room was newly renovated and the staff was awesome! Very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, there was plenty of hot water and the towels were thick. We enjoyed our stay and would go back!

Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

Staff was nice. Room was clean. The rubber floor was weird but OK. From the backrooms the toll road is literally out the window so it was kinda noisy. Worth it for under 50 bucks. Felt safe the hole time.

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
302 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Desk Clerk (Kelly I believe) was very nice and fast. Room had newer floors, and appeared updated. What I can't get over is the filth of the towels. I don't believe they'd been cleaned at all. One had lipstick and an abundance of hair. The next had an abundance of hair.

Helpful?
Thank WarEglTX
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Charleston East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We sincerely... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
5.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
6.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 24 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay