We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Hotel website
Hotel deals
107 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston\/Kanawha City
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
West Logan, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided before super storm Jonas came thru to stay at this motel. So glad we did!! Room was very nice, clean and the sofa was an added plus in the room. The best part of my stay was the staff. I was so impressed with them. Every member of the staff that I came in contact with was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank L C
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The storm was quite an ordeal and we are happy that you had a great experience. We wanted to ensure all of are guest were taken care of and if it meant opening up our kitchen to get you... More 

Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Close to I-77, close to restaurants! The hotel was warm and the staff was friendly. Hot tub a nd indoor heated pool. Everything was clean and nice. Breakfast ends at 9 during the week. We missed it but had yogurt, juice and cereal and the staff offered to bring back out some biscuits and gravy if we wanted it. Just... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrannySugar
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear GrannySugar, Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of your stay. We are happy you were able to enjoy the amenities of the hotel and great restaurants and shops nearby. I am happy to hear that my staff help you when you missed the breakfast. We strive to have a Great Hotel that Guest Love.... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I took my Mother to visit my brother who was in CAMC Memorial Hospital. I called ahead to see if they had a handicap room available and the rate. To my surprise, when we arrived the quote was lower because we were hospital visitors. Our room was on the first floor, near the room where they washed towels and sheets.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy P
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear JudyP, Thank you for taking the time to giving us your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the issues you had while you were here. We did have to install a new washer, but I am sorry that we did not contact you ahead of time, so you would be prepared for the... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed in Holiday Inn Express hotels in many different locations and this was by far the worst night's sleep I have ever had. This property is right on the highway interchange and was incredibly noisy the entire night. I was told that the highway side was the only side that has 2 queen beds, so the king rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank polygirl86
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear polygirl86; Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize that you did not have a good nights sleep while you were here. We do at time get complaints regarding the highway noise when there is heavy traffic on the highway. We do offer complimentary earplugs for those... More 

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in room 305 for New Years Eve. I reserved under the AAA rate but I wasn't asked for the card. No problems with the room. It was very clean. There was only one stray hair in the shower and two blood splatters on the wall near the trashcan. Lots of outlets. The Keurig is a nice touch. Some... More 

Helpful?
Thank mgoudy85
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear mgoudy85, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise disturbances that you experienced during your stay due to the outside environment. We do not have any issue in this area, we think it was noise due to the New Years celebrations. Thank you for bringing up... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Evening staff was awesome.When it came to check out in the morning our bill did not include our discount.Hotel manager had an emergency so was not on site(we were told she would return within 30 minutes,no one on site was able to make corrections)we ending up waiting over an hour for her to return and correct our bill,causing us to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana L
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Diana L, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered regarding your final bill. Although emergencies happen, you should not have had to wait over for an hour for resolution. I am happy to hear that the problem was corrected before you continued your... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

The people in the hotel and the entire town are unbelievably nice and helpful. The room was legitimately clean and The breakfast was great. I have zero complaints. Who new West Virginia had this secret little world going on there. We do now, I think my wife wants to move there permanently.

Helpful?
Thank JLJGA
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear JLJGA, Thank you for your wonderful comments on your stay here in Charleston and about our hotel. It really is a nice place to live. We a happy you had a nice visit it's something our staff take great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. More 

Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

The beauty of Holiday Inn Express is you know what to expect. The room was clean and comfortable and reasonable. I never did figure out how to regulate the heat so just turned it off and was comfortable with the supplied bedding. There are many restaurants close by from fast food to sit down dining. The staff was pleasant and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim R
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Jim R, Thank you for staying with us! We are happy that you enjoyed your room and our Express Smart breakfast.. We take pride in providing a hotel that guest love and providing great customer service. We hope that if you are in the area, you will choose to stay with us again! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

We pulled in fairly late. Staff was very welcoming and nice. Offered us a daily paper. Room was clean other than dust build up behind furniture. Fold out couch was nice for one of my young teens. Breakfast was ok. Did have some hot items and a variety of continental items. Got up at 7am to take shower and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cora B
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Cora B, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet your expectations with regards to your room accommodations and the lack of hot water. We do appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We are happy to hear that the... More 

McKeesport, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

Let me start saying the staff was pretty nice. I got in very late because it is a 4 hour drive from Pittsburgh to Charelston. I called a head to give them the heads up that I would be there after midnight and they were very nice. When I got in I was checked in quickly and headed to my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shanna M
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Shanna M; Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience of switching rooms after a long travel day due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I am happy to hear the rest of your stay went smoothly and you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
5.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay