We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Charleston hotels

Charleston Plaza Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
57%
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Charleston
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
walker2980 Adolphus, Kentucky
  • Overview
  • Reviews (133)
  • Photos (41)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    30
    20
    10
See reviews for
29
32
7
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adolphus, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice and clean..could be a few dollars cheaper. Need to sumthin about people hangin around in the parking lot all hours of the night. Rooms where clean..nice flat screen tv..it should be mandatory for all to hv flat screens now.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunbar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here with my fiancé while he was testing for a job. So scary. The hallways smelled like urine and there were sketchy people walking around. The room was dingy and dirty. There were stains on the bedding and the bathroom was dingy. This hotel made me not want to move to Charleston.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Defiance, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I've stayed here several times over a 6 yr span. The property is older and now appears it is no longer a Fairfield Inn. Our room was OK, but the bed may be too soft for your liking. Bathroom vanity definitely small if you or a companion have a makeup case. Breakfast was good with plenty of seating and standard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel is definitely showing it's age. Furniture is worn and upholstery not the cleanest. Carpet along the walls was dirty. No frig/microwave. However, we found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast area was large with access to coffee/hot chocolate whenever you like. Fresh baked cookies in the lobby. Good breakfast. If you can get past... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed one night in the hotel in early March. Rated 3 diamonds by AAA, probably 2.5 diamonds in reality. Room was showing its age. It is a couple of blocks to walk to any stores or restaurants. We were approached twice, once in the hotel parking lot, by beggars. Staff was very helpful and provided a great reference for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belton, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Property was nice, people were good, room was average. I would stay there again but if there were other options I would check them out. This is just a average place to stay, nothing bad to say but nothing great stood out either. pretty much middle of the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is definitely worn around the edges, and I would suggest being very aware of your surroundings. It has a great location if you have business at the hospital or the Arts Center. You do not have much choice of restaurants within walking distance and if you are not in a group you probably would not want to walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This place has to be a old Marriott hotel that finally wore out and instead of tearing it down, Marriott converted it into a Fairfield Inn. Big mistake. The property is old and worn, the rooms and baths are really small, the décor is dated, and the hallways stink. Can't believe that Marriott would try to pass this place off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Charleston WV was a convenient in between spot to meet with some of our family. This hotel was affordable and located in the heart of the city. The facilities are showing a little wear and tear although the hotel was near and tidy. Caring and helpful staff that was always ready to help.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
44 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is located in an area of the city that does not appear safe due to several "mission properties" nearby and lots of loiterers. I worried about my car and when I walked to the Soho restaurant my person. The hallways are dark and cold and the general décor is shabby. The rate is high given the poor elevators,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

James C, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback. I apologize that you did not feel safe during your walk to SOHOs but can assure you we have never had any security issues at this location. I am glad you enjoyed the size of your room. If you would like to discuss... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
136

See which rooms travelers prefer