We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Charleston hotels

Charleston Plaza Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Save Saved
You added Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
57%
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Charleston
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Nomad062_10 Omaha, Nebraska
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    44
    29
    20
    9
See reviews for
29
31
7
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is definitely showing it's age. Furniture is worn and upholstery not the cleanest. Carpet along the walls was dirty. No frig/microwave. However, we found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast area was large with access to coffee/hot chocolate whenever you like. Fresh baked cookies in the lobby. Good breakfast. If you can get past... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed one night in the hotel in early March. Rated 3 diamonds by AAA, probably 2.5 diamonds in reality. Room was showing its age. It is a couple of blocks to walk to any stores or restaurants. We were approached twice, once in the hotel parking lot, by beggars. Staff was very helpful and provided a great reference for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belton, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Property was nice, people were good, room was average. I would stay there again but if there were other options I would check them out. This is just a average place to stay, nothing bad to say but nothing great stood out either. pretty much middle of the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is definitely worn around the edges, and I would suggest being very aware of your surroundings. It has a great location if you have business at the hospital or the Arts Center. You do not have much choice of restaurants within walking distance and if you are not in a group you probably would not want to walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This place has to be a old Marriott hotel that finally wore out and instead of tearing it down, Marriott converted it into a Fairfield Inn. Big mistake. The property is old and worn, the rooms and baths are really small, the décor is dated, and the hallways stink. Can't believe that Marriott would try to pass this place off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Charleston WV was a convenient in between spot to meet with some of our family. This hotel was affordable and located in the heart of the city. The facilities are showing a little wear and tear although the hotel was near and tidy. Caring and helpful staff that was always ready to help.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
39 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is located in an area of the city that does not appear safe due to several "mission properties" nearby and lots of loiterers. I worried about my car and when I walked to the Soho restaurant my person. The hallways are dark and cold and the general décor is shabby. The rate is high given the poor elevators,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

James C, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback. I apologize that you did not feel safe during your walk to SOHOs but can assure you we have never had any security issues at this location. I am glad you enjoyed the size of your room. If you would like to discuss... More

Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
566 reviews 566 reviews
100 hotel reviews
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fairfield Inn Charleston is centrally located near many restaurants and the Town Center Mall. My room was comfortable and clean though a bit small. There was a very good king size bed. Breakfast was of reasonable quality and had a good variety. One mishap, the room had no bath towels, a bit of a surprise when I took a shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

areview28, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the king size bed. I do apologize that you did not receive bath towels in your room. I have taken this up with our housekeeping manager so she can remedy the situation so that it doesn't... More

ann arbor
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was not impressed with this hotel. The bathroom sink was pulling away from the counter and black flacks (mold?) was in the sink. The hallways were freezing cold even though it was in the 30s and 40 outside. Don't even get me started on the elevators! Small, creeky and rather swayed from side to side. I used the stairs.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

sunfanAnnArbor, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable one. I would like to further discuss this with you so I can have the opportunity to remedy the problem. I look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will give us another chance to serve... More

Baldwin, Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were on a road trip and had been driving for more than six hours and needed a place to stay. Charleston seemed like a good stopping point. We did not have reservations so we did not have many choices. The Fairfield offered a good rate and although the reviews were not very good we decided to try it for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

SherandPat, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We always strive to offer the friendliest customer service and appreciate your remarks regarding the staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the breakfast, as well. We look forward to serving you during your next visit... More

Been to Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Plaza Hotel

Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Inn Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn
Charleston Fairfield
Address: 1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.