We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
400 2nd Ave, SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    67
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
79
32
7
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
See the most recent reviews
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I visited this holiday inn last week and from the front desk to the guys working around the building, I was treated like a king. I am definitely recommending this Holiday Inn to my family and friends when they are in Charleston. They went over and above to make me welcome and provided excellent service. Thanks to all who I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words. I am happy to hear you received excellent treatment while you stayed with us! We value our employees and they make our hotel. I appreciate your comments and I hope to see you again so we can serve you just as well in the future. More 

Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here last week on our way to Louisville. I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The positives are that it has a really cool-looking pool and hot tub which is open until midnight (unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to use it). It has a very convenient location, right off of 64. On the flip side, the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

MominVirginia, Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the concerns you addressed in your review and please know that we are correcting this issue for future stays. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future. More 

Galveston TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Due to the breakdown of our motorhome, we were forced to find somewhere to stay for a week in an unfamiliar town. We stayed in a fabulous, HUGE suite which had a full size fridge which we needed to hold all of the food from our motorhome's fridge! Due to the full kitchen, we were able to fix our own... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

I’m very sorry to hear about your motorhome, but I am so glad we were able to help you in your time of need! I want to thank you for the kind words for our staff and hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the Comedy Zone show while you were here, and so glad you had such a great time. I... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay. Chose this one, because of the reviews and the pool. When we arrived to check in, however, the pool was closed because of an imbalance with the chlorine. The front desk gentleman was Soooo super kind and friendly!! He was apologetic about the pool, and offered to call another hotel with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

I thank you so much for the review, and I am terribly sorry about the pool being closed temporarily. I am glad we were able to take care of you by transferring your reservation to another hotel, and I am glad you think so highly of our Front Desk staff member, I will be sure to let him know. We... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Property is placed in an awkward location in a less than ideal neighborhood. The property joins a main railroad line...so if you get a room, make sure it's on the street side or be prepared to hear rumbling train traffic all night. The facility appears to be refurbished, but they ran out of money. The lobby has been updated, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I’m sorry you were not pleased with our location. We have finished major renovations and a Brand change over, including the new indoor pool complex as well as the new lobby, meeting rooms, and restaurant/lounge, along with guest room updates. I am sorry that your AC unit had trouble and if you would call... More 

IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here one night. The hotel was nice. Great pool and awesome breakfast.This hotel is pet-friendly. The breakfast staff were the nicest people we had meet on vacation. Very nice ladies. This hotel was in a residential neighborhood, which parts of it I wasn't to sure about. Not very many places to choose from to eat at, luckily we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Thank you for the time you took to give our hotel a review! I appreciate all the kind words you had for our breakfast staff and I’m really glad you enjoyed the pool as well. I am sorry you were not informed about the dining choices around the hotel as well as those that were just a short 5-10 minute... More 

Makanda, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I booked this hotel on line with Holiday Inn. When we arrived the front desk person could not find my reservation and continued over and over asking if I had the right hotel. I showed him my confirmation on my phone and he continued to say, " I can not find your reservation". I asked if he had rooms and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was less than the best. I will look into the problems that you have brought up. I apologize that you weren't informed at check-in about the paving that was scheduled to start at 9 AM the next morning. I hope that you will call me at 304-744-4641, and ask for Joe Baber, to discuss... More 

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our family of 5 stopped here for one night on our return trip to NC from NE. This hotel was not our first choice but our first choice was full. I understand why this hotel had room available. It is in a less than desirable area with no restaurants except the hotel bar. The hotel is recently remodeled, which means... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. You have brought up a number of points that I will discuss with the appropriate staff members. I am also sorry that you were not informed of the local dining choices around our hotel. I want to let you know that we are remodeling the elevators this... More 

Bloomington, il
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for the evening. Room was clean and nice. Usually i do not like toneat at the hotel restaurant, but there is not much around the hotel so we ate at the hotel restaurant...glad we did. Meal was very good. Service a little slow but all things considered we enjoyed our meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal at our hotel restaurant, and I am sorry that the service was slow. I will let the staff know about it so that we can improve that part of our operation. Thank you for the review and I hope to see you again! More 

Oakwood, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in June 2012 as a halfway point between central Illinois and Williamsburg, Virginia. I did extensive research to find a hotel in the Charleston area with a pool, in room fridge, free wifi and breakfast that was close to the interstate with decent reviews. This Holiday Inn certainly fit the bill,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe B, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am always happy to hear from our guests. I am glad to hear that you had a great time at our hotel and that you enjoyed the pool area. I look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel through Charleston, West Virginia! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question